We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's more you need for a one night stay perhaps?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It was good. We had booked the standard room. It was clean. Service was acceptable. Food was okay.

Ventilation is zero in Standard rooms, so open the windows of your room and also of the sit out area to not get choked. Standard rooms are good for couples and one kid. Geyser is good. When power goes they put the generator.

We did the mistake of booking for 2 nights, but M'swar is such a small place which you can cover in a day's trip. We went late, left early.

Room Tip: Standard room good for couple with one kid, but it gets zero ventilation and you feel choky if you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jijospeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We planned our trip to Mahabaleshwar over a long weekend of March. Since it was the start of holiday season we knew there would be a rush and getting budget hotels would be difficult. We made a reservation at the MTDC resort two months in advance just to be safe. Our past experience tells us getting a last minute booking in any state tourism development resort is near to impossible during weekends and holidays.Our expectations were high since a lot of friends had endorsed the place.
The resort is divided into sections having different types of rooms in clusters.
The first impression of the MTDC resort was really good. The property had huge open areas where people could take a walk, play or just laze around. There were cottages painted in brick red with white windows lined along pathways.
During check-in we were made to pay tax money along with Rs.200/- as security deposit which was refundable.
While being guided to our room, a deluxe suite, we realized how huge the compound was. The room was almost half a kilometer from the main reception. There were two canteens run by PWD where we could have food we were told.
We were not totally impressed with the rooms but the over all stay was good.There was one double bed in the front part of the room which doubled up as the hall. It also had one single bed unit, a dresser and a TV. The bedroom had another double bed. There was a common washroom in the cottage which had a hot water heater. We were also provided with towels and soaps. The most unique thing in the room was that the beds were actually concrete slabs!! No maintenance, no repairs!
The good thing about the resort is that it is close to the main market and yet away from the noise of the place. It is an advantage to have your own vehicle in Mahabaleshwar.
We tried the food at MTDC's restaurant - Sonal. The food was plain horrible, no taste, no salt, none of it! The reason being the chef was on a holiday. Also the service at the PWD canteen during breakfast was totally sad and to make it worse there were monkeys waiting to attack the food.
Monkeys are a total menace in the resort, taking the liberty of entering the rooms or opening unlocked cars to steal things.
If we plan a trip to Mahabaleshwar again we will certainly consider MTDC since it's good comfort in a decent budget.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Book this resort without blinking eyes. Great location, rooms are decent, and affordable rent. Restaurant is good. Sunset point is at a walking distance. 2 km from mahabaleshwar bus stop, so you may have to hire a local taxi to reach the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivek235u92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

When we are looking for a satisfactory holiday destination we should figure out what actually we want, obviously good location, pleasant stay, good food, peaceful atmosphere, beautiful seen surrounding, and also where we can comfortably reach,
Looking all these facilities all in one place MTDC guest house of mahabaleshwar is a best place to enjoy your vacation,
I had reached mahabaleshwar by 5th June 14, when all Mumbai was burning in heat wave, we feel a cool comfortable weather when we arrive at ST stand, as we reach there by early morning we thought to enjoy a 2 KM walk to MTDC, (which is only 2km away from ST stand). In the mid way a tour taxi picked us and drop to our guest house, it gives us a extra benefit as our room was almost half a km away from the reception, we reached there by 8:30am, although our reservation from 10:00 am, they allotted the room very smoothly, and asked a taxi driver to plan a tour, it was so immediately happened we get freshen up by 10 am, and ready to enjoy our holiday, I want to share a few wards regarding room condition, it was a economy room, so not no spacious as Aurangabad MTDC, but very clean, and having an extra room for dress up, toilet and bathroom was so cleat that I was not expecting really, by reading some of the MTDC reviews, but believe me that was really a good one, bed sheet pillows are clean enough, even I had asked for a extra pillow, that was supplied immediately,
We enjoyed all the day, got the spectacular view of beautiful green valleys, and in the all day programme the atmosphere was so ooooo pleasant we did not get tired at all, the hotel premises was so good, we enjoyed all evening there, once we feel cold after sunset we returned to our room.
Next day we had a tour of Pratapgarh fort, 24 km away from mahabaleshwar, which was a bit hot compared to mahabaleshwar, but not much that you cannot enjoy, it gives a beautiful view of surrounding green valleys,
Again coming up to food, raj bhaban canteen (in side the MTDC), excellent food, I cant remember if some where we have got a better food than that, we had tried veg and non veg both, and both will be rating 100%, also they serve us very less spicy specially made dal and curry for my 4 yrs old daughter,
Now coming to the negative points, no electricity back up (although we did not face any difficulty) poor picture quality in TV, (that was attend immediately once I put a complain), and very slow supply of food during lunch time in raj bhaban, overcoming that MTDC is a wao location to enjoy yourself in the lap of nature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnkurLaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Initially as we were staying in the Economic Room.. i thought we were neglected but later on when we had a problem with bathroom.. we saw that the Manager himself came to check all the rooms and he inquired us about the problem and got it fixed.. the administration is very good.. from the resort the sunset point is very near.. so enjoy the room as they are very cozy.. food is alright u can have food at the small restaurents in the Market area.. so dont worry its very nice though a little expensive..

Room Tip: U can also choose standard room instead of Economic.. economic is also good but if u want to stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Journeyer_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I am visiting mtdc mahaba. each year for last ten years. It was a treat for middleclass persons who They have rised the acco. Cost each year very promptly. But haven't repaired the kids slides and toys. They have closed dormitory and started honeymoon suites and other expensive package but did not provided facilities reasonably. When Mr Vijaysinha Mohite patil was tourism minister it was working very well. But for last five years it had lost its capabilities.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Suraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Its been 10 year we have been booking the MTDC dormatry, its one of the best accommodations I have ever been, nice place to hang around with friends good time to spend and good food quality.I am planning to this again for the next month end.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shrikumar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.5 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
1,109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#23 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
75 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
609 reviews
6.7 mi away
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
#41 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
61 reviews
1.8 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 56 in Mahabaleshwar
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MTDC Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar

Address: Taluka Mahabaleshwar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: £7 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Mtdc Holiday Resort Mahabaleshwar Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing