We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for families”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maharaja Residency Hotel
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff is co-operative, service is good. located near the market yet away from the hustle and bustle.

Rooms are well kept, neat and clean. the bathrooms are also clean and neat. Worth the money. Seems recently renovated.

At walking distance from the bus stand.

Room Tip: The room i stayed in is 102 or 103, i dont remember exactly, but photos are attached. it was on grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nileshnaikk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    4
    3
    6
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

We randomly stepped into this hotel in the middle of a narrow Market street, although its facade was not much to look at. We were mistal=ken not ot have a look in the rooms before giving the advance. The rooms and the loo were average; say, we stayed there coz we were falling short of time as two kids were along and were being restless at night. The room service was also ok ok types. Since it was rainy season when we visited mahabaleshwar and quite cold on the hills, yet they provided hot water just for 1 or 2 hours early morning. It was baddd.....coz we felt as if we are in a hostel and not in hotel. Still , majburi ka naam ....u know :) I wish we had reached their early evening and wud have searched even better accomodation. After all this, we dint dare to go to their restaurant, had our food and all outside. The manager inspite of the bad service, managed to heir us a taxi to roam around the places, the temples, the famous points, Panchgani and the Mapro Site. Sooooo, my personal advice to all those travelling to Mahabaleshwar is, do not depend on the spot booking, make your prior bookings after getting through reviews from trip advisor or clear trip etc....so that you dont feel stuck after getting in a hotel and also when thats nt good value for the money you spend. Your mood should not be spoiled after getting at a beautiful place like Mahabaleshwar.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank RohitRicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Thane, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

we stayed here for two nights. this was given to us by cleartrip because they could not keep their commitment. cleartrip had provided confirmed booking for another hotel and at the last moment this one was given to us in very unprofessional manner. we had to pay INR900 above the booking amount and given suite room.

anyway, +ves for this hotel are...
- located in the heart of city, very close to main market
- quiet clean rooms and toilet
- nice sunny suite
- helpful staff, provided us dining and travel recommendations

-ves (in contrast to http://www.hotelsinmahabaleshwar.com/mahabaleshwar/maharajaresidency)

- there is limited parking space - can take two sedans at max. after that you will have to park in paid slots
- hot water in taps is available only for 1-2 hours in morning
- tub is provided but becomes useless due to lack of 24/7 hot water
- there is no in-house dining facility. you can order food but it ultimately comes from third party food hotel
- - the photos on site make you believe that you get very good view from balcony but its not true, you get to see just a street from balcony. as most other budget hotels, this one is very adjacent to other hotels, other rooms may not get sushine/view
- only few channels are tuned on tv
- the photos on the website show only suite, this is quiet misleading

but otherwise this is a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank KiranGhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MUMBAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

It was really a horrifying experience for my family who
stayed in Maharaja Residency,Mahabaleshwar.
The room and bathroom was Dirty and the Housekeeping was
also too poor.
I will not recomend anyone to stay there.It will surely Spoil ur
vacation.Also now we stopped trusting the GovT sites(IRCTC)
that suggest hotels like this. This is a disgrace to the
Tourism.
So its a BIG NO from Maharaja Residency.

Even the name Misguide people, it should be renamed to
MAHA'DIRTY' RESIDENCY

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MumbaiSreejith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

We opted for family room, and they put us on a room on a room size of 10X10 and the extra bed was mattress on floor. No electricity in morning for 4 hours, no backups... I have to do shaving on a candle light for all three days I stayed. It was a worst experience… It is the worst hotel I ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Niraj_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

House Keeping and room services were very bad. I had to ask them to change the bed sheets and clean the bathroom after check in. I booked through internet and there was no option for me but to stay there for one night. The rooms look so old, not at all maintained well.
The other thing was their messy reception area where they have given me the food bill of two other rooms with my check out bill. I had to argue with them a lot to show that they are mistaken. No value given to a customer

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank rkmithun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

In Diwali vacation me &my family stay in maharaja residency mahabaleshwar ,hotel is very cleane ,rooms are good & resonable ,staff is very cooperative ,food quality is very
testy

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shyamlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
6.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
5.8 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#34 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
#15 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Neeta's Shanti Villa
Neeta's Shanti Villa
#30 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#11 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maharaja Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maharaja Residency Hotel

Property: Maharaja Residency Hotel
Address: Near Panchayat Samitee, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Maharaja Residency Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing