We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Semporna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Singamata Adventures Semporna
Certificate of Excellence
Banting, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Relax and comfortable resort...for those looking for budget trip in Sempurna...this is the best choice for you..
Food --thumbs up !!
Room--thumbs up !!
Environment--thumbs up !!
Clean--thumbs up !!
Friendly--thumbs up !!
View--thumbs up !!
Explore it with your own..
Quite and relax place..

Room Tip: Budget and Clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clysan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
38
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very nice place. I booked 3D2N snorkeling package. Leave early in the morning, when come back in the afternoon, there is no water and electricity, food is not good, room is small. But the snorkeling trip is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate9660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in August and our stay was... interesting. Here is an overview:

1) Bathrooms were shared (hostel style)
2) rooms were small but decent
3) resort was pretty and being on top of the water was great (I even saw a turtle swim by at night) and PLENTY of fish and starfish
4) everything was Chinese. The food was all Chinese, the TV in the restaurant was set to a Chinese channel, the other guests were all Chinese... it is a safe assumption that this place is owned by a Chinese businessman and caters almost exclusively to Chinese clientele. Our only problem with this was the food, which really was just TOO mainland Chinese... so didn't go so well with out western taste buds and there were no alternatives.
5) snorkeling and diving trips move together, which is great. Schedule is set, so you don't really have a choice of where to go... but the places we went were good.
6) some of the staff were kind of sleazy. As a group of foreign girls, we felt slightly uncomfortable at times.
7) the staff at the booking office in Semporna were lovely
8) I liked Singamata more than Mabul, which we went to and found to be disgusting (saw a diaper while snorkeling there) **some of the accomodation there looked nice though
9) Diving was mediocre and dive staff were not very experienced

So to summarize, Singamata is best described as a scenic Chinese hostel in Malaysia. It is relatively cheap compared to accommodation on Mabul, easy to book and quiet... but bring your own food or you will suffer a bit. That is all.

Room Tip: There is an option to upgrade to a nicer room with private bathroom and balcony, but kindof expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

why??

1. fantastic place in the middle of the ocean / reef
2. very friendly staff - especially Max and Jeffrey the dive-teachers
3. good price / performance -> 3 days and 2 nights for 500 ringgit incl: islandtrip+food
4. very very beautiful resort with blue water, big fishes, perfect sunset

and we come back ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We booked a 4d/3n package online with RM700/pax,flight from KL to Tawau airport with airasia,booked a van from tawau to semporna(singamta office).its about 90km from airport to semporna town,take about an hour to reach.
Everything is good,nice view,small but comfy room with aircond(with sharing bath room),food not great but ok,good snorkeling experience,verry helpful and friendy staff,a verry joyful trip for me.will comeback again someday.
The only big downside is,the staff (a woman) in the office dosent treat us like guest at all...really unpolite!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My experience at Singamata was largely underwhelming – and I arrived fully expecting budget accommodation. I visited with my boyfriend and spent 3 nights in a deluxe room, hoping to recover from our climb of Mt Kinabalu directly beforehand. The location was fantastic for relaxing, with plenty of hammocks scattered around the boardwalks and stairs directly into the ocean for snorkeling. The island snorkeling trips are also fun (more later), though not the best value. However that’s pretty much all this place has going for it.

The accommodations even in the deluxe room were incredibly basic, cramped and not good value for the price, especially in Asia. The double bed was tiny and old, the only other furniture in the room was a little old desk in the corner, and the bathroom was basically a “wet room” that emptied into the ocean – about 10m from where we set off for our intro dive. Keep that in mind when snorkeling around the hotel! The electricity is turned off during the day, so there are no fans to lounge under on a hot day. We still enjoyed hopping between hammocks and the water to cool off, which is lucky because if you’re not diving, there’s not much else to do.

Be prepared to have the office staff try to sell you on diving programs when you check in, even when you don’t have enough time. (Remember to consider your arrival and departure flights – and if you’ve just climbed Kinabalu, you probably WILL be a bit sore.) There was also some waiting around to take the boat out to the hotel, as mentioned by other reviewers. We ended up being the only guests on a boat otherwise full of staff who seemed to show up late. Use any wait time to walk into town and stock up on snacks and any alcohol you fancy – once you’re at the hotel, there’s not much available.

Food was a fairly bland and repetitive spread. We aren’t fussy foodies but we enjoy exploring other cuisines and felt that we had that opportunity wasted for the 4 days we were there – and being stuck out on the reef you have no other food options. Since I can’t eat fish there were several meals where I basically ate rice and fruit, which might be fine for some but frustrated me that fabulous Asian food was available literally just on the horizon each evening.

There seemed to be about 6 guests total during our stay, but many employees who sat around and watched us. We tried to engage in friendly smiles and quick chats at first, then gave up and just felt creeped out by the end of our stay.

Feeling stir-crazy after 2 days, we did a day trip to a nearby island to snorkel. This was the highlight of our stay, and definitely worth doing if you’re not diving. The island was gorgeous, the staff brought a simple lunch along, our guide actually had a sense of humour and he was great at taking us to specific places he obviously knew were haunts for sea turtles and big fish. It was a relief to have a change of scenery!

All in all, stay here if you’re part of a larger, younger group on a tight budget and you’re planning to spend all day diving. For anyone else, I’d recommend spending only a little bit more to stay elsewhere, where you’ll get much more bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank alleelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Getting through the Singamata office in Semporna can be a little tough, the people inside seemed a bit distracted, but once we jumped on a boat and got to the resort itself we had a great time. The rooms are small and quaint, but the location is amazing, the beds are perfectly comfy after a day of diving, and they feed you well at the buffet (it's also vegetarian girlfriend approved). If you are going out during the day, just make sure you tell them that you want a vegetarian meal and they will be happy to prepare one for you. The boardwalk of the resort surrounds crystal clear water that you can swim in whenever you like. They also have a small natural aquarium that you can snorkel in at any time of the day - filled with huge fish!

The diving instructors and divemasters who took us out on our fun dives were really good at pointing things out as well as providing good conversation on the boat in between dives. We saw HUGE turtles, eels, and groupers. I would highly recommend Singamata for anyone who wants to dive near Sipadan for a fraction of the cost. And, if you do want to go to Sipadan, they can do that too.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JumpKickTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
18.8 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn
Sipadan Inn
#3 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 21 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singamata Adventures Semporna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singamata Adventures Semporna

Property: Singamata Adventures Semporna
Address: Jalan Kastam, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singamata Adventures and Reef Resort was established in 2007. Built over a beautiful coral reef, the resort offers both tranquility and adventure. It provides an ideal base, not only to divers and snorkelers but to anyone seeking an affordable and relaxing haven to unwind and escape from everyday stress. Being an authorized Padi 5-star resort, we are ideally equipped to offer a wide range of courses catering to different needs and budgets. Our experienced Padi instructors can help you achieve your goals. The resort offers three different room styles, all with ocean views. Plus, we have a a large buffet-style restaurant. We are the ideal choice not only for families and groups, but also for couples, backpackers and lone travellers. Our objective is to provide an excellent getaway… either on one of our brand new speedboats offering daily island trips for snorkeling and diving, or just a tranquil place to read a book on one of secluded sun-decks. We have great diving right off the site, plus we have a sea aquarium with some really large fish that you can swim around or even dive with. We also have free wi-fi for those wanting to stay in touch with the rest of the world, or perhaps show off your beautiful surroundings to envious work colleagues on facebook! Singamata Adventures and Reef Resort – an ideal retreat for divers, snorkelers, families and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singamata Adventures Semporna Hotel Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing