We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an experience worth a while..”
Review of Grand Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahabaleshwar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Resort
Reviewed 31 May 2014

we were at grand resort cottages for 2 nights 3 days in may 2014. we realised though mahabaleshwar is no more a cold climate hill station, grand resort compensates for the cool climate by lush green surroundings and a very peaceful atmosphere.the food served was complete veg food and we all have liked it. the gujarathi type food items can improve by adding less oil to it.the breakfasts are enjoyable and the service is excellent.
we recommend the resort for a stress free stay.it is quite close to the market and one can easily walk two times a day if required.
thank you grand and hope to to see you again.
vikram kelkar

Room Tip: try off season packages. they are more than worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vik232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

I visited with my wife and friends in mid of April 2014. We took Grand wood north room. The place is nice and located in starting of jungle in Mahabaleshwar. If you are nature lover, need peace and away from pollution this is the perfect destination for you.
I like my overall stay in the resort. Below are of my feedback.

Pros :
1. Very very good food
2. Location of resort is just too good
3. It has pool , small gardens for children
4. Different options to seat and talk under nature with your love once
5. Magic show arranged was very nice

They also provide travel options for those who do not have vehicle to travel.

Cons :
1. They can improve on morning tea. e.g they give 2 odd milk powder pouch and tea bags in night to all rooms instead that charge Rs.100 max more to room provide good water, Tea bags and milk powder , coffee pouch etc. by default. This will improve the image of resort in all travelers. I know its a small thing but when not given noticed by everyone.
2. Room cleaning needs to be improve.
3. Connectivity between rooms and operator needs to be improve little
4. Refill of stuff in all rooms must be check during room cleaning. How much a sampoo and soap will cost? Not more then Rs.5/ day for each room but it left good mark on traveler.

Overall i am really happy with my stay and would like to visit again.

Room Tip: Take grand north wood room. One which are garden facing. They are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yagnesh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Planned a break from the hectic city life , i found myself in the serene environment of Mahabaleshwar in the ghats. Being there for the first time i checked into Hotel 1, a few hours there and the noisy environment got the better of me. Checked into hotel No 2 and just to make sure it felt right just hung around the lobby area for some time checking the food and the place . Another disappointment and then after some local inquiry someone suggested Hotel Grand. Reached the hotel and found the place cool,refreshing and rejuvenated myself on a dining table with some good food and drink in the green lawns surrounded by dense forests .Highly recommend it to the traveler looking for an out of the world experience,truly value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Naseebchouhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Grand Resort is one of the few places where one will have the feeling of "Jungle Mein Mangal".Coming to Mahabaleshwar and staying in the mall road environment was not what we had in mind.At Grand not only were we able to enjoy the comforts and trappings of a decent hotel but at night being surrounded by thick forests definitely gave us the sights ,smells and sounds of a Jungle resort.The Food is good and we would be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vipin920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have stayed at the Grand Resort five times in the last eight years. The only occasion we did not stay here was due to a compensatory voucher we had for some other property in the interim.
The two reasons that we kept repeating this place are the location and food. The first remains as attractive to us as always but the second was disappointing this time to say the least. Morning tea arrived without the cookies. Tea bags are distributed as a standby for early risers from a list which did not include our rooms on day two ! So had to wait for tea until 7.30 am in the chilling winter. We always prefer all inclusive deals but if we come the next time it will be room only. This property is a bit away from the hustle of the market and hence quite and unpolluted. It is great if you have a vehicle but taxis are cheap and plenty or you can go on horse back if you don't feel like a 15 - 20 minute walk back. There are a few lovingly quaint things around this property like the bio-fuel fired boiler, The central hall with its lovely partition and antiques, colonial furniture etc. The staff there are the same. Staffer Anil - is a fantastic ambassador of this hotel. I could see that there were quite a few repeating customers and they all seemed to know him by name and called him anytime they needed something. Amit ji the manager is a friendly chap and finds time to converse with guests..
My earnest suggestion to the owners is to concentrate on the food on PRIORITY, install electric geysers, repair the equipment on the children area demolish the non existent Jacuzzi and the non functional gym.It is better not to have than retain the long discarded stuff which becomes an eyesore. To intending tourists - please go here only if you are not the five starry types and you will have a happy holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vagabondanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

we stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of our friends. it was a very comfortable stay and the manager of the hotel was quite forthcoming and accommodating to our requests, it was a great experience. it has 6 acres of jungle and has a feel of a resort.

Room Tip: Grand Woods category rooms should be requested for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vineet322014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked it through MMT. After reaching there my parents got scared seeing this aloof resort deep inside the jungle but later on when we went inside it was beyond awesome. The hospitality was good and so was the food. Although we didn't book the hotel with meal and we realised that food in this hotel was way tastier than other hotels. Our 2 day stay was enhanced with a well furnished room which had 5 beds for 3 people and this was a deluxe room. Overall A grade to grand resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank subham93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mahabaleshwar hotels
3 mi away
The Grand Legacy
The Grand Legacy
#10 of 55 in Mahabaleshwar
337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Saj On The Mountain
Saj On The Mountain
#8 of 55 in Mahabaleshwar
609 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#1 of 55 in Mahabaleshwar
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#23 of 55 in Mahabaleshwar
75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hirkani Garden Resort
Hirkani Garden Resort
#9 of 134 in Mahabaleshwar
126 reviews
7.3 mi away
Shivsagar Farmhouse
Shivsagar Farmhouse
#2 of 140 in Mahabaleshwar
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Resort

Address: Woodlawn Road, Behind Madhusagar, Mahabaleshwar 412806, India
Region: India > Maharashtra > Satara District > Mahabaleshwar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Mahabaleshwar
Price Range: £33 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mahabaleshwar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing