We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“better than little italy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Olive Garden

The Olive Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: The first brick oven pizzeria in India and still the most popular. Guests drive few hours just to eat the pizza's and pasta's here.
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“better than little italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

It has to be best as per location is concerned, being a part of Brightland Hotel but the food just made it the best restaurant in the town.
Went there reading TA reviews and I think its still not as #1 in TA list. So the list certainly needs an update.
We had grilled mushrooms, their signature garlicy prawns and lamb bolognese pasta. All tasted perfect and were served at perfect temperatures.
P.S. the adjoining bar is always amazing with breathtaking views and impressive list of drinks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank A_mathure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    25
    9
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Olive Garden - Italian Restaurant Gem in Maharastra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I have been travelling to Brightland Resort for Past Two Years

I have traveled to many Countries had meal at many Italian Restaurants

In My View - The Olive Graden is gem of restaurants in Maharashtra

I have traveled to Mahabaleshwar especially for Food at Brightland Resort

The food here is to die for

Italian food is Fabulous, Marvelous, fantastic

From Starters to Deserts all items are of Top Quality I would go ahead and say IF Diamond Quality Food

From simple pizza or pasta to Risotto all dishes are fabulous

Soups are really really good really authentic

With New Positioning of the restaurant the food has not changed a bit

Really impressing Restaurant

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeeten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An oasis in a desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Mahabaleshwar is pretty much a culinary wasteland. Mostly shacks in the marketplace serving Punjabi / Indian Chinese of very poor quality and a few places with Gujarati Thalis. In the midst of this, Olive Garden comes as a breath of fresh air!
Authentic Italian food (most of it at least) although a little out of town. We had excellent Pizzas (Margherita and Basilico with a pesto base), great Pasta (bolognaise and an outstanding Carbonara) and a very good risotto. The soups were good, but not Italian. The garlic focaccia was anything but and returned (not charged for). The Tiramisu was the real disappointment, more like a pannacotta mixed with cake. Just avoid the desserts. The food is the real deal here.
Mahabaleshwar has a restaurant to rate now and this could take on most Italian restaurants in Mumbai or Pune for quality of pastas and pizzas. The restaurant was empty when we ate and this could be a reflection on the prices which were marginally high but then you are paying for quality. I am surprised this is not higher rated on tripadvisor as it is easily the best restaurant here by a country mile!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ppmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good list of choices for Italian cuisine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Even though Pizza choices were limited to 2, there were far more choices on Pasta, Risotto and other dishes. Overall, you will not be disappointed with quality and taste of food.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shas74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary celebration!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The food and service was really good.The service at the restaurant was very prompt, and the food served piping hot.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SagarSatpute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Olive Garden also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 

Been to The Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing