We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Scuba Junkie Hotel & Diving
Nearby Hotels
Sipadan Inn(Semporna)
US$35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Seafest Hotel(Semporna)
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sipadan Inn 2(Semporna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
61
42
30
14
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
42
30
14
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscuba junkiemabul islandlocal communitymeal timeslike clockworkmeet other travellersrestaurant next doorsjdivinghosteltransferoperator
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We are just back from our 6 day stay in Semporna and Mabul. We stayed in the Hostel in Semporna and the Beach Resort in Mabul and we had a blast of a time. All rooms were excellent, nicely refurbished and very clean. The staff absolutly lovely especially in the dive school. Well managed trips and equipment which is up to scratch. We thought it is a absolut amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Dorms or private room, they all look lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katjathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I went to mabul island with SJ and stayed in mabul resort.the trip was well organised and I loved staying on the island!!!!The dive masters working for SJ were awesome.i was travelling on my own but didn't feel alone at all.after I returned to semporna I dined at sucba junkie,food was great and it is a good place to meet other divers!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silvi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Scuba Junkie is a slick operation - very well organized. We stayed at both the hostel in Semporna town and on Mabul island. Dived from both places. Sipidan was of course awesome. Diving around Mabul was good. We also enjoyed the day trip dives to Sibuan up north. More relaxed than at Mabul. Would've loved to have gone to Boheyan or Mantabuan. If you have time for a trip to the north, definitely do it! The staff were all very professional. The hostel was better than we expected based on other reviews. Had a fan room on Mabul. Really nice, although it does get hot, so if you can, go for aircon. It was shoulder season (Oct) but they were still full with lots of divers on the waiting list for Sipidans, so book as early as you can. We would love to go back, and would totally book with SJ again.

Room Tip: The room we got in SJ Hostel on the way back was especially good. Nudibranch room if I remember right. Clean, bright and everything worked well, although you do hear noise from the bar. (The bathroom facet was a little broken in the first room - clown fish room?)
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aiyun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just came back from Semporna, stayed at SJ Dive Lodge, no doubt the service provided by SJ is superb. We had a wonderful diving trip and special kudos to Instructors Michella, Ikha, Ted and Thisj, you guys are great and helpful.
The only setback was the driver who sent us to Tawau airport, he was speeding and overtaking car like F1 driver, I hope the management can look into this seriously before something bad happens.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallas_LCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I think there needs to be a clear point here somehow that they offer TWO types of accommodation- both in Semporna and on Mabul,and I think they should be rated individually.
The hotel in Semporna is fit for purpose, as somewhere to rest your head either before or after your dive trip. We had a double room with air con which was fine, and had a comfy bed so we slept well, it was fine. Their own restaurant next door did good food, but we also ate at a local restaurant maybe 3/4 shops down the road, which did amazing (seriously cheap) Indian-style food.
Great for those trying to offset the cost of Sipadan....

The accommodation on Mabul was lovely, nicer than I'd expected. They maintained their specific patch of the island well, but the shanty towns that greet you on arrival was still quite a shock. I agree with what others have said- divers are ploughing so so much money into this area- and clearly, most of it is going straight into the pockets of the (probably) Western owners and not filtering down to help this area and the locals.
Semporna is one of the grubbiest places I've ever been, which did shock me- couldn't some of the revenue created go towards helping them upgrade a little? I know it's more complicated than that, but it still seems terrible that we're all passing through spending fortunes that they don't appear to benefit at all...

We're vegetarians, and they were aware in advance we were coming and had staff who were too, so they made plenty of allowances for us which was really nice, we had plenty of choice for all our meals. The food was great and water, tea,a snack of some sort was generally always available.
If i'm honest- after all the hype, we both preferred diving Mabul. Sipadan was good, but we've had better experiences at the Yongala (sorry guys, although you're now voted top!) and I just think everyone's constant going on about how it'll blow our mind...it just seemed underwhelming after that. Plus the visibility was low most the time, which probably didn't help.
Great staff though, great food, and a good night's rest, would go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nikki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews