We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounding is good but not Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brightland Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Mahabaleshwar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Brightland Resort is lucky to have beautiful surrounding but is just an average place to stay. It lacks hygiene value even in restaurant. Ambience outside is decent owing to natural beauty and locale. Staff and management of Brightland Resort can do well by improving on aspects of warmth, courtesy, cleanliness and room comfort. I don't recommend for someone going to have a leisure stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RNIGAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Brightland Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The resort comes on the way to Kates point in Mahabaleshwar, so keep an eye when you drive up from Panchgani to Mahabaleshwar (it comes before you reach Venna lake). So, as we entered the hotel, the reception incharge was quick to give the keys and ask the helper to guide us to our room (near second gate). Before that we parked our car, which was helped by the watchman with a smile.

Our room was on the first floor, very clean and smelled good. It had upper floor with a TV, AC and grand double bed. Below we had a sofa cum bed, TV with multiple channels available, fridge and refreshments. The toilets and bathroom were very clean. The only thing for which we called up was for warm water. It was made available in 30 minutes.

We had a big balcony where we could have enjoyed our drinks and food (but we opted to have it in the hotel). After refreshments, we had a glimpse of the scenery from the back section of the resort, one can see the mountains along the slope. Awesome sight!

We strolled near Venna lake, enjoyed the boating after a long waiting time. We returned to the hotel at 10pm and had food at one of the hotels in the resort (as the DJ party lobby was booked for private party)

About the food - good food but high on the pricing part! The difference for every dish is between the range 100-150, so any man course dish which we get for 150-170 in good restaurants of Mumbai will be around 270-300 range.

Being a veg, i ordered Mashroom dish (starter - yummy), chapati and Punjabi Chole (below average) and sweet (good one). The total bill for 5 people was (Rs 4500/-). (Veg + Non Veg). SO all in all, good taste but very expensive. We headed back to our room after dinner and had a sound sleep (courtesy nice bed)

Early morning you can hear birds chirping and making unfamiliar sound. Also, our car was neatly washed by the watchman which was a surprise for us.

Overall, very nice experience.

Room Tip: Frankly ours was booked by my uncle so we did not have a choice but there were few rooms which had a...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivprasad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Since we checked in late at 9:30 pm and were travelling for most of the day we requested late check out as we were completely drained out & only staying for a night. While receptionist gave a text book answer exhibiting his reluctance, it was Mr. Menon who came to rescue. Since there was no booking on sunday he promptly gave a affirmative node to our request; we really appreciate this. Post that it was a treat, were overall ambiance clearlly complemented the weather. Breakfast was good, one of my friend who used spa was also happy with it. Out and out great place to stay, looking forward to comeback with family and friends asap.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rchokshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Despite all the praise for it, I wasn't expecting this from Brightland.
When I entered Brightland, I saw a typical 3 star reception and lobby, you'd expect at a hill station resort. But I was blown when I entered my room.
It was a huge room with all the 5 star amenities like a comfortable king-size bed, big TV, huge bathroom and a private sit out.
The bed won't let you wake up, no matter what time of the day it is. The sofa is comfortable enough to watch movies in all day. The AC is among the very best I've ever seen in any hotel. My sit out had an obstructed view, but still was the perfect place to sit with the family, provided the weather was good.
My bathroom didn't have a tub and the open-to-sky view. If you plan to laze in the tub, check that out.
The view from my room was obstructed due to construction, but they've made a point above The Olive Garden specifically to enjoy the view. You can an amazing 180 degree view of the mountains there. It's not to be missed!
It's as if there are 2 different worlds in the resort. 3 on the outside and 5 on the inside.
For example, right after the lobby, you walk across the Pavilion, which feels really rich, but when you move out of there and towards your rooms, that 3 star feel returns.
The food is great in the either restaurant. However, I found the Indian food in Pavilion to be much better than the Italian in The Olive Garden.
Their service is a bit slow in the restaurant and very slow in room service. Be prepared to wait a bit, at both the places.
The Olive Garden also has a huge problem of flies, that won't let you enjoy your meal. Beware of that!
The breakfast is unimpressive and I almost chose to have it somewhere else. It's too typical and not tasty. A let down!
The spa is very average; feels really, really cheap and should be avoided.
When I went for a massage, the sheet on the massage bed was already crumpled and by the time I was done taking a shower, the same sheet was set to be used for the next client. The masseurs offer very no sense of discretion and privacy, making it seem like you're in a sleazy, roadside massage parlour.

The hotel staff lacks the grooming and finishing you'd expect for the price you're paying. While most make up with their hard work, the others like the masseurs leave a bad taste.

However, the peace, tranquility, comfort and food this place offers is unbelievable. If you can avoid and overlook the bad parts, it's a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BPiyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just outside of the Mahabaleshwar (3km before Venna lake), surrounded by only trees (down-hill there are few houses that may spoil view for few cottages), near to Kates point and Strawberry farms (just outside the hotel)
About Hotel rooms, neat, clean and big, ours was Pool side lower, good for couple with 2 kids as they have upper deck with queen size bed.
Property is on hill so you need to climb a little to move around, but they have lift facility also at each hill layer, that good!
Restaurants, great taste and decent menu options especially Italian and Indian both available, Breakfast spread also good.
Spa & Jacuzzi also best in town.
Service from check-in to room service, they do best, no complaint.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sachin_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with family. .great experience. .especially the food. .everything was perfect..The bar is well stocked and facing the valley and pool..The flip side are the charges..especially as it was peak season..The jacuzzi only operates from 2 pm to 6pm..The room service and house keeping was good with calls attended within a few rings..mahabaleshwar also had some issues with power supply and the back facilities were not able to cope up..overall a great experience. .The maple category rooms are good..

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Tarun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I and my family stayed at BRS in May '2014. The Booking was done via the Mumbai Office. Right from the Booking done by Ms. Pritam (lovely lady who gave us nice advice & arranged the room based on our request that we had an Autistic child) to the actual stay everything was smooth & superb. The room service is great & the Breakfast offered is varied & lot of choices, you can actually skip lunch. The best part was the temperature controlled swimming pool & the outdoor spa which my children especially my daughter who has Autism enjoyed a lot. With such a fantastic resort & so much to do you do not need to visit any points or places if all you need is some peace & calm! I am going back to BRS!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIANNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien Mahabaleshwar Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
Evershine Keys Prima Resort
#3 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
589 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
304 reviews
2.5 mi away
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
Citrus Chambers Mahabaleshwar
#4 of 52 in Mahabaleshwar
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brightland Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brightland Resort & Spa

Address: Kates Point Road, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India (Formerly Brightland Holiday Village)
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#5 Family Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
#5 Spa Hotel in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: £77 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brightland Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRIGHTLAND is Mahabaleshwar's finest resort with world class amenities and facilities. Located in a exclusive peaceful location on a hillside, overlooking the Krishna river valley and the Sahyadri hill ranges and surrounded by dense tropical rain forest. The view is superb and the facilities unmatched by any in Mahabaleshwar. The only small hotel in the world with 4 independent restaurants,offering Indian, Italian, Oriental, Gujrati, and Mughlai cuisines, an all glass lounge/bar overlooking the valley, Prana spa, a fully equipped fitness center, a solar heated swimming pool, tennis court, volleyball court and all major indoor games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brightland Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brightland Holiday Village Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing