We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average place”
Review of White House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White House
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were a group of 4 who stayed here - The rooms are decent size but bathrooms are tiny and they needed to be told to provide/ change towels. The linen was a bit musty smelling.
We had just one meal there on the day we arrived and it was very basic and we had to sit outside the kitchen and the house to eat ! That was not a nice experience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the section facing the main gate are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SmitaRastogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

The location is outside the Mahableshwar, but still not that bad. You get the feeling of staying in a private bungalow.

The rooms are decent in size. The parking is limited since it is private.

The best part is the food - it is 100% home cooked and very hygienically prepared and extremely tasty. Even if it is a simple dal, the food is awesome.

The care taker - Mr. Sagar is extremely hospitable. He is very useful and polite. Without him our stay would not have been pleasant!

Few negative remarks: They should have offered more towels and good toiletries. The TV channels are really limited.

Room Tip: The main door design is not proper - be careful when closing, it might hurt your fingers (just to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mahendran_sella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Its a clean place perfect for families travelling in groups. The caretaker is also a very nice person.
Though most of the time we were visiting places in Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani, we had a comfortable stay in Whitehouse.My only suggestion is that they could add on a few more dishes in the Menu.
We started from Mumbai at around 6 reached Whitehouse in the afternoon and as we had already informed them , lunch was kept ready. It was tasty. Later around 4 we visited table land in Panchgani and took a tonga ride to see some points, caves etc. We went to Mapro around 7 30 and its a must see place. Children will love pizzas, sandwiches, milkshakes served there. We had our dinner there.
Next morning after breakfast in whitehouse, we travelled to Mahabaleshwar and visited mahabaleshwar temple, Panchganga temple and krishna temple. We can see the origin of 5 rivers there. It was an awesome experience and then we went to arthur point. Had lunch at Bageecha which was awful and proceeded to venna lake for boating. Children went to gokarting after that and we returned to whitehouse around 5. There is a beautiful Radhakrishna temple next to white house. We had a bonfire dinner at whitehouse in the night, which was memorable.
Next morning after breakfast we checked out around 10 and set off for Mumbai.
We also visited wai ganpati temple, Dhoom dam and lake and a balaji temple on the outskirts of Pune while returning to Mumbai. Overall we had a wonderful time as were were a group of 9 members.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Kavitha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We travelled to mahaballeshwar and booked White House for 4nights , it is a beautiful property and my family liked it . Mornings are too pleasant and we loved to play shuttle .only thing which I want to suggest is one exhaust fan in bathroom and towels to be supplied apart it was just how we wanted too comfortable and we r happy

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank premraji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had come the night before from Dubai and our schedule was completely packed for the India trip I still wanted to sneak in Panchgani somewhere in there. So we made that extra effort and planned a quick trip to Panchgani. I was schooled there and have fond memories of the place so I really wanted to make it.

I had heard of this place White House from a friend in Dubai as he had stayed here on his India trip. So I looked it up on google, got the numbers and called the owners. He is a courteous fellow. He told me about the new room that they have designed and I liked the sound of it. Since we were only a couple and a child it made more sense than going for the entire bungalow.

We were pleasantly surprised, the room was better than we had imagined, its bigger than the bungalow rooms. The bungalow guests hadn’t arrived so we could check out the bungalow as well. The bungalow also was nice but not worth for only a couple. But its good that even though we were in the same premises we were not disturbed by the other guests.

The food was good, homemade, you have to give them some time to make it, but I think its worth the wait, taste and quality wise. The service was great the caretaker is polite and co-operative. The room was very clean.

I don’t think there was anything I could suggest them. We had a great time and enjoyed our one night stay. Certainly worth going again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank amagarwal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This place is in the centre of Panchgani and Mahabaleshwar...It is aresidence converted to a guest house...I agree that it is value for money...but the service levels can improve....we were there when it rained a lot and it was difficult to get home delivery of food....the care taker tries his best, but is handicapped due to resources....I was there with my parents and felt that the service levels can improve even at the cost of extra payment....The extra bed for my son was in form of a thin cotton filled bedsheet and not the usual 4 inch mattress tha one is used too. Also the blankets were very thin and not adequate for cold when it rains...we had to shift the next day to Brightland resorts which obviously was 3 times the money but we had no option....so the bottomline is if you are young couples of groups of friends, this could be a good nature loving place....but could be a problem if it rains heavily and if you are with young kids or old parents where service levels are paramount...my suggestion to the management would be to charge more for the extra's for anyone needing them....they can put TATA SKY as cable service never worked while we were there.... the care taker makes excellent home made vegetarian food but need 3-4 hours advance notice...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deepak5268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHousePanchgani, Guest Relations Manager at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our property.
White House is not a private residence but a private bungalow redesigned specifically with the travelers needs in mind. We’re located close to Mala’s and Manama’s factory outlets, only 2 minutes from the main road. You can see White House from the main road, it is not in the interior like most other private bungalows. It is preferred by guests who don’t want to stay in the market as it is crowded and the hotels there generally do not have a view. The market is only 5 kms so you can drive down anytime if you really need to go to the market. But now there are shops within 2 minutes from White House where you will get most of the things you may need. Our convenient location and the view from White House has been appreciated by our guests time and again. We are glad you liked our location and our accommodation as well, and found it nature loving.
It is nice to know that you found our property value for money.
There is a caretaker and a cook who are on site 24 hours at your service. The food that we make is fresh, home-made and hygienic and made only after you order. We are glad you rate the food served by us as excellent. We checked your case and learnt that you wanted some restaurant food and due to the rains it wasn’t possible to be delivered, we are sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Yes, its true, our extra bed charges are very nominal, only Rs.350 and Rs.450 for children and adults, respectively. Even though they are normal mattresses we keep them in very good condition and we have never had any complaints from our earlier guests, I hope you didn’t have them either.
We used to have TATA SKY at the bungalow, but it never worked properly with constant outages and choppy picture quality. The Cable TV worked better so we moved back to it, we have now installed optical fibre cables for digital picture.
We have recently added 2 more staff, so there are now 4 people to serve you better.
We would request you to treat the inconveniences caused to you as isolated incidents and give us another chance to serve you in the summer or winter seasons.
We hope to hear from you soon.
With warm regards.
GRM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Its a nice place to stay, equidistant from Mahabaleshwar and Panchgani. Just 2 attached bungalows, so no much crowd either. We would go to watch places around in mahabaleshwar, come back at noon and relax. Then move out again in the evening. The place is very clean. Very nice for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
11  Thank Murlidhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHousePanchgani, Guest Relations Manager at White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your short and sweet review.
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at White House.
We consider ourselves lucky to have a private bungalow in such a nice and convenient location. It is always appreciated by our guests, most of whom are now our regulars.
It is ideal for a family of four, a big joint family, a group of friends, or even office colleagues, given that we can give you a combination of bedrooms & living rooms and a bungalow feeling without affecting your privacy.
It’s really nice to know that you appreciate our efforts to keep the property clean all the time, your observation will communicated to our staff.
Thank you once again.
We hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahabaleshwar
0.0 mi away
Ravine Hotel
Ravine Hotel
#3 of 15 in Panchgani
757 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Millennium Park
Hotel Millennium Park
#8 of 15 in Panchgani
217 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pan Hill Hotel
Pan Hill Hotel
#7 of 15 in Panchgani
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mala's
Hotel Mala's
#4 of 15 in Panchgani
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
#16 of 53 in Mahabaleshwar
137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panchgani Holiday Home
Panchgani Holiday Home
#9 of 15 in Panchgani
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Address: Panchgani-Mahableshwar Road | On the way to Village Bhilar, Next to Windsor Park, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 53 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: £23 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Certificate of Excellence by Tripadvisor for the Year 2015. The unique structure of White House with aesthetic look designed by the renowned Architect Hafiz Contractor has become a land mark on Mahableshwar Panchgani Road and a point of attraction among the tourists from the time it has emerged. White House melds unstinting luxury with the tranquility of being in harmony with nature. Brilliantly designed it is perfectly integrated with natures beauty White house is a haven of relaxation, peace and tranquility To accommodate you in a luxurious manner that you so richly deserve we offer you spacious, elegant and well equipped rooms with a classic pampering. Each bedroom is fully furnished with LCD TV, Fridge, Airconditioner, attached bathroom, attached balcony, 24 hours hot and cold water, inverter backup. There is a 10,000 sq area around the bungalow within the compound wall. You can use the area for any games, activities, barbeque, bonfire, parties etc. For children there is are swing sets and see-saw as well. There is 24 hours security a huge parking space within the compound. All efforts are made to make you feel at home. In our endeavor to convert this bungalow into a Tourist Motel we have not spared any pains for your utmost comfort. White House is most secured place in all respect though away from city crowd. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing