We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozily comfortable dwellings”
Review of 16 Degrees North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
16 Degrees North
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozily comfortable dwellings”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had narrowed down this hotel on the sheer recommendation of the TripAdvisor reviews. Though initially skeptical because of the monsoon off season, but the stay turned out to be awesome.
We were greeted by Praveen and his friendly staff and were upgraded to the premium rooms. Because it was our first visit to Goa, we had lot of questions about places to visit, mode of transport, etc. The staff was friendly and patiently answered all our queries. In fact, they gave lot of good suggestions and immediately arranged for a bike to go around.
Contrary to the previous reviews of bad breakfast, they have improved a lot. For us it was a good experience and we enjoyed all breakfasts. They readily offer personalization for food and are happy to serve.

Location - It is around 1.5 kms from the Baga beach and the road may become dark and lonely at night. There are lot of restaurants and pubs nearby and some of them are fantabulous. We frequently visited St. Anthony Shack and Brittos on the Baga beach. St. Anthony is simply amazing for late night hangouts. There are lot of other good beaches nearby esp the Vagator Beach. Try checking out few night clubs like Sync.

Sleep Quality - Beds were comfortable and lights are proper. Though because of the monsoon season the winds were very high and they may be very noisy at times.

Rooms - Rooms were clean and cozy. The bathrooms were ok but very clean. The satellite TV does not subscribe to any English channels, but then who comes to Goa to watch TV.

Service - There are lot of complaints about the service quality, but we had no issues over there. Though we never ordered food in our room, but other services were quite fast and good.

Value - We are really happy to have stayed in this hotel and we felt that it all penny worth.

Verdict - If one is looking for mid range stays in North Goa, this place is worthy enough to be checked out.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Baga river and on higher floors are better to be opted
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prashant297628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,


Thanks for mentioning the team members, we would love to host you again!. We appreciate your mention on the improved breakfast. We try our best to provide quality service and utilize the suggestions of each guest. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    91
    41
    3
    7
See reviews for
58
93
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Amazing rooms for this price. cant get better. Absolute fantastic rooms. Reasonably ok service. Visit if you love boutique hotels. Not for business five star travellers. Romantics hides and comfy bar. Thanks to all staff for making my stay comfortable.

Room Tip: go for 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliver7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments. We love that you find the bar comfy. It has been created with a different setting in mind and we appreciate your comment.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
100 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had planned to stay at the Baga property of 16 Degrees North for 4 nights, but checked out after only 2 nights. The rooms are comfortable and nicely done up, all dark wood and white linen. The property is on a quiet and deserted stretch of road that is a 15 minute walk from Britto's/ Baga Beach. What really lets this place down is the service, specifically at the customer relationship end.
For a small boutique hotel like 16 Degrees North, one would expect the service to be intimate and personalized, especially when there are few guests around (as happens in the monsoon). What we found was quite the opposite - the service was at best impersonal, and more often indifferent.
For example, they don't have a travel desk, nor is this absence substituted by anyone asking you about your plans during your stay or providing helpful pointers for what's around. Despite a written declaration that they provide bicycles, when we asked for these at the front desk we were met by a shrug of the shoulders, which was the same response when we asked for umbrellas (essential that a hotel should keep these in the monsoons). When we pointed out these shortcomings to the customer relationship manager, we were told to write about it on Tripadvisor, as if that would solve our immediate problems.
We had a tiff with this guy after we tried to rent a bike from the front desk that left us with a very bad taste in the mouth. When we were checking out 2 days before time, no attempt was made to dissuade us. It's almost as if the customer relationship manager has no stake in the place. What he and a few others need is a crash course on, well, customer relationships.
On other fronts, the breakfast was nothing to write home about, there are no exhaust fans in the bathrooms, and the tariff is too high considering what you get for it and the number of options available in better locations.
If you do decide to stay here, make sure you have a vehicle to get around, and don't rent it from the hotel (if you do, check it for scratches and broken parts before you take it).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Summer_Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,

First off, let me apologise for your stay with us that had to be cut short. No holiday should be dampened by planned experiences, especially the stay. We do keep bicycles for enthusiasts who want to ride our Baga alleys and take in the view. Unfortunately it wasn't available during the stay. I apologise for not providing umbrellas, the lack of which is something I fail to understand and a shortcoming from my team. Our front desk is equipped with all the information regarding travel plans, nearby hotspots and can arrange for all transportation in and around Goa.
We have had the opportunity to host you late last year at the Calangute Villa and we enjoyed having you there. We wish to host you again and keep a fond memory of Goa and 16 Degrees North with you.


Till we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

New place, close to river and very close to the beach ,we booked room for 3 nights met Mr pravin he guided us to the room first day room was small as we were 3 boys we were shifted to another room next day which was big very spacious with small terrace attached , room service is slow food is not great, room service is for a limited time and not 24hrs. but the terrace place with the pool is superb ..overall a must try hotel i would say

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the ranking
We also have a beach side villa in Calangute with a pool, in-house cook and is right on the beach. Do let us know if you would like to visit sometime soon!



Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I booked my stay with Travelguru at 16 Degrees North in Baga and enjoyed my stay right from the check-in to the check out. Awesome facilities and a welcoming ambiance just added to the comforts this hotel had to offer. The awesome crystal clear swimming pool with a poolside bar just added to the grandeur of this luxurious property. I would suggest you'll to book your hotel stay with travelguru and avail of amazing discounts on booking your deal.

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 850semab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We are extremely delighted to have you stay with us at 16 Degrees North.
Our interiors are done up with some unique comfort zones and our poolside bar is one of them. We're glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The stay is damn owsem
I enjoyed alot over dere the food is quite good
Proper hospitality
The staff was gd they have proper atticates to attend the customer
The salesh and harry they both are dn cooperating wth us !!
I enjoyed alot i hope i visit again.!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akshay2594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comments and for your rating. We appreciate the love.
Look forward to hosting you again!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mettupalayam, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

New place , Spacious rooms and bathrooms very nicely done up lobby, lift ,dining ,poolside. Very nice helpful and hospitable staff. But really needs to step up on the cleaning and overall maintenance .
A special mention to Sagar who was helpful while checking in to our rooms and also Praveen with all the local information.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MallikaMuraliBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PKtweets, Owner at 16 Degrees North, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you mentioning our team members in your review. We appreciate the gesture very much. Looking forward to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.2 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.7 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#6 of 15 in Arpora
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mykonos Blu
Mykonos Blu
#7 of 24 in Baga
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 16 Degrees North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 16 Degrees North

Property: 16 Degrees North
Address: 574/1 Riverside Street, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Baga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 16 Degrees North 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern boutique hotel at Baga Riverfront and 300m from the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 16 Degrees North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
16 Degrees North Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing