We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dina's Hotel

Dina's Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Restaurants in Mahabaleshwar
Cuisines: Indian, International, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

As kids we have stayed at Dina many times. This time I visited the place with my husband and friends just for dinner. The first night we were told that they were full so we made a reservation for the next day for Rs 800/- per person.
Dina offers a sit down dinner of a pre-set menu. I have fond memories of the old Parsi couple who would sit with the guests on one long table and eat like a family. Unfortunately this time round they were no more. The servers bring to the table each of the 4 courses and serve as per need so that there is no wastage of food. They usually have one or two Parsi specialties on the menu which makes it authentic.
With having raised my friends' expectations, this time around I have to agree that the food was good but it wasn't what it used to be. The mutton cutlets and daal was the best from everything else that was served.
If you are looking for a cozy old school charm, do visit. The ambiance is totally worth.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
197 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Parsi charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

One of the oldest hotels located on an incline overlooking the lake.One of the very few places where they still serve meals course by course like the old British days.The waiters are well trained and the menu excellent. The main bunglow is gr+1 storey structure and has rooms with 4 poster beds and lofty ceilings.The hotel is well maintained and rates per head including all meals.A definite stay.Food both veg and non-veg.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rakeshMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting but had a lot of expectation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Read a lot of reviews and had decided to try out this place for a good dinner or lunch. When we went for lunch we were informed that they already were full and cannot accommodate and hence we had to come back for dinner. The serve set menu which is pretty filling but the cooking quality deserves some attention specially when you pay a hefty charge. The served 6 courses and if cooked well could have a real treat. The servings were typically a mix of English and Indian cuisine. However did not get any Parsi dishes. Unlucky...but yet would like to go for a second time just for the Parsi food..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buzo_Pops_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food served home style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We have been coming here since we were kids. The food has always been excellent and the standards have been maintained. Took my kids here and nothing has changed. The place is maintained well unlike Fredrick next door. The menus are just like before. A soup, 2 non veg main courses (usually one dry and one with gravy) with side veggies. Followed by rice/dal and desserts. All served at the table in large portions to be shared at the table. Just like at home. The food is also not hotel like, non greasy and very homely. We had mutton cutlets and chicken curry, with Lagan number custard and doodh poha for desserts.
If you are not staying at the hotel, you have to reserve and they may not accept if they are busy. There is no a la carte only the set menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Homely and welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This place is highly recommended for anyone visiting Mahabaleshwar. It's an experience. It's different from the regular new age hotels. This place is a little over a 100 years old and is run by a Parsi family. If u enjoy Parsi food, then this is the place to be. Well maintained, polite and friendly staff, clean rooms, good bathrooms and above all a peaceful place. The cost of the room is inclusive of all meals. The breakfast included cereal, fruits, eggs to order, poha, toast and dosa. Dinner was elaborate with corn soup, cheese pasta, bread, palak, Salli boti, patrani macchi, rotis, rice, daal and kadhi. There was caramel custard, strawberry tarts and caramel custard for dessert. Everything is served on the table in the dining hall and in sufficient quantities. Tea is served in the rooms or in the garden wherever u please. The garden is a beautiful sight with beautiful flowers and a lawn. There are swings and chairs to laze around in. A play area for kids with swings and slides and trampolines. Would have loved to stay longer. Maybe next time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isha_Mohapatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dina's Hotel also viewed

Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
Mahabaleshwar, Maharashtra
 

Been to Dina's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing