We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maharaja Residency Hotel
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed 29 December 2013

1.There The room was not cleaned and maintained by house keeping on regular basis. (Only on were cobweb on all the walls,Fan, cealings etc.,
2.Below the bed there were bedbugs, and on the frame of the head board there were fungus
3.Bedsheet were all stained and in unhygiene conditioned
4.Cealing fans were not cleaned and dead insect were hanging.
5.Flushing of toilets all the water spraying/leaking on the floor

The Reception manager was adamant and mentioned that we should contact Make My trip on any issues or complaints. Since all the rooms were in a similar condition, I and my family refused to check-in

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Subhashchandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

The staff is co-operative, service is good. located near the market yet away from the hustle and bustle.

Rooms are well kept, neat and clean. the bathrooms are also clean and neat. Worth the money. Seems recently renovated.

At walking distance from the bus stand.

Room Tip: The room i stayed in is 102 or 103, i dont remember exactly, but photos are attached. it was on grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nileshnaikk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We randomly stepped into this hotel in the middle of a narrow Market street, although its facade was not much to look at. We were mistal=ken not ot have a look in the rooms before giving the advance. The rooms and the loo were average; say, we stayed there coz we were falling short of time as two kids were along and were being restless at night. The room service was also ok ok types. Since it was rainy season when we visited mahabaleshwar and quite cold on the hills, yet they provided hot water just for 1 or 2 hours early morning. It was baddd.....coz we felt as if we are in a hostel and not in hotel. Still , majburi ka naam ....u know :) I wish we had reached their early evening and wud have searched even better accomodation. After all this, we dint dare to go to their restaurant, had our food and all outside. The manager inspite of the bad service, managed to heir us a taxi to roam around the places, the temples, the famous points, Panchgani and the Mapro Site. Sooooo, my personal advice to all those travelling to Mahabaleshwar is, do not depend on the spot booking, make your prior bookings after getting through reviews from trip advisor or clear trip etc....so that you dont feel stuck after getting in a hotel and also when thats nt good value for the money you spend. Your mood should not be spoiled after getting at a beautiful place like Mahabaleshwar.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
4  Thank RohitRicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

we stayed here for two nights. this was given to us by cleartrip because they could not keep their commitment. cleartrip had provided confirmed booking for another hotel and at the last moment this one was given to us in very unprofessional manner. we had to pay INR900 above the booking amount and given suite room.

anyway, +ves for this hotel are...
- located in the heart of city, very close to main market
- quiet clean rooms and toilet
- nice sunny suite
- helpful staff, provided us dining and travel recommendations

-ves (in contrast to http://www.hotelsinmahabaleshwar.com/mahabaleshwar/maharajaresidency)

- there is limited parking space - can take two sedans at max. after that you will have to park in paid slots
- hot water in taps is available only for 1-2 hours in morning
- tub is provided but becomes useless due to lack of 24/7 hot water
- there is no in-house dining facility. you can order food but it ultimately comes from third party food hotel
- - the photos on site make you believe that you get very good view from balcony but its not true, you get to see just a street from balcony. as most other budget hotels, this one is very adjacent to other hotels, other rooms may not get sushine/view
- only few channels are tuned on tv
- the photos on the website show only suite, this is quiet misleading

but otherwise this is a good budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank KiranGhag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

It was really a horrifying experience for my family who
stayed in Maharaja Residency,Mahabaleshwar.
The room and bathroom was Dirty and the Housekeeping was
also too poor.
I will not recomend anyone to stay there.It will surely Spoil ur
vacation.Also now we stopped trusting the GovT sites(IRCTC)
that suggest hotels like this. This is a disgrace to the
Tourism.
So its a BIG NO from Maharaja Residency.

Even the name Misguide people, it should be renamed to
MAHA'DIRTY' RESIDENCY

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank MumbaiSreejith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2009

We opted for family room, and they put us on a room on a room size of 10X10 and the extra bed was mattress on floor. No electricity in morning for 4 hours, no backups... I have to do shaving on a candle light for all three days I stayed. It was a worst experience… It is the worst hotel I ever stayed.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Niraj_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2009

House Keeping and room services were very bad. I had to ask them to change the bed sheets and clean the bathroom after check in. I booked through internet and there was no option for me but to stay there for one night. The rooms look so old, not at all maintained well.
The other thing was their messy reception area where they have given me the food bill of two other rooms with my check out bill. I had to argue with them a lot to show that they are mistaken. No value given to a customer

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank rkmithun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.3 mi away
Pratap Heritage
Pratap Heritage
#39 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rahi Plaza Hotel
Rahi Plaza Hotel
#41 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunny International
Sunny International
#24 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#7 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel On The Rocks
Hotel On The Rocks
#28 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
3 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#9 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maharaja Residency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maharaja Residency Hotel

Address: Near Panchayat Samitee, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: £35 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maharaja Residency Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing