We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at good location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavala Seaside Resort
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel at good location!!!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you are looking for quite place and decent property Cavala is the place you are looking.

Cavala is an amazing property amidst the chaos of Baga. It is so much like old Portuguese but yet modern. It is peaceful and green everywhere. Rooms are clean and neat.

The staff is very helpful. We had reached Goa during the time of elections there was strict rules of not selling alcohol for 3 days (which includes before and after the day of voting). But fortunately the staff made prior arrangement for us to deliver enough stock for our days in hotel. You are allowed to drink in your room. The manager even put us on the guest list of a famous club in Baga.

Cavala is know for its party on Fridays with live music and good food. If you are in Goa and for some reason not able to stay at the hotel, make sure you atleast go for Friday night parties.

The is located very close to Baga beach and yet easy go to any other place in Goa. Anjuna, Vagator, Fort Agvada are just 20 mins ride. Calangute is just 5 mins. And just to make things better.....just outside Cavala, you can take a ride for hire on per day basis.

We really had a good time and would surely go again.

Room Tip: If you are going in big group there is an option of getting a villa. Or the have beautiful villa typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    123
    42
    19
    22
See reviews for
65
99
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Cavala many times in the past few years in small and large groups. It's a small house turned into a hotel and expanded over time, now part of it is 'banana republic' across the street with its swimming pool.
The all day included breakfast is an inspired idea. It's good not to be worried that we will miss it if we sleep in a bit late esp on vacation ..
The swimming pool is small but clean and usually not too crowded. If you plan to use the pool a lot it's better to stay at their banana republic wing across the street so access is quick.
The samui and Bali suites have a different flavour, more oriental but are poorly lit and stuffy. The suites next to the pool are spacious and convenient. In the main property the flower power rooms are the largest and have beautiful furniture esp the four poster beds and huge bathrooms. These rooms and suites are a bit on the expensive side and Cavala has many equally nice regular rooms. It cannot be compared to any five star hotel but then they are not trying to be that and the prices are also lower.
The restaurant is great with yummy goan and other food options. The staff is very friendly. Friday nights are fun with the live music concert usually rock and roll. They also have some live music on other days ..
Location is good .. Quite close to many north goa eateries and beaches tho this beaches can be more commercial and over crowded.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmedinmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We shall take note of your constructive feedback and make the necessary changes.
Hope to see you back at Cavala Resort.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
266 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've stayed at Cavala once in February 2011 (can't choose for later year than 2013 so have instead put Feb 2014). We stayed for 2 nights at the Banana Republic which was great and had spacious rooms with a pool view. Loved waking up early in the morning and taking a dip into the fresh water! Since the two-night stay was a gift and we ended up staying more at Cavala but the room was a bit too pricey for us, we ended staying at a very reasonable standard non AC room on the ground floor at the Cavala side of the hotel. Not bad and didn't need AC in February as it was quite chilly in the night.

Rooms are a bit too standard for the price so i would suggest the hotel to upgrade them a little or add some furniture

Breakfast included in room is amazing! Always loved the fresh juices, fruits, masala omelette and poi!!! However, in general in Goa, service is very slow so would be great if that can be improved a little bit, although we are very flexible with Goa's lifestyle slow and relaxed which we love.

Bebinca to order. It is awesome that staff has this opportunity. Amazing bebinca at Cavala always!

I haven't stayed here in 3 years but we always end up coming on a live bar night to have a drink or meal. Awesome goan food but careful if not used to spicy. Have come back to dine in October 2012 and April 2013.

Staff is very friendly and i love that they have a nice spacious bathroom at the hotel on the ground floor for guest's use when having breakfast or at the bar. It has a shower too which allows u to quickly freshen up if ur room is not ready. I definitely would come back to Cavala if staying in the North!

Tip for those who need cabs in Goa - plentiful cab stand right outside Cavala!

Room Tip: Upgrade of rooms/bathrooms or add some furniture to the room. Extend pool hours for adults. Very sad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review.

Three years is a long time, we hope you can come stay with us again, as there have been a few changes made since. We hope you will like the set up in our upgraded rooms.

Please do let us know when you are here at our restaurant next, would be great to meet you in person.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I've now stayed at the Cavala twice and enjoyed my experience both times.
From the original Goan architecture, the wonderful garden to the generous breakfast and the helpful staff makes the Cavala Resort a good value for money hotel.
It's excellently placed with it's location in Baga Beach, five minutes walk to the beach and surrounded by many renowned restaurants that are considered to be good to excellent in Goa.
It has the added bonus of having a variety of 'Live' music from Wednesday to Sunday where the bar can certainly 'Rock' out with Locals and Tourists mingling.
Marius the owner is a generous host and is always willing to offer you a drink from the bar.
His father had the vision to build the Cavala back in the late 70's escaping the then hustle and bustling 'Bombay' and it was one of the firsts hotel in Baga Beach area.
I have no hesitation recommending the Cavala to family, friends and strangers and would definitely stay there again if I return to Baga.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We hope you do return and stay with us again.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have never stayed in Cavala but have not missed going there on Friday/Saturday night whenever I am in Goa. They play Live Music on the this days and the Band rocks, I mean seriously, one after other they keep playing the English Classic Rocks which will take you down the nostalgic lane. Their Margharita & Mojito Pitchers is not to be missed. they serve excellent food as well and most of thier item on the menu are worth a try,but it is bit on the costlier side considering that it is a Goa. This is a small place and gets crowded very early on, so best is to go there around 9-9.30pm if you want a table.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mistrybond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
We're glad you enjoy our food, drinks and live bands and hope to see you back with your family and friends.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed here several nights and the rooms were great! There is a pleasant restaurant, pool and the service is perfect! After the return flight was at night we could leave our luggage and stand and do after the day at the beach showers to freshen up! There was even a complimentary room offered us what we would have for a few hours can benefit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermelin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We're glad you enjoyed our service and hospitality and hope you return with your family and friends.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Cavala is a prime location on bagha its quite a popular place for its restaurant which has live music performance every night.

I stayed there and must say for the price the rooms were not good. very below average place....

Its a must go place for a dinner thou

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiwarijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.3 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#5 of 24 in Baga
752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazylagoon Sarovar Portico Suites
0.4 mi away
Keys Ronil Resort
Keys Ronil Resort
#4 of 24 in Baga
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavala Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavala Seaside Resort

Property: Cavala Seaside Resort
Address: Saunta Vaddo, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Baga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavala Seaside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idiosyncratic, ivy-clad Cavala has been charming Baga-bound travellers for over 35 years, and continues to deliver clean, simple, nicely furnished rooms, ranged about a large complex with a central swimming pool. The bar-restaurant cooks up a storm, with live music on most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cavala Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavala Hotel Baga
Cavala Resort Baga
Cavala Resort Goa
Cavala Seaside Resort Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing