We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, value for money but poor maintained”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #17 of 49 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Pune
Level Contributor
721 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,041 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money but poor maintained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Location of MTDC is really nice and rooms are very large. If you want peaceful environment and wants to go away from crowded market then this is for you.
Staff is not at all interested to maintain this resort. Traffic is quite low as compare to other resorts.
Economy room charge you INR 800/- per night and new standard room charge you INR 1000/- per night.
Good if you are on budget family trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank priteshkulkarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    116
    103
    27
    22
See reviews for
172
77
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baroda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

MTDC is not for people who like to splurge money on expensive and luxurious amenities. Its for people who love nature and who like to keep it all simple and sweet. We stayed in a cottage room and i must say we were treated with respect.

For a couple, it is a decent place as there wont be anyone unnecessarily ogling at you. Although, in June, there is not much to see except the rains and fogs, yet you enjoy the resort and the place as a whole for its serenity.

I found the food quite tasty and reasonably priced. My cottage room was quite well-maintained (dont know abt other less priced rooms). However, as 1 reviewer observed, they are very particular about asking you to vacate. Overall, our 3 days 4 nights stay was enjoyable. MTDC resort did not make us sick.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank DEEPAKPIYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We (along with my spouse and Mother-in-law) stayed there for one night. We travelled by road (rented a car) from Mumbai. There are two (equally scenic) routes to reach there from Mumbai, therefore if you are travelling by roads, in my opinion try one while going and other one while returning.

Check-in at MTDC was done immediately. We have booked one special suite, which has two rooms and one bath. Surprisingly there was no wardrobe. The whole suite was very dull and shabby. I have stayed in many MTDC, but found this one the worst till date.

The restaurant is OK, we only had our lunch there, veg/non-veg dishes are available there. The taste is just OK.

What we like about the accommodation:
Only the location, it’s located away from the noisy market, and centrally located near the Sunset Point.

What we didn’t like:
From outside the cottage looked good, but the furniture and interiors were very old, shabby and dusty.
The whole suite and the beds were very dump.
Cleanliness is not up to the mark; especially the towels and bed-sheet were not in usable condition and had stain all over those, and advised to carry your own towels.
The special suites were far from the main reception and restaurant, though there was a short-cut hilly path to restaurant, but at night it’s not illumined with enough light.
There was no arrangement for Driver's accommodation, even if you are wiling to pay some extra bucks.

Also I have some tips for travelling around:
1. Going with a car is the best option; it gives you flexibility to spend time as you wish. And you can enjoy the beautiful roads while going there and returning back. You can find some at the MTDC reception.
2. Try to visit Tapola on your arriving day (if you are not very late), the view of the road and lakes are stunning.
3. February-March is the strawberry seasons, so if you are travelling in that time try to stop at any local strawberry farm (you can find on the way to Tapola). Also try strawberry ice cream (at market or at Kate’s point).
4. It is worth visiting Sunset point before sunset; it is wonderful during that time.
5. Visit Mapro’s food garden, situated near Panchgani. You will have option of ‘try before buy’.
6. You can try for some souvenir (at the market there are many shoes shops).

Room Tip: Try either Krishna Cottage or Standard room, they are close to the restaurant and looks newer (we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank write2sapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Thane, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is a very nice hotel with large rooms and a very nice location. the resort is very near to the bus stand (15-20 min walk) and is very cheap and well maintained. the rooms are very big and nice. the food is also nice.
Overall a very nice experience at very low expenses :-)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Girishkherdekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a very nice hotel with large rooms and a very nice location. the resort is very near to the bus stand and is very cheap and well maintained. the rooms are very big and nice. the food is also nice. Overall a very nice experience at very low expenses :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DevaleRicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 983 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in Cottage room at MTDC resort during January-2012 with Family (2 Adults and 2 Child).

Booking Experience :
Did on-line booking through "www.maharashtratourism.gov.in", date-wise Tariff, vacancy details were available on-line. Booking was smooth, printed the web booking confirmation.

Reaching experience :
Reached at 11:00 AM, very easy access, about 2 kms from the main marketplace (bus stand). Property is located in a lush green area surrounded by forest and its a huge property, near to Bombay Point and polo ground. It was Perfect climate, cool weather around 10 degree and perfect time to enjoy strawberries too..!!

Check-In Experience :
The resort was quite clean, at reception (next to main gate), presented the Web Booking Confirmation, took 5 minutes to complete the formalities, paid Rs. 200 refundable deposit and Rs248 as a Tax in cash (no refund no receipts). Staff was helpful.

Cottage experience :
Reached the Krishna Cottage allocated to us, looks like big old bungalow with Parking in front side, Big terrace on back side . Monkey troops playing in the cottage campus.

Room was large with 3 beds, 2 Sofa, 1 central Table with 24inch LCD TV, having all channels. Mosquito repealar with two new mats. Next room was utility room with Water filter and connected with new constructed big size Bathroom having Hot and cold water. Its more like a decent sized house.

Overall, the room was very poorly maintained, like crack in wall paint, Cleanliness of rooms, beds, bathroom/toilet was just OK but an overall air of shabbiness prevails. Towels provided were clean. OK room for 2,200 Rs a day.

Quick Walk around :
One restaurant in the campus offering North Indian and Maharastrian menu, Ayurvedic centre offering ayurvedic spa massages, Hanuman Temple. The old Governors residence is at the upper end of the MTDC grounds having fantastic view of the mountain ranges.

Observed many renovation work going on in some of the rooms to improve the room conditions. My findings:

1. Economy rooms - Great value for the price.The rooms were okay with slightly jaded paint and furniture. Bathrooms were Newly refurbished

2. Standard rooms - Same as economy rooms, better location though. Newly painted.

3. Cottage - We stayed here .details above, having room service facility..

Restaurant :
Dinner served was tasty, breakfast was good. not tried the lunch.

Overall, MTDC Mahabaleshwar has the best views and undoubtedly good value for money, decent experience, will stay again with family.

Room Tip: Reach Early to get room options,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MANMOHAN-MUMBAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

This place has lost its value as they haven't been able to maintain the brand. Previously there were very few resorts in Mahableshwar and MTDC would take the lead but now as competition has increased, they care less to maintain their brand, I went here ten years ago and it was a remember able experience but not this time, the place has only got pathetic.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
7.1 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 49 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Property: MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing