We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“5 stars of delicious, under a thatched roof” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soda marvin

Soda marvin
Ranked #3 of 7 Restaurants in Cabuya
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Latin, Seafood, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a local restaurant thst is attached to the owner's residence. It is mint green, across the street from super david mercado, with the coca cola sighs,
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 stars of delicious, under a thatched roof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is an excellent little restaurant. Marvin and his wife are excellent chefs and serve food that is wonderfully displayed and delicious! The portions are generous and thought/finesse is put into each meal! We love the fish fajitas, but everything is wonderful! I highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaelias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    8
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I try the vegetarian casado at every soda I eat at in Costa Rica. Soda Marvin's is by far the best I have had! Seriously. I have ordered it on two different occasions and it was wonderful both times. Others in my party have tried the chicken and fish casados (perfect, also) as well as some seafood dishes. Everyone agreed (both times I went) that it was absolutely wonderful food. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cziser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Soda Marvin- amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

As Americans moving to Cabuya, my husband and I have been trying to not eat at restaurants and eat at home instead. You can only do that for so long before you need someone else to make you a meal! :) On the recommendation of others we made it our lunch destination. We were NOT disappointed. The ambiance alone is stunning - beautiful locally made wood table under a beautiful native tree, excellent location for people watching and the open air kitchen makes for a Food Network viewing opportunity. But the food! The amount and fresh quality of food was far and above what we expected. As a vegetarian, finding food at any restaurant can be challenging anywhere but the Casado Vegetariano was the best vegetarian food I have found while traveling... hands down. Do not miss this place. We highly recommend you give Soda Marvin the chance to wow you too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arheasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great Vegan Meal after my long hike....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

The family took great care of me and made me a full beautiful Vegan meal. They had no problem with my request. I sat in the sweet outdoor seating area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeSikora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cabuya”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013 via mobile

This family run restaurant has the best food for the best value in town. The portions are big and the prices are not inflated for travelers. We visited several times during our stay and had various meals, Cascados, fruit smoothies, breakfast and their coffee is great!! Their daaighter taught us some spanish on our first night in town and the couple also gave us some fresh bananas from their backyard. Highly recommended if you are in the Cabuya area or if you're just driving by to go to Cabo Blanco.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLaughLiveTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Soda marvin also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda marvin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing