We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but poorly managed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayflower Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Baga
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but poorly managed hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was a really strange experience. Definitely not a place I am going back to

What is good - Big room, AC is effective, Bathrooms very clean & the location is unbeatable (5 mins walk to Baga beach)

What is not good : The staff - Simply the worst that I have ever encountered. Right from the unpleasant lady at the reception, to the room service and everyone seems to be hell bent on ruining your stay. Their kitchen menu is poor (No maggi and No eggs !!) and they did not even agree to make Maggi (we were travelling with a Toddler and often thats all he wants to eat!!) even if we bought it from outside ! We felt pretty frustrated and exasperated with their behaviour ! They even refused to help arrange a cab (which was funny, because the moment you walk out to Baga road, there are cabs very easily available). Their attitude just left a very bad taste

In short; if you are a family group especially with children; blindly avoid this place. If you are couples, I assume the same advice holds. Choose this place if you dont intend to eat in the hotel and keep your interactions with the support staff to a minimum

Room Tip: Try to pick something on 2nd floor if you have a choice. These rooms have better ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sudhir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayflowerManagement, Manager at Mayflower Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We would like to thank the above guest for his positive observations as quoted "Big room, AC is effective, Bathrooms very clean & the location is unbeatable (5 mins walk to Baga beach)"

Guest himself states that there were cabs very easily available.When the guest requested a cab we explained that there are many outside the gate and preferable for him to choose and discuss rates directly as rates vary depending on size of car and driver.

Often when a cab is arranged by the hotel and the rate is accepted by the guest, the same guest later declines the already waiting taxi, even refusing to pay waiting charges because they managed to bargain another taxi for a lower rate.

Due to this we suggest to guests who want the lowest possible rated taxi to bargain directly as it is helpful to them.

Hotel cannot bargain with several drivers for every single taxi request and accepts the rate given by the taxi (usually reasonable) and confirms accordingly.

Last and most interestingly one can surely accept and understand if a guest wants to save money and buy food from the market instead of eating in a restaurant.

Review states as quoted

" (No maggi and No eggs !!) and they did not even agree to make Maggi." " even if we bought it from outside ! We felt pretty frustrated and exasperated with their behaviour ! "

What type of individual would buy food from outside and take it to a restaurant to be cooked and then complain that restaurant declines? "feel frustrated and exasperated "

One can accurately understand whether this expectation and frustration speaks well or poorly about the behavior of the guest or hotel management ability.

Most people would not dare taking food to a restaurant to be cooked, let alone complain so bitterly, somehow carrying a sense of delusional entitlement.

All restaurants use commercial electricity and gas which costs more than 3 times domestic rates besides staff and a host of operating costs.
So expecting the restaurant to cook his food FREE ( his LARGE MAGGIE NOODLES PACKET , eggs and sometimes even fish) for 3 adults and one child is unacceptable.

Guest deceitfully tries to use his child by saying

" (we were travelling with a Toddler and often thats all he wants to eat!!) "

Unfortunately that is not a logical or rational reason to take food from a shop to any restaurant in the whole world and demand they cook it for you because you have a child.

The noodles was NOT only for the child alone as deceitfully misstated to believe, but was a LARGE PACKET for all 3 adults.. They could have ordered noodles in the restaurant and then fed the little child from that..not buy food in the pretext of feeding the child and demand it to be cooked free to feed 3 adults.The little toddler would hardly eat any noodles compared to the 3 full grown adults so its not right to use the child as an excuse.

Somehow when an unreasonable request is declined it results in extreme negative reviews full of spite and deceitfully misrepresented facts.

TRUST THIS CLEARLY PROVES THAT NEGATIVE REVIEWS SHOULD BE UNDERSTOOD IN PERSPECTIVE TO THE CONTEXT, EXPECTATION AND TYPE OF GUEST.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    69
    29
    14
    23
See reviews for
57
73
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hotel is nice ,clean and staffs were very helpful. We had done comfortable checkin at 9 PM.The best this about this hotel it 2mins walk from baga beach and it is in the lane of all happening clubs and restaurants of baga area i.e Tito,cape town Mambo and many more other eating joints.The rooms were clean and big spacious with antique style wooden furnitures.The room cleaning is happens everyday but you have to call for that and changing of towels n bed sheet will be done every alternate days.This might because of rainy season.There is a small open restaurant at the entrance which serves limited food items till 10:30pm. with room service too.A small swimming pool is also good with Bar beside it.overall a good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilesh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had booked this hotel for 3 nights, and we all were really excited to stay here as the reviews were good, but the only thing good was the location and basic rooms. The staff was very ill mannered, and most of the time was on their own trip. we decided to chill in one room and I called for a few glasses, and this was the most funniest/weirdest conversation I could ever imagine myself doing, not only i was denied the glasses, i was told, that we have provided glasses in each room, so all go back to your respective room and get your own glasses. I guess they figured my master plan of stealing they super expensive diamond studded crystal glasses... half of the things were not available or they didnt want to serve... god know why was this place even operational and how come people got any service? lets leave the point of bad or good. would not recommend this place to anybody ever.

Room Tip: rooms not inside this hotel are good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pankaj8330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayflowerManagement, Manager at Mayflower Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Sir ,

In response we would like to clarify that already among the other rooms over 13 glasses in total had been provided. This is why your request had been declined and as accurately mentioned you were told to please take the glasses from the other rooms as we cannot not keep sending an unlimited supply of empty glasses for every request.

I am sure even you knowing this fact now will agree to our stand.

Although it seems highly overstated that glasses not being provided was the result of trip being spoilt we still respect your opinion though question the gravity of disappoint due to such a minor thing resulting in such an extreme negative review or objectively speaking shall we both agree it is over exaggerated?
The answer is anyone's guess :)

Thanking you
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

After reading a lot of reviews here booked here for a stay. The location is no doubt very convenient to access Baga beach and "party lane" but that's about it.

The rooms, facilities are all pretty average or slightly below that.

Housekeeping is non existent. No change of towels, making beds, cleaning rooms.

Room service is non existent to.

But I did see staff. They do have people employed to be rude to you, and call you repeatedly and barge into your rooms often to demand money as soon as your day starts. No they do not wait for check out or anything. They would want money as soon as you wake up.

Highly unorganised to the extent that they kept ID proof with them overnight. (really wonder why)

Food is expensive if you go fetch it (room service as I said is nonexistent). EIGHT Ice cubes cost Rs. 50/- here.

Overall, a bad experience. Have never seen and I hope I never will again see a staff so bad. Would never even consider this again or suggest this place to anyone else.

Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank prateek455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayflowerManagement, General Manager at Mayflower Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thanks you for your positive comments as quoted " very convenient to access Baga beach and "party lane"

We would like to clarify our side to give this review a more balanced perspective. Almost every single hotel / guest house / travel portal / travel agent confirms a room only on part / full payment or at the time of check in. Obviously this is done with good reason.

At check in time guests were told to pay but humbly requested that they would like to keep their things in the room and check in and pay in the room. Normally not done but in this case the receptionist felt sorry for the guest and made an exception.

Once inside the room the guest told the staff sent to collect the money that he would come down to pay in a few minutes. This never happened. Several hours later the guest went out and when reminded still promised to pay later..this happened for every single day of his stay as quoted by guest himself " call you repeatedly and barge into your rooms often to demand money as soon as your day starts. No they do not wait for check out or anything. They would want money as soon as you wake up"

Typically it is known in the industry that the guest who keeps consistently avoiding paying bills tries to run away from the hotel without paying. This happens often in Goa and so any and every establishment will take full payment on check in to avoid the risk.

As mentioned clearly in every room one has to leave the key at the reception for the room to be cleaned. Key was never left.

As authenticity of the ID provided appeared suspicious it was kept overnight to be verified by the manager. Obviously.

Complaining about a petty Rs 50 for an ice bucket with 12 cubes seems very petty but then again when one wants to find reason to be vindictive I guess any reason is good enough to complain over. We buy ice and so we do not provide it free in buckets unless drinks are ordered from the restaurant not bought from the shop and drunk in the hotel restaurant.

And last and finally the guest were swimming in the pool shouting and singing loudly till 8 pm. Closing time is 7 pm. They were repeatedly requested to come out of the pool as it needed chemicals to be put in and required time for the dirt to settle down during the night so it can be properly cleaned in the morning. If not the pool appears cloudy and dirty and exactly the same type of guest would also write that the pool was dirty and cloudy.

Now it is very simple for one to read the review and make an informed judgement on the expectation and the standard of service and objectivity and validity of tone of review.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I came accross this hotel and booked oursleves for 2 nights here whil ein Goa. The attraction was the proximity to the beach which was walking distance of about 5 mins. We liked the rooms. They were very clean and must say the washrooms specfically were very clean. The decor of the rooms is quite nicely done with a hint of heritage look on it. But the Hotel from outside could probably do a better colour of paint.
I highly receommend the food specfically the "Toasties" and my friend and I pretty much had them for breakfast and lunch...really enjoyed the crisply grilled sandwiches.

Its a great place to stay in and the owners are quite personable as well and available to help as needed. Overall a good, simple, clean place for a 2-4 days stay !

Room Tip: Try and choose a closer room to the main entrance and a higher floor to see the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S0nal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

If you want to be in middle of the party scene at Baga you cant beat this location. Situated at a 3-5 mins walk from Baga this property has large, clean bedrooms with a balcony. No complaints on the quality and cleanliness of the linen. The bathroom too is well sized, clean with basic toiletries. Air conditioning works very well. We stayed on the first floor and no issues with our room at all. The garden and pool arent much to talk about but we didn't use any other facility at this hotel apart from the room.

The staff at reception is warm and helpful but management isn't accommodative of requests (we requested late check out till noon which wasn't accepted) so don't expect great service on that front.

Would recommend for travelers who don't intend spending all their time in the hotel or using hotel facilities but are looking for a place near the beach and want a come back each evening to clean, cool room to sleep.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghnaTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A very close friend of mine and I went to Goa for celebrating her birthday. It was a special trip because she had never been to Goa earlier. Choosing a place to stay that suited our budget was easy as few of my friends reside in Goa. Our requirement was the hotel/resort has to be at a walking distance from the beach and in the midst of popular night out places to hangout. Basically we wanted a place where we could just roam around at any hour and not worry about the place been too secluded.

May Flower was suggested by a friend. The rooms are big and spacious and well maintained. The staff at the reception are very friendly. The manger specifically was very accommodative and helpful as ours was almost a last minute booking. The place is beautiful and is very close to the baga beach and also in the vicinity of popular pub - the Tito's. There are many other good food and shopping places around this place.

My only request to the staff is since this place mainly frequented by foreigners, the food is also largely dominated for their taste. The morning breakfast buffet had very limited choices - bread and butter! We been vegetarians we had a tough time for food in Goa anyway, but we thought at least if our breakfast is taken care of with a little variety of food in veg, we would be filled with satisfaction! I hope they change their breakfast menu and expand it with more filling variety. Otherwise this place makes for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay :)

--
Anu
Pune

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belladona2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.1 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
0.2 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chalston Beach Resort
Chalston Beach Resort
#2 of 113 in Calangute
681 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Keys Ronil Resort
Keys Ronil Resort
#4 of 24 in Baga
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower Beach Resort

Property: Mayflower Beach Resort
Address: Titos Lane, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayflower Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower Beach Resort is located in a quite corner of the world famous Titos road on Baga Beach. It has the most popular bars, cafes, clubs, lounge bars, restaurants and Beach all within 2 minutes walk from the entrance gate of the hotel. Surprisingly it is calm and peaceful at the hotel while the Titos road is a buzzing and electrifying experience with a lot of shopping options, entertainment and night life. The hotel has been colored and designed with beautiful Portuguese architecture celebrating Goa's history. All rooms are super Deluxe with beautifully carved furniture and comfortable mattresses for a comfortable stay. Rooms being extra large can accommodate up to 4 persons. The beach also has the best beach bars and shacks with a lot of water sports and great food. There are a lot of Beach parties at night which compliment a perfect holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mayflower Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Beach Resort Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing