We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic, slightly expensive and very noisy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragon Inn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dragon Inn Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
112 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Very basic, slightly expensive and very noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Good:

*) This hotel stands just on the water! It's funny and interesting. You feel yourself in real nature when in the night you feel the punches of the waves at the pillars.
*) Good location - close to main diving companies.

Bad:

*) The prices too high for such quality hotel
*) If you by mistake pay more than necessary, they NEVER give you money back. It's rood, unacceptable.
*) The rooms are very dark and very basic
*) Very noisy inside the rooms! You hear every word and sigh inside neighbor rooms.
*) The restaurant is very expensive, and stuff there not enough polite, IMHO.
*) The breakfast, included in the price of the room, is poor.
*) Absolutely no internet.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    47
    21
    20
See reviews for
10
42
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We stayed here on 21/01/13 just for 1 night because this is short trip to Semporna. The place is nice but you can found some pollution in the sea water under your chalet. About the room, I was booked 4 room (Double Front Row RM120nett / Family Front Row RM150nett / Family Standard RM140 x 2rooms). If you look at the room price its totally not worth it because the rate quite expensive if you compared to others hotel/chalet but the enviroment very3 fantastic! The room just a basic facility but it was very nice! I love this chalet and I'll come back on March for honeymoon trip. Every chalet include with breakfast for 2 but the breakfast so funny because they just serve 1 set of toast + 2 hardboiled egg + Tea/Coffee per person so I think this is my worse breakfast that I had ever....!!! Hahahaha... At night I and my famliy having our dinner at Pearl City Seafood Restaurant inside chalet area. The price for seafood I think its quite expensive. Total cost for 11pax is RM600!!!! Eventhough the price so expensive but the taste of food and the service + the enviroment its so great!!!!

Room Tip: For couple its better to choose Double Front Row or VIP Villas. The best room for double front room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ariesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

We stayed several days in Semporna for snorkeling and diving. "Dragon Inn Resort" was our first try due to the late time. Our "Budget Room" is 80RM plus 50RM for the key's security deposit. It has a big room but VERY VERY POOR equipments. One worst part is the "bath area" (not a bathroom).

First, the shower water pressure is so weak like using faucet, and the water-heater lost almost all its buttoms and knobs. When bathing, you have to hold the pipe joint carefully 'cause it keeps dropping down. Next, you have to seriously consider using soap / shampoo or not because all the water flow to the ocean below you directly. That make me feel like becoming an accomplice of water polluter.
Second, there's a technique if you can't flush that old-yellowed toilet normally, just keep rocking the flush handle few more times. It sometimes works!
Third, the counter staffs are not quite friendly, don't waste time asking them for help. The only answer they kept responding my questions was "Sorry, the budget is like that".
Fourth, there're some gaps on the wall, you can see through the room quite easy from outside. The room is built on the water, it's no fun when a little shake could make the weak bed screaming. There're only 1 or 2 power plugs in my room shared with a retro 10" CRT TV.

The location is about 10 mins from center town. When we finished our dinner at night, it was really dark to walk back. The budget room is like a collection of old defective products, you may upgrade to some other room, but from the Quilty / Price view, I think it's total not worth a bit.

Room Tip: There are lot better choices in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Semporna hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The longhouse (dorm) has some of the dirtiest bedsheets I've ever seen. The price (25 MYR) is definitely not competitive: no towels, no lockers, no hot shower, no mosquito nets on windows (but of course loads of mosquitoes everywhere) termite dust over the mattresses, and beds that made your feel you're in a trench in the Vietnam war... Don't do it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virusotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

This floating resort looks really amazing and the rooms are very spacious and look fantastic, great view from your room and staff is really nice and helpful. outside your room you can have a nice walk and look around the shops while still being inside the resort.
However it has the downsides to it. I had few giant cockroaches and termites in my room, but this wasn't because they didn't clean the rooms properly, they clean your room everyday and change the sheets etc and they are doing really great job, it's because of the material used, to built the resort.
Also you can hear everything what people next door are doing,even if they have just a shower. I also found it not very quite during night as you can hear people coming back at late hours.
Overall it is a nice looking resort however i personally think it is more suitable for one or two nights only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel has a great location if you are in need for a place to sleep while waiting for transfer to Mabul or the other dive resorts. Arrival and check-in was smooth. The room was dark but clean and very simple. The TV did not work properly.

Breakfast consisted of two slices of bread and a pack of jam.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gkfld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

The Dragon Inn is a floating resort built just off the marina at Semporna. This is really handy for booking your island diving/snorkling trips. It is well constructed and has great novelty value (it is nice to see water through the fall boards). The room were good with plenty of space and a clean and comfortable double bed. We choose the double room with air con becuase they said they had no basic rooms left a claim I was very skeptical about becuase there was hardly any one else there. The breakfast was terrible soggy toast covered in condensed milk not my cup of tea. There was an incident where we tried to buy wifi on two occasions but the strips of paper with passwords did not work and funnily enough the only wifi passwords that worked were the 3 day or 5 day passes (I was getting sick and tired of being railroaded in more expensive options just because they think they can make more money off me). After this incident I decided to go without the internet for two days. There was another incident which was similar to this but I dont want to relay the details all I will say is I would still recommend staying here but just watch out for the attempts to upsell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerbeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Semporna
0.2 mi away
Seafest Hotel
Seafest Hotel
#1 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sipadan Inn 2
Sipadan Inn 2
#2 of 7 in Semporna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
Pom Pom Island Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in Pulau Sipadan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Scuba Tiger Semporna Holiday Resort
0.1 mi away
Best Bunk Beds
Best Bunk Beds
#2 of 19 in Semporna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.3 mi away
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
Arung Hayat Sea Adventures
#8 of 10 in Pulau Mabul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon Inn Resort

Property: Dragon Inn Resort
Address: P.O.Box 168 | Jalan Kastam, Semporna 91308, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Semporna District > Semporna
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Semporna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Semporna
Dragon Resort Semporna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing