We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely good pizzas there, and a very nice garden which shows the love of the owners for the nature. takeaway possible”
Review of Cafe Coyote

Cafe Coyote
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Cabuya
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“extremely good pizzas there, and a very nice garden which shows the love of the owners for the nature. takeaway possible”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

free wi-fi, simply order a cocktail or a cold beer. relaxe during surfing, owners will not disturb you...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank albinotraveller r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pleasant Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pleasant little restaurant in Cabuya. Menu similar ro other restaurants, but the food was delicious. Quiet, and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BCALDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent find off the beaten path”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

staying at a nearby house in the area we were told by the owner to try Cafe Coyote. We had dinner at Jenny's place 2 times, both were excellent. pizza was amazing, chicken dish was very good and the sides (yuca fries, one of my favorites) delicious! smoothies and lemonade were all very good as well. Jenny is very nice as are her children and she LOVES to talk! It made the visit quite nice. glad to read that others have had a good an experience as we did. Worth the stop! love the way they set up the restaurant and she can get tours, car, almost anything you need set up for you. If you are going to the area I would totally try calling her first to see what she can do for you before you book elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilwaukeeMichele4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nederland, Colorado
1 review
“Highlight of my time in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Our group (one couple, one family of 3) was traveling from Montezuma to Mal Pais. We were hungry when we left Montezuma, but I suggested we find something in Cabuya, just to try something new. We choose the Cafe Coyote from the signs at the crossroads in Cabuya. They boasted sandwiches, which is exactly what my son had hoped for. We pulled into the driveway on a slow day, during an off time. There were no other patrons in the restaurant. Jenny greeted us and said we could sit anywhere we would like. The seating areas are a magical combination of comfortable outdoor living areas, and being completely surrounded in a well kept tropical garden. We choose to sit at the 'family' table under a big tree in the back. This was the most relaxing space I could have ever hoped for. After spending a few days in Central Montezuma, listing to the constant noise of people, dogs, ATV's, tour buses, motorcycles, etc, we sat down in the Cafe Coyote gardens and we instantly completely relaxed. We ordered fruit smoothies (which really are the best and cheapest in Costa Rica), the guys got beers, my son ordered a ham sandwich, my husband ordered fajitas, and the rest of us ordered the special 'catch of the day' fish dishes. We were each thrilled with our meals. Everything was delicious. The salad with the house dressing was amazing. The fish was perfectly cooked and the different sauces were perfect. At the end of the meal, Jenny came to our table and spent a lengthy time speaking with us. We talked about her family, how she met her husband, how her business is doing and her amazement that some many of her patrons have learned about her online, and she hasn't had to do anything to encourage that. She also brought us a taste of her house-made caramel, and then when asked, gave us the recipes for how to make all of our favorite parts of our meals. I can honestly say that none of us wanted to leave. My husband and I have decided that we will stay in their converted trailer next time we take a trip to this area. I couldn't have asked for more.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsyjespylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fabulous, Family Run Restaurant”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This restaurant may be hard to find because it' located on a dirt road in Cabuya as you travel from Montezuma on the Golfe de Nicoya side to Playa Sante Teresa on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. The food is homemade and absolutely delicious!!!!! But our favorite part of this "rest stop" was Jenny's fruit smoothies- especially the Watermellon ones! The last day we were there we stopped for lunch and mentioned that something smelled delicious. A few minutes later Jenny's daughter put a plateful of hot banana bread on the table in front of us-just because.Jenny's entire family was always helpful and friendly dishing out great conversation and advice on what to do in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Coyote also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Cafe Coyote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing