We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and welcome surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cavala Seaside Resort
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Baga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place has a chic, rustic and arty Goan feel which out does the soulless feeling found in 5 Star hotels. As a solo traveller I felt the single room was custom made for me. The original buildings are unique in character and most of the staff are professional in their demeanour with fantastic experience in service due to good leadership. The weekends are filled with music, fun, laughter and good people. It was close enough to the beach for me to enjoy nights at Brittos and walk back happily. Simple, stylish, non pretentious, comfortable, good food, a home from home for me, this place can only get better, although I don't usually dwell in North Goa I'll be back if only to visit here. Well done and many thanks.

Room Tip: They are all equally well prepared and located, lovely views over paddy fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Location,The Food,The rooms,the ambience..it seems it could not have got any better.This is right in between Calangute & Baga Beach,yet walking distance,behind the hotel a short walk away is the green countryside along with a river creak so you can go for those long walks admiring Gods creation.The food is super and in case you want then the casino is bang opposite..what else can you ask for...

Room Tip: Opt for a heritage room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ShuddhoGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Cavala knows how to treat their customers well. Their staff is so eager to help you through almost anything. They will suggest the best places to eat, have fun and when to return back to the in-house Cavala restaurant for the best friday evening possible in the city of Goa. They have the best crowd almost from all walks of life to get up and close with Tidal Wave, a Goan band famous throughout the country. They do retro and other numbers and the place just shoots up with energy by midnight.
They understand that their guests have paid for the breakfast which is surprisingly served as part of the room rent - throughout the day!
They are so well located at the center of party scene of Goa - the Baga beach that you dont even require a rental ride to go from one point to another.
I happened to spend some time with the owner Mala at Cavala. I think the character of the restaurant comes from her personality. She is humble, ready to help and full of energy. She gives personal attention to almost everything, right from guest comfort to being at the bar serving drinks etc. Cavala is must for foreign tourists to capture the Goan essence of life, fun and music.

Room Tip: Chose the big room towards the corner. You pay a bit extra to get such a big living room + big bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abhijeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Been there twice in my 2 days visit.food is great and service even better.cheese and herbs mushrooms can't get any better. Clean restaurant. Ambience is very good. Shakeel f&b guy is cool.good recommendations.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank savio1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your great review.

We're glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant and hope you continue to visit and may be stay with us on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Food is great
Bar is excellent and bartender very friendly and makes perfect cocktails
Breakfast is good and so are other goan cuisine for lunch dinner
Basic rooms are bad since old property but we go since it is walkable from the beach and close to brittos

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sameer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for your review!

We're glad you enjoy the food and drinks at our restaurant. We hope you continue to visit and stay with us and enjoy the renovated rooms.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked for 4 nights at the Cavala Villa, and immediately switched after checking in. The Villa is located 200 yards from the main hotel, across the main road and down an unpaved dirt track - which turns into a muddy quagmire at the first hint of rain. The Villa itself is poorly maintained, with signs of wood-rot everywhere and an unkempt garden. You definitely do not want to stay at the Villa, especially with a family - even at half the Rs 9k/night rate.

We switched to 2 rooms (4 & 5) in the main property, and discovered that these rooms don't even have phones, which was incredible for a hotel. This means trekking down an unkempt (empty water bottles lying around for days) path overgrown with vegetation to the front desk for every little thing, at all hours. And no wifi in the rooms either. Your only option is to use the wifi in the open-air restobar, and be eaten alive by mosquitoes in the bargain. C'mon, this is 2014, not 2002. Having Wifi in rooms is a basic amenity these days. If the hotel can put tiny TVs and A/Cs in the rooms, they can very well install phones and wifi. No guest would begrudge paying 500-1,000 bucks extra for these basics.

What's good? The people, without a doubt. Mario, who works breakfasts and lunches, was easily the best at the Cavala. Personable, helpful and intelligent - he should be asked to train every other waiter in Cavala in how to do it right. Narendar and Prasheel at the front desk were also warm and helpful, as was the GM, Michelle.

After 2 nights, we called it quits and moved to the Taj Holiday Village in Fort Aguada.

In conclusion, the property is crying out for renovation and re-investment. You can't even excuse these shortcomings by saying it's a quaint property. There's quaint and there's shabby, and the Cavala falls firmly into the shabby camp. Despite the really nice people here, there's no way that I can recommend it or return here unless they invest in sprucing up the place.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the lower level, and at the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shaynejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you very much for your review!

I wish I would've known about your dissatisfaction while you were staying with us. We are a fairly small property and we do renovate sections every year. The block you stayed in is going to be done this year, in parts. i.e. with intercom, etc.

I apologise on behalf of the team & management and hope you will return to Cavala on your next visit to Goa.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed with them in October last year... excellent property... warm and cozy atmosphere... great food...

A must is their all day breakfast and the live music in the evenings on Wednesdays (they day might have changes since i visited a while ago), the place just comes alive with couples swaying to the music...

The property is also just a stone throw from Baga beach and Brittos. Also a great place if you want to hang around in Anjuna shacks but do not want to stay in Anjuna. Its about 15 mins from Curlies Anjuna.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruchivenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleShaikh, General Manager at Cavala Seaside Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

We still serve breakfast all day and now have 3 music nights at Cavala. Wednesday, Friday & Saturday.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Cavala Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baga hotels
0.4 mi away
The Baga Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
0.5 mi away
Colonia Santa Maria (CSM)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mykonos Blu
Mykonos Blu
#5 of 23 in Baga
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Baga Marina Beach Resort & Hotel
0.3 mi away
Nazri Resort Hotel
Nazri Resort Hotel
#7 of 23 in Baga
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavala Seaside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavala Seaside Resort

Address: Saunta Vaddo, Baga 403516, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Baga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Baga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baga
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavala Seaside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idiosyncratic, ivy-clad Cavala has been charming Baga-bound travellers for over 35 years, and continues to deliver clean, simple, nicely furnished rooms, ranged about a large complex with a central swimming pool. The bar-restaurant cooks up a storm, with live music on most evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cavala Seaside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavala Hotel Baga
Cavala Resort Baga
Cavala Resort Goa
Cavala Seaside Resort Goa/Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing