We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget accommodation. beautiful view.”
Review of Sipadan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sipadan Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Basic accommodation, suitable for those who's low in budget. Rooms are good and clean with aircon. Service was not very nice. Souvenir's shop lady is rude, sticking with her hand phone, not entertaining potential customers. Would come again if service is improved.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryann_chelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Many stay in this town as a layover in order to get to Mabul or Sipadan for diving. It's about 1-1.5 hr drive by taxi from airport. We were here for 2 nights (not consecutively because we were in Mabul for 2 days & 1 night for diving/snorkelling).

We booked a standard room, which had a double bed & private bath ensuite. Room was basic & decent size. We were actually very surprised as to how clean & comfortable it was. Room had good AC, TV with some English movies, toilet flushed well and shower had hot water but water pressure was not very good. Wifi strength was excellent. Music from nearby bar can be heard at night but things shut down at 2am so it wasn't too bad.

Overall, stay was comfortable for our overnight layovers. Good affordable Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuuWongGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We just spent one night as we were passing through. Fabulous Service as they were very attentive to us. We were put in a downstairs room near the office with no window which was very quiet. Room is about 10’ x 10’ absolutely the smallest room we had ever stayed in before. The twin beds were on the short side so if you are tall your feet would hang over. Surprisingly comfortable bed but the sheets and bedding was left to be desirable (nothing fitted and the sheet would come up showing the mattress). No room to put anything including your suitcase but we managed. The bathroom was adequate but really rough looking and the shower did work with hot water demand system. Very thin towels almost nothing there to dry with. The room was clean with no odors. We were told that this was the best in the area so I guess it will have to do but surely not our favorite or even close.

Room Tip: Glad we stayed downstairs as it seemed real noisy up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nblapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is basic but good. Clean rooms, aircon. The slamming of the doors in the hallaway will wake you up though in early morning. Perfect for day trips to the islands if you do not want to spend a fortune to stay on Mabul

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Sipadan Inn was good.
Paid 110 MYR for 2 pax / 1 night

It was located near the main part of Semporna. There was Guardian and Watson nearby. In addition, there was a hypermarket Giant just a 3 minutes walk away.

The place was well furnished. Room looked neat, aircon working good. The bathroom especially was huge. Wifi was working seamlessly. Heater worked well and the place was clean


However, upon arrival, we were greeted by this receptionist who didnt talk to us, nor bothered to smile. She took our particulars and gave us our keys without pointing out the direction.

Also, I was very cold throughout the night. The blanklet given was not think enough. It was just a thin piece of linen coupled with a layer of towel. It wasnt sufficient for me.

All in all, I would still recommend for a short 1 night stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seexuanbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The Sipadan Inn is a mid level hotel in the ugly town of Semporna. If you don't dive with Scuba Junkie, like us, this hotel is a fair deal. Clean rooms and the staff is friendly. It's a 10 min walk from the bus station and about 3 min to the dive places. Make sure you book your Sipadan permit in advance. We had lucky to get some from Borneo Unlimited 2 days before. If you read this a couple days before and you don't have a permit, I guess those guys are your best bet. If you go to Semporna without permit you should know that this isn't a place where you want to wait on your permit for a couple of days. Although, diving in paradise is maybe worth it.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

It was very clean. It was one of the nicer looking hotels in Semporna. The aicon worked perfect the water heater worked (yet the water pressure sucked at night). Great place to stay. You get complementary tea, coffee, bottled water, and toiletries.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SparklesSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.3 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
279 reviews
0 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
76 reviews
19.1 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sipadan Mangrove Resort
2.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipadan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipadan Inn

Address: Block D, Lot No. 19-24, Semporna, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range: £23 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sipadan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sipadan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipadan Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing