We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diving focussed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Celebes Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 6 Semporna B&B and Inns
Oxford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Diving focussed”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

The accommodation is on tiny island in the Celebes sea so you practically have the place to yourself. the rooms are basic, but very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The food is OK - served at set times during the day in the communal area.
Turtles visit very frequently to eat the sea grass so the chances of seeing and swimming with a turtle is very high.
We went to snorkel, while the rest of the visitors and staff were really focussed on diving. However, they were happy to take us out on the dive boats to go snorkelling and the staff were welcoming to us.
It's quite expensive for a snorkelling trip - but the location is pretty stunning. Probably worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    29
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
19
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Beautiful location with fantastic views. Loved hanging out at the dock (saw a HUUUGE turle there) and the beach during evening hours. Food was actually alright but gets repetitive after a while. Great value nevertheless especially considering snorkeling is included as part of the package. Extremely friendly staff who is helpful yet knows when to keep the distance. highly recommended.

PS: bring entertainment with you as there is literally nothing to do at night.

Room Tip: pick the rooms 1- 8 as its closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yue0717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I was a little worried about what we would find when we turned up as Celebes was so much less expensive than other places we had found nearby. I have nothing bad to say about the place though. We were picked up at the airport and taken in a shiney new minibus to our hotel, picked up in the morning to be taken to the jetty, totally stress free. The accommodation was very good, and food was good too, only thing to pay for as extra was some beers and soft drinks. Don't go and expect a 5* resort like the ones nearby, its not like that, but it is very good standard for the money you pay and friendly atmosphere.

I have my open water and was diving with a Dive Master who was very good, found loads of interesting things to show me and gave thorough informative briefs and debriefs. My boyfriend did his Open Water in the 4 days we were there and got very thorough instruction and tuition. Can't fault the divers and everything was really good.

Snorkelling 1 min away from our apartment we could see turtles nearly every day. The beach was kept clean and was lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank humphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, Essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

What an amazing experience! We went to Celebes to snorkel and dive and it was the highlight of our trip to Borneo. The staff were excellent and made us feel so welcome. I decided to do my open water and my boyfriend did his advanced. Beatrice was my tutor and she was excellent – very patient and kind. On our first fun dive I saw 6 turtles - it was such an incredible experience. My boyfriend completed his advanced which included a night dive. The instructors were all very knowledgeable and I had complete trust in them and their equipment.

The accommodation is very simple and yes it is a little tired but to be honest we didn’t spend much time in our room!
The communal area is great and the resort is kept very clean and tidy. There is a TV and free wifi in the restaurant area. The atmosphere is very friendly and we met some lovely people while eating dinner and drinking a few beers watching the stunning sunsets!
The food was fine – not overly memorable but quite tasty.
The highlight was the coral reef off the beach – you could see the turtles swimming up to the shore – incredible. I went on a few snorkeling trips as well which was just as amazing as diving
.
Overall you have to bare in mind this isn't a luxury holiday resort and yes it is a bit pricy, but this is a once in a life opportunity to see some amazing sea life and relax in a very friendly environment. I would definitely go back to Pom Pom!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsgowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Whilst the location is stunning, and the people who run this "resort" are friendly, and the 'vibe' is relaxed and cool...BUT the value you get for your money is truly shocking. For what is charged, one should expect more service, some degree of luxury, and much better facilities. Being an 'eco-resort' is no excuse to provide dirty and dilapidated bathrooms; to have to clear up your own dishes (or drop them in a slop bucket...more like a summer camp?). Food is a buffet (hit and miss quality), and the fish in the sea have nearly all been bombed by fisherman so diving is better in Sipidan or Mabul...So, pay the extra and go to Pom Pom Resort, where your money will get something in return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicnicHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Dive, eat, sleep. Dive, eat, sleep. Have everything taken care of and that's all you do during your entire stay. The island and dive sites nearby are insanely gorgeous. Go crazy jumping off the jetty and roll about on the sandy white beaches during your surface intervals (you'll have a hilarious bunch of dive guides to do that with). Good food and comfy beds at reasonable price, what more could we ask for?

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qinglai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stopped here to get my PADI whilst on a tour of Malaysia and Thailand - it was the best part of the trip. The staff were very friendly and the transport organised all the way from and to the airport.
As the boat approaches the island it's like travelling out of the real world and into paradise! Our scuba master was amazing, able to manage a group of different abilities and have them learning together in no time. Initially I found learning in the sea a little unnerving but it was a great way to get the most out of our time there. We saw the whole cast of "finding Nemo" and swam with giant turtles.
We left the island with a full logbook and many, many lovely memories.
If you don't want to dive its still the perfect place to relax and forget the stresses of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJWillia_ms45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.3 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
18.7 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
6.0 mi away
The Reef Dive Resort
The Reef Dive Resort
#1 of 1 in Mataking
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
18.9 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 22 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebes Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebes Beach Resort

Property: Celebes Beach Resort
Address: 1 Romantic Beach | Pom Pom Island, Semporna, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebes Beach Resort is a new secluded two stars resort located in the Celebes Sea. The resort is based on Pom Pom Island where the peaceful white sandy beaches seem endless and the waters are a perfect turquoise blue.Whether you are interested in an idyllic beach holiday or experiencing a new quality of diving. Celebes Beach Resort has it all. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing