We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“very relaxing and good value”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

My bungalow was very clean with interesting artwork on the walls. The water was very hot for the shower and the basin. It was wonderful to sit out of an evening and watch the moon rise and listen to the waves pounding the shore. The restaurant food was adequate and reasonably cheap but the service was painfully slow. Breakfast (included)was good despite the free wasps with the jam!

The newly built swimming pool was a huge bonus as the sea was often a long way out and difficult to reach over the stony beach. It is a pleasant walk to the village of Paje where there are some useful shops (Super Duka), wind surfing and more restaurants and hotels.

The cleaners did an excellent job and the staff were ever helpful in arranging trips and taxis etc. The free internet access (with wifi if you have your own laptop) was another plus.

All in all a great place to chill out and enjoy the sun and the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    108
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
42
131
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hurghada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2011

that was the best hollidays we have had since we travel,a great area,very clean bungalows,hotel,marvellous staff ,very nice swimming pool and the cook mirage was wonderfull,we ordered what we want, we will go back in this very quite hotel.
that was the best for me simple,clean,very good food and the excursions were great with our miki the organizer.
a beautifull souvenir!!!!
thank you so much for everything mbujuni

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herasimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed 3 nights in January. Two married couples and three single women. We picked this property in hopes of not having a "touristy" stay. we have travelled extensivley in West Africa and wanted the 5 newbies to experience "real africa" not a sanitized resort experience. The resort is not for "all inclusive" travellers, but perfect for ones who want a clean, comfortable place to sleep and unwind. Its not five star but very clean and safe. The service is good for african standards. The cooking was excellent and reasonably priced. Excursions canbe arranged, we reluctantly went to swim with the dolphins and were thrilled it was in the open ocean not in some captive pool. Power outgages were great we hoped our friends would expereince some as it is normal throughout africa, so bring a headlamp. the staff did their best to keep us happy and we would reccommend this property to anyone that enjoys quiet relaxation, without all the western style pampering at a very fair price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

I arrived at mbuyuni village without knowing what to expect as single traveller,I ended up staying for 4 nights,it was a such fantastic break.
the only problem was a unreliable power in Zanzibar for my 4 nights stay at Mbuyuni ,I experienced a power cut almost every evening for about 15 minutes or so which was kind annoying to be honesty, but this had nothing to do with the hotel it was much of the poor infrastructure on the Island,A part from electricity issues, The beach was beautiful and very deserted .
the food was simple and delicious mostly seafood though, it is also nice to eat in some other local restaurants some of them serve excellent food.
the room was q quite basic inside but it gave me all the comfort i needed.
For what i paid I would definitely recommend mbuyuni is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katarzyna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Obviously, Mbuyuni Beach Village means ‘beach you can’t swim at”. The floor is covered with sharp corals, so you risk your safety while entering. (see photos attached) You can’t swim neither during low tide, nor during high tide. They don’t warn you to take special shoes to walk on corals, which are necessary! The pool is small, not enough chaise longue and sunshade.
No wardrobe in the rooms! You’ll have to store your cloths in bags.
Rooms are cleaned only on request, we were waiting for 4 days before we dared to ask them about cleaning rooms. Turned out, you have to give them your key and remind about. They got no copy of the key, by the way.
Extremely stuffy during the night. No candles or kerosene lamps are provided, although electricity fails very often in Zanzibar.
No shower and toilet in the public area. You can only go to your room which can be (as our was) high on the hill (without sea view, unlike most of other hotels), so its really tiring and long.
The bar was extremely noisy, acid wine, no cocktails, with not very good view. Staff is rude. So we looked around and found a variety of high-quality bars and restaurants around: beautiful, overlooking the ocean and giving opportunity to observe the stars over you, with jazz playing there. These bars are of the same price but of higher quality. Spice Island Hotel bar, which is 5 minutes walk from Mbuyuni on the road to Jambiani, is above all expectations. But be aware, dine only in hotels and avoid independent beach restaurants which can bring you poisoning. The staff of Spice Island Hotel bar is very helpful and on request they can prepare for you dishes not even not mentioned in the menu, while in Mbuyuni you may choose only from the menu, updated daily; it is not bad but you must wait whether the dish you really want (lobster, for example) appears in the menu.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amour100, Owner at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, 4 February 2011
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Mbuyuni, considering the team of Mbuyuni staff were always around and you never brought forward to our attention any of your feeling, But We are still thankfully that you decided to have brought your feeling forward now than never as it real means a lot to us to get the guests feedback.

However We would like to clarify on some of the points that you raised in your feedback.
Unfortunately the weather/tides were uncharacteristically bad during your short stay ,it made difficult for you to enjoy the full Mbuyuni experience ,but We are sure whenever the tides is high and the wind is calm ,our beach is enjoyable and swimmable as any other part of Zanzibar.
Regarding the room cleaning ,we do this every morning but of course we will not just step in the guests room without asking permission and using our second copy keys like you suggested,We only do cleaning after getting the go ahead from the guests.
Lastly the one thing that keep coming up from our different unhappy guests most time to compare our place with the finest 4 or 5 star hotels around Zanzibar, while we have never claimed any where that we are running 4 or 5 star hotel, Mbuyuni is just middle budget place that is run by the team of local from Jambiani village with good services but not of 4-5 star level.
Strangely all these guests once they discovered these the finest luxury hotels around Zanzibar ,they still do not want to check out and move to those compared finest hotels while We can easily only charge the nights that the guests have stayed with us without charging the extra for others night that guests did not stay with us.
Surely Mbuyuni was not what you were expecting but We would strongly advise the guests to spare time and read all details of the hotels and their locations before building the false imagination on their head.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

good hotel
only the breakfast was boring, coz it was everyday the same!!
the water of the shower was not realy warm
and its far from the main town, a hour with the taxi

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dutchykenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2011

We spent a couple of days at mbuyuni at the end of our two weeks safari and kilimanjaro climbing,We totally loved it
the staff team was friendly and accommodating and made our stay very relaxing.
their rooms seemed to be all different ,on our first night stayed into twin room that had much smaller bed for our liking then we reported to the manager ,he offered another room which was much better with bigger beds as well for the same rates.
highly recommend the snorkeling trip by Muhu the local captain who hang around the hotel in the evening time.
the food was also good but you have to love seafood as they did n't seem to have many others choice ,We also found some few nice restaurants on the beach that have some delicious meal as well.
Jambiani village itself was a good community but if you are after a night life and busy bars this is not a good choice.
should we have more money in the future to travel,We will definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amour100, Owner at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thanks you for having taken your time in order to share your experience at Mbuyuni beach village. Be assured your comments were taken into consideration and be assured that those few negativity that you raised we will work on them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
241 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
42.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.3 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,568 reviews
42.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
616 reviews
31.5 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Property: Mbuyuni Beach Village
Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing