We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to Mr. Menon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brightland Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kudos to Mr. Menon”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Since we checked in late at 9:30 pm and were travelling for most of the day we requested late check out as we were completely drained out & only staying for a night. While receptionist gave a text book answer exhibiting his reluctance, it was Mr. Menon who came to rescue. Since there was no booking on sunday he promptly gave a affirmative node to our request; we really appreciate this. Post that it was a treat, were overall ambiance clearlly complemented the weather. Breakfast was good, one of my friend who used spa was also happy with it. Out and out great place to stay, looking forward to comeback with family and friends asap.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Rchokshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    212
    53
    9
    9
See reviews for
258
110
1
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolhapur, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Despite all the praise for it, I wasn't expecting this from Brightland.
When I entered Brightland, I saw a typical 3 star reception and lobby, you'd expect at a hill station resort. But I was blown when I entered my room.
It was a huge room with all the 5 star amenities like a comfortable king-size bed, big TV, huge bathroom and a private sit out.
The bed won't let you wake up, no matter what time of the day it is. The sofa is comfortable enough to watch movies in all day. The AC is among the very best I've ever seen in any hotel. My sit out had an obstructed view, but still was the perfect place to sit with the family, provided the weather was good.
My bathroom didn't have a tub and the open-to-sky view. If you plan to laze in the tub, check that out.
The view from my room was obstructed due to construction, but they've made a point above The Olive Garden specifically to enjoy the view. You can an amazing 180 degree view of the mountains there. It's not to be missed!
It's as if there are 2 different worlds in the resort. 3 on the outside and 5 on the inside.
For example, right after the lobby, you walk across the Pavilion, which feels really rich, but when you move out of there and towards your rooms, that 3 star feel returns.
The food is great in the either restaurant. However, I found the Indian food in Pavilion to be much better than the Italian in The Olive Garden.
Their service is a bit slow in the restaurant and very slow in room service. Be prepared to wait a bit, at both the places.
The Olive Garden also has a huge problem of flies, that won't let you enjoy your meal. Beware of that!
The breakfast is unimpressive and I almost chose to have it somewhere else. It's too typical and not tasty. A let down!
The spa is very average; feels really, really cheap and should be avoided.
When I went for a massage, the sheet on the massage bed was already crumpled and by the time I was done taking a shower, the same sheet was set to be used for the next client. The masseurs offer very no sense of discretion and privacy, making it seem like you're in a sleazy, roadside massage parlour.

The hotel staff lacks the grooming and finishing you'd expect for the price you're paying. While most make up with their hard work, the others like the masseurs leave a bad taste.

However, the peace, tranquility, comfort and food this place offers is unbelievable. If you can avoid and overlook the bad parts, it's a great place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BPiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just outside of the Mahabaleshwar (3km before Venna lake), surrounded by only trees (down-hill there are few houses that may spoil view for few cottages), near to Kates point and Strawberry farms (just outside the hotel)
About Hotel rooms, neat, clean and big, ours was Pool side lower, good for couple with 2 kids as they have upper deck with queen size bed.
Property is on hill so you need to climb a little to move around, but they have lift facility also at each hill layer, that good!
Restaurants, great taste and decent menu options especially Italian and Indian both available, Breakfast spread also good.
Spa & Jacuzzi also best in town.
Service from check-in to room service, they do best, no complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sachin_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with family. .great experience. .especially the food. .everything was perfect..The bar is well stocked and facing the valley and pool..The flip side are the charges..especially as it was peak season..The jacuzzi only operates from 2 pm to 6pm..The room service and house keeping was good with calls attended within a few rings..mahabaleshwar also had some issues with power supply and the back facilities were not able to cope up..overall a great experience. .The maple category rooms are good..

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I and my family stayed at BRS in May '2014. The Booking was done via the Mumbai Office. Right from the Booking done by Ms. Pritam (lovely lady who gave us nice advice & arranged the room based on our request that we had an Autistic child) to the actual stay everything was smooth & superb. The room service is great & the Breakfast offered is varied & lot of choices, you can actually skip lunch. The best part was the temperature controlled swimming pool & the outdoor spa which my children especially my daughter who has Autism enjoyed a lot. With such a fantastic resort & so much to do you do not need to visit any points or places if all you need is some peace & calm! I am going back to BRS!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRIANNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

An extremely beautiful place where hours can be spent in the morning and evening as well just sitting at the pool side and balcony of the resort enjoying nature and the service and ambiance of the resort together. This is coupled with the delicious food served there.

Room Tip: Go for Maple or Upper Orchid Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajibreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Location is good . The pool facing rooms not the best preferred .
Food taste excellent , a little expensive for mahabaleshwar standard
Pool, was well kept spa was very good
Lots of place to play .
Value for money
Reception n staff is very swift n cooperative

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10DSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#6 of 50 in Mahabaleshwar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightland Resort & Spa

Property: Brightland Resort & Spa
Address: Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#5 Family Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#7 Spa Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Brightland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIGHTLAND is Mahabaleshwar's finest resort with world class amenities and facilities. Located in a exclusive peaceful location on a hillside, overlooking the Krishna river valley and the Sahyadri hill ranges and surrounded by dense tropical rain forest. The view is superb and the facilities unmatched by any in Mahabaleshwar. The only small hotel in the world with 4 independent restaurants,offering Indian, Italian, Oriental, Gujrati, and Mughlai cuisines, an all glass lounge/bar overlooking the valley, Prana spa, a fully equipped fitness center, a solar heated swimming pool, tennis court, volleyball court and all major indoor games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Brightland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightland Holiday Village Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing