We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Backroad Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Howler Monkey Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Cabuya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Backroad Fun”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Chances are if you’ve done all that needs to be done to make it out to Cabuya by the back roads you know you are not headed out to a sanitized version of Costa Rica or you would have booked a resort elsewhere at a few hundred dollars per night. Howler Monkey Hotel and Jim, your "Republican" (Irish) host, are laid-back, surrounded by flora, fauna and all of the critters indigenous to the area, love them or leave them.

I showed up unannounced when the hotel was officially closed for the season and Jim gave me a bungalow anyway, at a great rate. He cleaned it up quickly and gave me some fresh linen and all was well.

Cabuya is about seven kilometres from Montezuma so it’s quiet and shuts down early – enjoy your great night’s sleep. My highlight was gaining the trust of Roxanne, Jim’s adopted rescue dog, who hopped in the passenger seat of my car when I tried to leave (it was tempting, Jim!).

Put your dharma on, relax and enjoy an imperfect but wholly charming little property in the middle of nowhere but perched a mere 2 km away from CR’s very first protected area (Cabo Blanco).

Room Tip: The two bungalows closest to the ocean are the best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    35
    4
    7
    12
See reviews for
39
75
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The cabina was comfortable, if you are ok with assorted bugs. You are definitely in the jungle! The monkeys were fun to watch, but the beach isn't walkable or swim able. Jim was friendly, and gave good advise about places to eat, and things to see.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tdennis06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungry Horse, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed a week at the end of April and loved the simplicity of the hotel. This is the jungle and if you are looking for luxury this is not your place. My husband and I loved waking up to the sounds of the jungle, sunrise and of course the monkeys. We also enjoyed the owner Jim and his beautiful and friendly dog Roxanna. This is where you will experience the true Costa Rica. We stayed in the country another two weeks and while we had a great time, we could not help but miss Howler Monkey Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDHarris50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We recently spent two nights at this fabulous place looking to get up close and almost personal with all Costa Rica's nature has to offer. And yes, did we get what we where looking for! In spades! Jim, the owner, showed us around on the grounds and taught us everything there was to know about the trees, the fruits, the crabs, the lizards, the monkeys and endless more. We watched the sun set and rise over the pacific from our balcony and had the best fish dishes ever just around the corner from the hotel. With low tide we walked to the stunningly beautiful tiny cemetery island just 20 minutes from the hotel. Another great suggestion from the owner. Keep going Jim! You have something special to offer in that little hidden jungle paradise called the Howler Monkey Hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Our May 2013 stay was delightful. The setting is extraordinary, rooms are cooled by the ocean breeze (so a/c is completely unneeded), and the owner Jim is an affable bonus.

Don't stay here if you want luxury accommodations, but if you want a clean, comfortable, and charming place to stay a few feet from the ocean, this is a great choice.

Sarah Wiley

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sewiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dettingen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

If you are looking for a place away from noise and tourism and close to the jungle this is the right place for you! We spent 3 nights at the Howler Monkey Hotel and had an awesome time.The cabinas are simple, but provide everything you need. The bedroom has no moscito net, but with good insect Repellent it was no problem. Well working van. The view from our bedroom was amazing:: sunrise at the beach, just 50m away, monkeys in the trees right beside our cabina.
Jim, the owner, was super helpful and went out of his way to make our time special. The first morning he offered me a cup of Costa Rica coffee, which was the one thing missing to make it a perfect morning!! We got a free ride to the National Park and free use of snorchling gear and Kajak. Excellent Restaurant with fresh fish and 2 supermarkets within walking distance.You must try Jim's Howler monkey Cocktail - tastes great!
We would love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coffeemummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This place had some great reviews, so my husband booked it. I knew it wasn't going to work from the first moment I saw the room, but we stayed one night. There is no a/c or hot water, but a good fan in the bedroom. It was so hot that it took me hours to fall asleep. I turned on my flashlight sometime during the night and saw hundreds of tiny little ants on the mattress next to the one I was sleeping on. It is on a beach, but it is only swimmable at high tide. There is a pool, but the water was very cloudy. While this property may be wonderful for some, it's just not for me, especially at $70 per night! I do want to add that the owner was really very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beadshop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howlermonkeyhotel, Owner at The Howler Monkey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
I dont advertise A.C.or hot water in the cabinas, but since your complaint i have put in hot water.We are in the middle of the jungle so of course you will get a few ants now and again,wouldent a sterile jungle be very sad.You can swim at low tide if you walk out to the waves.The pool gets cloudy sometimes,with leafes,flowers,pollen,buds,insects falling in from the overhead trees.This person was from Texas and has A.C.in house,car and work,when you get used to A.C. you need it all the time,her husband loved the place.
Best Regards Jim O Callaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
0.4 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#7 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Tango Mar Beachfront Boutique Hotel & Villas
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howler Monkey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howler Monkey Hotel

Property: The Howler Monkey Hotel
Address: El Yugo, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howler Monkey Hotel is located in Cabuya, a few minutes from Montezuma. Each cabin is located around the refreshing pool, just a few metres from the beach. It is walking distance to Cabuya Island, a unique cemetary island. Cabuya has 2 grocery stores and a few restaurants within walking distance. We offer four cabinas with an ocean view, a private bathroom, a private kitchen, fans and nice outdoor dining patios with hammocks. Free wifi, laundry and parking are included. Guests can also use the hotel snorkel gear, kayaks, surfboards and bicycles. You can enjoy your day lounging in your hammock, around the pool or take a short walk through the plants and flowers on the hotel grounds to the beach and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Howler Monkey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Howler Monkey Hotel Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing