We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in CSM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in CSM resort. CSM is one of the best resorts in Baga. Very.Very good property with clean pool and green garden.Beach is at walk able distance from resort.

Rooms are spacious & big.Also has a Pool table & GYM.

Room Tip: Cottage 15 which is closer to Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Ram,
It is so pleading for the Team CSM to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria. We wish you had stayed a little longer with us. At CSM it is our motto and endeavour that our guests enjoy their holiday and return home fully relaxed. Assuring you of our best services always and looking forward to serving you again, I hope in the not too distant a future,

Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

CSM is a really lovely hotel, tucked away with a path that takes you right to the beach. The lush green with varieties of flowers all through the property makes it warm and welcoming. We had a comfortable room for 3 with a balcony and a nice bathroom. Check in was quick and easy, the staff is great, always smiling and friendly, right from the folks at the reception, the restaurant, housekeeping as well as the security guys. Breakfast, which was included in our tariff was a little disappointing so we ate out a couple of days. The location is fantastic with it being in a section of the beach that doesn't have too much of a crowd and you can walk to most of the popular restaurants in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend CSM to anyone who wants to stay at Baga - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Sir,
It is so pleasing for the team CSM to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria, a Goan Haven on Baga beach.. I wish you had pointed out to me or to the restaurant manager anything special you desired for breakfast as we lay a Buffett with eggs to order etc. It will be a pleasure for us to serve you, I hope in the not too distant a future when you visit us again or send your friends.
Best regards
Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tucked away in a by-lane is this beautiful property, which overlooks the Baga beach, but is situated almost midway between the crowded Baga and Calangute beaches... and hence, you have your peace ... and when you want a bit of buzz, either of the beaches are at walk-able distances.
The place is clean and beautiful and has beautiful gardens. the rooms are big, have very comfortable beds, clean-big washrooms. There are also 2 beautiful swimming pools and a nice looking restaurant area.
The best thing however is the very helpful staff, especially the front desk ("manned" by Anne, an ever smiling woman).

Room Tip: We stayed at villa#18, midway between the reception area and the beach-entrance. also, it faced the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debaprabho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Sir,
It is so pleasing for the team CSM to read that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria, a Goan Haven on Baga beach. You are absolutely right about our location - quiet, gardens, and close to the beach yet near to every happening place of the area. We look forward to the pleasure of serving you again , I hope in the not too distant a future.
Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

i stayed at CSM in a beach facing villa room which was spacious and had a lovely balcony . firstly i would love to mention the name of their manager sanjay calangutkar's who helped me in making a booking and also personally looking into my comfortable stay . we visited goa on 5th november'13 the hotel staff , both front office and room service are amicable, helpfull and always around to help. overall a lovely place to stay .good clean 2 swimmimg pools ,location in the heart of goa by sea.Had a great stay.would be better with a little more variety of vegetarian food

Room Tip: every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishaltia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Sir, it was a pleasure to serve you. May I tank you for spending your previous time in writing a review about your stay with us. It is a matter of joy for me and the team CSM that you enjoyed your stay at Colonia Santa Maria. Your comment about greater variety of vegetarian food is well taken. I may add here that our chefs on several occasions are able to cater to any social recipe or special food requirements of our guests.
Assuring you of our best services akways
Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend deklon stayed here over Christmas and it was just amazing! With it being my first time going to India I had no idea what to expect in levels of cleanliness and customer service, but was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It was more like a resort! I'm shocked it is only a 3* hotel!!

The room was gorgeous, very clean and lots of storage space. We even had folded towels in various different shapes. There was also a safe which was very secure and we could put our own code into it.
The restaurant was also amazing, the staff couldn't have done any more for us!
The manager (Sanjay) was exceptional, he even took us out to the night market with the chef (who was very quiet but he was cute!) to make sure we were ok, we may have got him a little tipsy hehe.
The cleaners were very friendly and always acknowledged us by name and said hello.
There was a few members of staff that really stood out but I just can't remember there names! The bar man was lovely, the manager ended up asking us to teach him how to make flaming cocktails haha, a couple of the waiters maybe rob? And kamal or kashive? (I'm sorry if I have got the name wrong but he really looked after us and made our stay! Was so friendly, he seemed to make friends with deklon and he always got him very drunk haha!)
If I ever come back to Goa (which I plan to do!) I will be staying here again! x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlAllanMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

It is so kind of you to spare your time in writing such a nice review about your stay with us at Colonia Santa Maria. What I and my team did for you is our duty. It is the motto of team CSM to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us and go back home fully relaxed and rejuvenated. We look forward to the pleasure of having you again with us , hopefully in not to distant a future.
Bestvregards
Sanjay Kalugatker
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My experience was very good , while i stayed here i could be in the heart of the city BAGA so we were very happy with the resort. It is a place where u can chill , walk to the beach , swim in the pool and take a massage as well Goa is all about drinking eating and walking , hired a bike outside the hotel. The service of the resort is not very great but the rooms were clean. Overall something very good at a good price ..must stay

Room Tip: Request for garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisha07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

The team CSM is so pleased to read that you your stay at Colonia Santa Maria, a Goan Haven on Baga Beach. I am sorry to read that you found the service lacking at some point. I wish you had got in touch with me or with the front desk so that we would have promptly dealt with any inconvenience caused to you. Assuring you of our best services always.

Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our annual trip to Goa and we generally plan it at least about 2 months prior to the actual date of travel. We've always been loyal to Ronil (Baga) where we've been staying since the past 4 years on our annual trips.
This time however, Ronil was 'Sold-out' and we decided to try another Hotel and went scouting for similar properties on the internet. We narrowed our choices down to 2 other properties & Colonia Santa Maria (CSM). The other two options didn't work out due to distance from the beaches and availability.
We were booked at CSM from May 01-May 08, 2014 in a Deluxe Suite, on a breakfast inclusive and airport transfers package, for which we paid about Rs.4500/- per night and about Rs.3800/- for a 2-way Airport Transfer. Our experience with them started almost from this stage itself & should've warned us about what was in store; we had a travel agent coordinating this trip for us and we had paid about 2 months prior to confirm the booking. They took 8-10 days in sending us the confirmation for this - which isn't how most hotels would operate. Secondly, they even only sent us the confirmation after much persuasion by the travel agent and myself - they claimed their verbal confirmation and the fact that they had taken down our travel details and room requirements was sufficient.
When you look at their website and some of the photographs posted on here, you go there with the picture of a quaint resort aptly located on the beach (which is the only positive point i'd like to give CSM) with spacious clean rooms. Well, you're in for a rude shock! We reached there at about 1500hrs and didn't even realise we'd reached cause the reception is in a small cottage like structure and there are no gates/entrance as such to the resort to know that you've entered it's premises once you're in the crowded lane leading to it - our driver had to tell us 'we'd reached'
We were shown our so-called 'Deluxe Suite' which was a dingy ground floor room with a 0.5T split a/c unit that wasn't functioning (this was no where close to what they show us on the net) I walked back to the reception area to convey my shock at what they'd booked us in and what they'd actually given us only to be told that they were completely sold out and that this was the only room they could offer. I was livid and demanded to speak with the manager who we didn't see at all till about 10 minutes before we actually left the hotel out of sheer disgust! They showed us 3 rooms and 'the resort was no where close to being sold-out' was empty! Finally, they acted like they'd done us a huge favour by saying they were upgrading us and moved us to a different wing and a slightly larger room. We didn't want to seem troublesome and decided to settle for that room cause it seemed livable and we'd adjust! However, the a/c didn't work one bit and even though the maintenance person tried he couldn't do anything. We couldn't possibly stay in the room cause heat in May isn't the easiest to deal with! They then once again shifted us to Room#4. The said the room was clean etc etc (please find the pictures attached) Here too the a/c wasn't working and whatever teeny tiny bit of cooling was present was only in the 1foot area surrounding it. We had to clean-up cause my 2yr old son had thrown up over himself and me and we had to shower. When we entered the bathroom - it just got worse after the past 60 minute ordeal of juggling rooms. It had pigeon feathers and bird droppings everywhere. there was no hand-shower, there was only a head shower - the nozzle to which refused to budge and only kept hitting the top of the wall opposite it. We finally cleaned up in the hand bidae cause we had to. The room was dingy, had tissue and stickers stuck to the floor, the tiles had been completely worn out and had mould, the refrigerator refused to cool just like the a/c, there was no electronic room key and the door stopper had to be used to lock the room, the mattress had hair balls and stains on it.
We were there for precisely an hour after this and we decided that we didn't want to ruin our holiday cause we were paying a fair enough amount and had been fleeced! So we moved out of there into a different Hotel after settling the room service bill of Rs.310/- for a piddly sandwich that we had and was served cold. The apathy of the staff is what's worst! They're very laid back and have a 'take it or leave it attitude' well most will LEAVE it!
We were decent enough to let them deduct a night's retention, the refund to which was paid me at least 2 weeks later!
The only positive thing about CSM is it's amazing Location. They have maintained the outdoors pretty well but it's a hell-hole once you enter the room.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank SharminN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMGoa, General Manager at Colonia Santa Maria (CSM), responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear sir, clearly you were unhappy with your stay at what is considered to be the Goan Haven on Baga beach, a heritage resort much sought after guests from all over the world who go back fully relaxed and rejuvenated. We are indeed sorry thatnyou did not enjoy your stay with us,but to put the record straight as to what amount your travel agent charged you is strictly between yourselves. There was a general electricity breakdown on a couple of occasions, but our standby generators took over immediately.
Best regards

Sanjay Kalungatker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baga
0.8 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fahrenheit Hotels and Resorts
3.2 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)

Address: Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baga
#2 Spa Hotel in Baga
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Baga
Price Range: £76 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Beach Resort, also known as CSM Hotel or CSM Beach resort, is the premier Four Star resort on Baga beach of Calangute. The silver sand Baga beach is rightly touching the property. You do not have to go onto the main beach itself for the sun deck of the hotel is the rising green dune from where you get magnificent view of the Arabian sea and sun bathe without being hassled by the vendors on the beach. Our sea facing rooms and suites give you magnificent views from your balcony. The resort spread over four acres of spacious gardens is built in Portuguese style villas, each having six suites/rooms. Main beach is just couple of minutes walk even from the farthest room from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Santa Maria Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Hotel Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria Goa
Colonia Santa Maria Baga Beach
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM) Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing