We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad very cheap”
Review of Marina Hotel

Marina Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marina Hotel
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not bad very cheap”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Marina hotel is a cheap accommodation, nothing bad, nothing luxurious, the staff is nice and friendly. You'll spend a not exciting night waiting to go to Mabul (so I did). Anyway it worth it!
Semporna is not a very beautiful city and marina hotel fits perfectly in it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The deco is nice. The price is quite okay. Comfortable rooms. The single bed room's size is small and cute while the twin-bed room is quite spacious. Location-wise a bit farther from the seaside but hey, Semporna is a small town, you can walk all around by foot. Service was ok. There's a hot water machine at the foyer. It doesn't have a guest parking space but there are the public ones nearby. I think this one is quite ok and not so bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MunaZaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed for 4D3N from 12/10-15/10/2013.

I can only give points to its lobby deco. Modern and clean. But that's it.

1. Service was poor. Hardly 24 hours upon check-in, the staff demanded us to pay full amount of our 4 days stay. When i asked why, the staff replied - "boss's order". I mean hello? i've never come across any hotels that demand you to pay in full when you have yet to check out. I did not pay of course, i requested to see the boss but funny he wasn't in. I said i will pay once i see the boss. They said nothing further.

2. Air conditoner in the deluxe family room was not functioning well. Had to use extra table fan to cool off the room.

3. Staff have no clue what newspaper is. And they do not have any extra info on how to go about the town and airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl_FeFaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Semporna hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Absolutely not value for money given its room rate and the poor state of the hotel inspite it is about an year old. Rain water came into through the air conditioning unit, wetting the floor. Leaking shower ( hose connection ) ,miserable soap, shower and shampoo amenity - tiny and looks 3/4 filled, ugly red pail and scoop hindering use of bathroom, cups should be at the basin ,
basin's plug ( release by pushing it - unhygenic ), no lift for luggage nor personnel, rather steep and narrow step, stairway . Staff is generally friendly and sincere, but cannot make up to the foregoing deficiencies .

Room Tip: check the reviews of the hotel before booking , in my case was booked by a friend, who obviously di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuiAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Semporna hotels
0.0 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanderer's Inn
Wanderer's Inn
#1 of 6 in Semporna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.0 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 22 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Hotel

Property: Marina Hotel
Address: Lot E1-E5 Bandar Utama, Sabah, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing