We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 10 days on mabul island with scuba junkie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Semporna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scuba Junkie Hotel & Diving
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“my 10 days on mabul island with scuba junkie”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I intended to just stay for 3 days diving around mabul but decided to extend my stay by a week because of the great dive sites, interesting dm/instructors (they are all nice and different in their own ways so you'll definitely find the perfect ones to guide/teach you) and awesome band nights (every wed night). It's a little expensive for solo travellers like me but if you have 2/3 people to share the bungalows then it's really good price for value.

What is special about this dive resort is they educate people about marine ecology (there are dms who are actually marine biologists) and I've learnt to dive without any wetsuit and be more environmentally aware of my surroundings while diving. 36 dives and 3 snorkles during my 10 days, most of them were really awesome. Mabul was great for a mix of big and small stuff while my 2 days of Sipadan were just awesome.

The only sad thing was 2 days before my departure, someone, probably a day trip tourist (some people just spend a day diving/snorkeling around mabul then back to semporna at night) took my bag of toileteries and nightie which costed a small fortune. But then again it's my fault for leaving the bag at public area as I knew everyone working/staying at the resort was trust worthy.

Great food at the resort by the way. I ate like 5 meals a day with drinks/snacks in between. But if you are new to malaysia remember to bring your own bottled mineral water as some tourists' stomach doesn't take the local distilled water very well.

I also dove with the Semporna group for a day at Mataking which was really really enjoyable, wish I had more time to stay at Semporna and dive for another week or so. Too bad happy times always come to an end.

Highly recommend instructors: Steve, Fred, deano, gav ; DM Ewan, Kat&Dave, Ted, Stu, Claudia etc etc they are all great people, buy them a beer as appreciation at the bar and hear their stories out at night, you'll learn a lot :)

Room Tip: The dorm is a great place to make friends but not as good if you are a natural mosquitor magnet like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piggydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    40
    30
    14
    22
See reviews for
5
59
53
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

If you are not going to dive then there is little point in visiting Semporan. We stayed for one night on our way to Mabul as we couldn't make the last boat out. This place is packed - the only room that was available for the one night when we made our reservation in Semporna was the ViP room - the most expensive . It was actually a good room but it smelled like sewerage. When I went to speak to the guy in reception about it he basically said we couldn't move as they were full. I am guessing they know about the smell as there were 3 air freshness in the room. But the smell is so bad they don't cover it.
It's a shame as the room was like a suite with a fridge, food prep area, and sofa, small enclosed balcony. But if you want to book then check they have fixed the odour issue first.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Quite basic yet comfy hotel in the middle of the town with easy access to shops, jetty, restaurants, atm, etc. Has a bar, neat wifi and pretty basic rooms. Staff is quite helpful, meals are good. May get uber crowded in high diving season.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kumak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at the semporna guest house on my way to mabul. The rooms are 'cleanish' with nice beds and nice hot showers. You get what you pay for. For a longer stay I would recommend to go to mabul as it is so much nicer and you get to go to sipidan.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Johananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed for ten days on Mabul to do my Rescue Diver course and, of course, to dive Sipadan! Delay in answering emails aside ( they have hundreds each day so that's understandable!) the arrangements and organisation was excellent, from being picked up at the airport to being returned there ten days later. Asking as you book far enough in advance, Scuba Junkie will guarantee you a day's diving on Sipadan as long as you do another two days diving at the other sites around Mabul. The key though is to book well in advance. The doing around Mabul is very good but nothing compares with Sipadan!!!!!
The resort is well maintained and the rooms clean. The food is good and changes each day. The highlight is the freshly baked bread!! Also Band Night on a Wednesday is not to be missed! The instructors and DM's are all friendly and I enjoyed my dives/ courses with them. I would definitely recommend Scuba Junkie and would advise staying on Mabul rather than in Semporna as not only is it nicer but you also get an extra dive when on Sipadan. Thanks to all at Scuba Junkie for an awesome stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psymon1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

I had a 4d/3n package in the resort in mabul, and this place is an excellent choice for divers- everything literally works like clockwork. The planning is meticulous, there is always a list on a board or a person telling you where you need to be and when, kit is put together, changes between dives, and cleaned at end of the day without you lifting a finger- v impressive!

The resort itself is nicer than I expected- lots of trees and flowers, well laid out, good little bit of beach. Food is ok, in an institutional kind of way, but always plenty of fruit at meals which is nice. I stayed in a dorm- good value if travelling alone, but even with 7 fans in the dorm it got really really hot- they really do need AC in the dorms.

Dive staff are mostly British, and very competent. I'd say the one downside is that because the place is so large/turnover of tourists so high, you pretty much get a different dive master every day, so not much opportunity to get to know your dm. Saying that, the staff were all friendly and helpful (although watch out for the occasional tongue lashing of the serious manager, ceris).

The diving was great! I particularly loved the diving round Mabul- paradise and awas sites were excellent. Sipadan itself was lovely, but if you are an experienced diver and know you've seen other pristine reefs, I'd say the extra cost for the day at sipadan isn't totally worth it. Don't get me wrong, it was lovely, but when all my dives costs 795 ringgit, and then the day at sipadan costs an additional approx 700 ringgit (ie just for getting there), scuba junkies are obviously making a killing on this.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma050982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I took my Open Water and Advanced certificate at Scuba Junkie, and were very satiesfied. The instructors are deeply professional and I felt safe all the way through. Many of them are English, and therefore language is not a barriere...
The hotel is an average hotel, but location perfect. But nothing beats the atmosphere at the hotel and you'll meet a lot of people here....

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterkjeldsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
267 reviews
18.8 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
400 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Inn Semporna
City Inn Semporna
#5 of 7 in Semporna
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
75 reviews
2.4 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#3 of 24 in Semporna
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Junkie Hotel & Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Junkie Hotel & Diving

Property: Scuba Junkie Hotel & Diving
Address: Lot 36 PO Box 458, Block B | Semporna Seafront, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Semporna
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Scuba Junkie Hotel And Diving
Scuba Junkie Hotel Diving
Scuba Junkie Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing