We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" WORST HOTEL SEEN EVER"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“" WORST HOTEL SEEN EVER"”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I had opted for this hotel by reading the good n superb reviews & booked immediately through online portal for my marriage anniversary. I had assumed i will be gifting my wife some peace n serenity but what i got was hell. The hotel arranged for pickup n drop up from bus stand as the property is located around 10 to 12 kms from main market. After a tiring journey from mumbai i had expected to relax in the room but was told on arrival that the electricty is not available...i requested them to switch on generators but they told as there were limited guests in the hotel they could not. After pleading with them they finally switched on the generator....but wait...it was a diesel generator. The geneartor was placed right below my room. The terrible sound that it generated and the look on my wifes face...i knew what was coming. The room was in a very bad shape with paint coming off. Curtains n bed linen were good. No soap, No towel and no drinking water on arrival. The washroom was average with insects n pests roaming freely. Also found a bed bug. The room phone was not functional, so evertime i had to go down to reception n place order...just imagine. The staff was helpless as the owner has not ensured to maintain it properly. The dining area of the hotel is another mess filled with Insects, Flies and god knows what. Very limited food options so had to make with what was available. I would not suggest this place to any one not even to my enemy.
I request the owners of the hotel first to ensure that you make the hotel a proper place with all amenities working n adequate staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Karan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    15
    10
    12
    7
See reviews for
29
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Recently i visited this resort with my wife and i had done the booking for more than 25 days prior and for my welcome they have given my room to some other guests and refused to give it me.

after fighting for almost an hour with manger Sudhir (I am still confused was he the manager or one of the staff member as he took care of bookings as well as cleaning of the rooms also :P or may be multiple roles and responsibilities) and the Ms. Kalpana who looks after booking i got the room which i have booked.

once we checked in soaps were not there, there was no mug in the bucket shower was not working, 1 window was jammed, in premier deluxe room there was no chairs and table,

only 1 guy was serving the whole resort and he was very weird may be he was very tired so i gave him tip but still he was the same, if you tell him anything he doesn't reply he just walks off and you are confused did he understood or not (No Language barrier).

Limited food options, serves the same breakfast everyday, Pohe, Upma and Aloo Paratha this is may be to generate more income as guest will get bored and will order something more.. :D

Swimming pool is strictly for kids.so dnt get excited after seeing the pics.

Positives:
Excellent location and view if you have booked valley facing rooms which are one 1st floor.
Thinking...

Negatives:
Limited menu options.
Miscommunication between hotel manager and booking personnel.
Food is very spicy, every time you have to tell them make it medium spicy.
unfriendly staff.
repeated break fast menu.

Room Tip: Ask for valley facing rooms on the 1st floor.and get the confirmation by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sachin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mahabaleshwar hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I stayed at this place in April 2014 with group of friends with their families. We booked Villa and were promised that there would be functional kitchen however when we reached there the kitchen was closed coz they have made it store room. This is12 -14 km away from main market of mahabaleshwar and remotely located. You can not find any place to eat other than the hotel. The food was average and the work in hotel is still going on. the non functional swimming pool was let down. Pro: it is away from crowd and you can relax.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gdude20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I recently visited this resort with my wife on my first anniversary. My first anniversay was made memorable but with wrong reasons. The location of the resort played vital role in ruining my stay there.
I felt like I am trapped in Kala Paani. It is so remotely located that in if you have any emergency, God forbid, then u have no choice other than praying to God.
The road from highway to the resort is a nightmare in rainy seasons.

It is true that everyone needs a peaceful location, but this is a hell in pursuit of peace. If you are in mahabaleshwar for some sight seeing then this is the worst place as it is very far from all the sights/points

The room service was worst with insufficient number of staff. The management has not taken care of cleanliness of the place. The staff are least interested of the comfort of guest.
The swimming pool is only for namesake with dirty water

Room Tip: Avoid going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kumar_ashwini24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I will not suggest this resort to anyone. Remotely located, or extremely remote located. Roads are in bad shape, you need to wade through mud to reach there. Anyone loving their car will be reluctant to do it. The resort has its second floor still under construction. Actually the construction is not happening. It has been stopped midway. It was completely dirty. The whole lobby floor was covered in mud. There is only a single person to receive the guests, to take food order, to do the check in / check out, to get the room cleaned etc. No ID proof required to check in. So basically anyone can get a room there, which means lesser security. The rooms were not clean when we reached there and had to follow up with them to get it cleaned. The pool was full of dead flies. And above all, the room keys were missing. He had to search for a long time to get the keys, something which I am seeing for the first time at any hotel. Rooms are decently kept, but toilet was horrible. Seems like it was not washed after fitting it there. Only regional channels available on TV. Surprised to see that not even standard channels like star movies was not available. Now about the restaurant, we ordered for fried rice and what we got was something similar to the normal boiled rice which was really sticky and over cooked. The restaurant was full of flies, dead and alive. Floor was muddy and dirty. Table was not clean. Overall this was the worst experience I ever had at any hotel. The concept is good. You can have a location away from all the rushes, in the forest overlooking the mountains. But there should be enough staff, should maintain cleanliness, should appoint a few security staff, should have a proper ID check at check in. If all these are done, then it will be a good option. At the present condition, it is a disaster. A disaster of such high level that we checked out after completing the lunch, even though we lost the money paid for booking. (it was already paid through online portal). I will suggest anyone to avoid it at any cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harikrishnan_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVInns, Manager at SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing this review. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Our response to all other points is unexpected heavy rainfall during last weekend. Mahabaleshwar received a heavy rainfall over this weekend. The mud you saw on the roads was due to landslides. We also had couple of trees falls near our resort and some of the trees in the resort were damaged. Staff attendance and grocery procurement was also severely affected because of this downpour.

Regarding the under construction second floor of the restaurant. That is our expansion plan which would be ready by this winter. The construction has been deliberately stopped because of the holiday season.

We would get back to you separately to make good your lost stay at our hotel.


Regards
Manager
Dwarkadhish Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed at SV inns Dwarkadhish resort during May 2014. Hotel resort is around 10-12km away from mahabaleshwar bus depot on satara mahabaleshwar road. It is ideal place if you want to just relax and rejuvenate. But located far away from central bazar and bus depot and you should ideally have hired your own vehicle if you plan to stay there. I am being told that taxi charges from bus station could be anywhere between 350 to 500rs. but I would assume it will be difficult to hire taxi during night time.

Hotel is newly constructed and still not complete. They have some playground for children, volleyball place. Pool shown in pictures is non functional. They have some more problems:1) like they do not have own generator, means you have to stay in dark in case of power goes out 2) Hot water functions on solar heater means in case of clouds, rainy days or early morning, you will not have hot water. They will supply you hot water in buckets. 3)intercom has not functioned during my stay, means for every little bit of help you have to run up to reception 4) management is still new and learning.

Room and bathrooms etc is well done with nice tile flooring. Bed was comfirmtable

Their rate is competitive due to remote location and all the problems mentioned above.

Room Tip: choose room 111 and 112 which has nice view location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vorapm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVInns, Manager at SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Thanks for writing this review.

We did had inverters with power backup of 5 hour to deal with power failures. However we have now also procured generators to deal with power outages of longer hours. We do have boilers for hot water and with generator at our disposal we would be able to provide hot water on all days. The problem with intercom is something I cant respond to because all our guest do use intercoms. Maybe because of power failure it must have not been working. We had a problem with the filters of the swimming pool, but now it has been sorted and the water is crystal clear.

Also during your stay we had promised our guest of bonfire and music on the deck, however we could not do this because of rainfall and power failure. Next time you visit our resort we would definitely plan something better.

Regards
Manager
Dwarkadhish Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It's about 12 kms from Mahabaleshwar Market. About 2 kms from the Satara-Mahabaleshwar SH. Luckily there are sign boards! Without your own means of transport you can rule out this place as getting in and out will be taxing.

+ Away from the crowd
+ Nice play area for the kids
+ Good if u are group needing 3 or more rooms as then u can get an entire block for yourself.
+ Fool is homely but very few options and was a hit and miss.
+ Services was okay-okay.

- Swimming pool is really a pond. The water wasn't clean either.
- Voltage fluctuations kept turning off the A/C. On my final day there was no power from 9.30. It was expected to arrive at 1 pm and the inverter had run out.
- Certainly doesn't deserve the 5 starts it currently has.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SomeRandomGuy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3.7 mi away
West Hill
West Hill
#5 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
306 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rahi Plaza Hotel
Rahi Plaza Hotel
#38 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
25 reviews
6.0 mi away
Neeta's Shanti Villa
Neeta's Shanti Villa
#31 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
Honeywood Holiday Homes Hotel
#15 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
129 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pratap Heritage
Pratap Heritage
#34 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
121 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#21 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort

Property: SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort
Address: Near Bagdad Point | Kas Road, Mahabaleshwar, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dwarkadhish Resort where you will be mesmerized by nature essence is located 1 km away from Baugdaad point. The beautiful resort offers magnificent view of Sahayadri Mountains and Kanher Dam Backwater. Resort Dwarkadhish is the superlative combination of nature, peace and pleasure. Sun kissing the valley in the morning and sinking behind the tree top are the pleasant views seen from the Dwarkadhish resort. Dwarkadhish resort is composed of Deluxe AC, NON AC and SUITE rooms, exceptional service and best amenities to offer its guest a symphonic experience. Rooms are valley, forest facing or pool facing, offers a striking surreal vista. Dwarkadhish Resort is equipped with Wifi, swimming pool, kids play area, restaurant, 24-hrs room service, conference and banquet facilities. Its 10 kms (15-20) mins drive from Mahabaleshwar Bus stop with FREE pick up and drop service (only at arrival and departure). You can really relish the scenic, natural beauty of Mahabaleshwar located away from the hustle and bustle and close enough to all the sightseeing points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SVInns Dwarkadhish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing