We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great start to our Costa Rican adventure!”
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Celaje
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great start to our Costa Rican adventure!”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We chose Hotel Celaje because of the bungalows and charm we saw in the photographs as well as the included breakfast which is a deal breaker for me when traveling! No one wants to try and find coffee in the morning when you haven't had your coffee in the morning.
We absolutely loved the couple who own the hotel they were very accommodating and helpful. The wife was very nice and helpful in finding us a transfer to Arenal (last minute!) this did prove difficult to do but she did not give up and made it happen for us. The one con about this place is the distance from Montezuma. It's about a $10 cab ride into town. I did like however that it was more quiet and peaceful then the other hotels in town however. We were visiting over New Years Eve and were happy we could return to a quiet place to go to sleep - Away from the noise from town.
This place is not fancy but that's what gives it it's charm. They have everything you need and the owners really care about this place and their visitors. The whole stay felt very genuine and I truly felt I had really gotten away from it all!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxie1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    41
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The host and Hostess from Belgium defaintly made this vacation exceptional. They were welcoming and very knowledgeable of all the local attractions and things to do in Costa Rica. The hotel was very relaxing and clean. For being such a small hotel all the rooms, restaraunts and facilities were very clean and crisp. The room was very comfortable and all in all very much enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegHK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2011

True gem on the southern coast of the Nicoya Peninsula. Like it's own oasis on the beach. Arrived after a crazy road trip from Samara on the coastal road, what a relief to nap in a quiet hammock! Easy to find on the road between Montezuma and Cabuya. Rooms are unique and private, a true experience in Costa Rica! Marco and Carole were excellent hosts, friendly and easy to be around. How wonderful to hear only the sound of the Pacific Ocean at night and to wake to in the morning. This is one peaceful place! Short ride to Montezuma for excitment and night life. Definitely a place not to be overlooked.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracymiller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hooversville, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in March. This was our first time in Costa Rica so we didn't know what to expect. We wanted to get away from the hectic lifestyle back home and just relax. We walked from the tip of Cabo Blanco all the way past Montezuma to Playa Grande and everywhere in between. There were a lot of very nice resorts and rental houses along the way but, Hotel Celaje was by far the nicest place we saw. The location is about 10 minutes from Montezuma and right on the edge of Cabuya. (few minute walk) It is a very quiet spot with a lot of very tall palm trees and other plants which completely surround the whole place giving it a very private and secluded feel. The cabins fit the surroundings perfectly and were cleaned every day. We didn't see any bugs or mosquitos, but saw many hermit crabs and small lizards near the beach. We decided one day to just sit by the pool. That was the most relaxing day of our trip. The pool was very clean and had more than enough lounge chairs for guests. It's nice having the restaurant right near the pool. We ate breakfast there every morning, lunch a few times, and dinner one night. Very, very good food. We needed a taxi into Montezuma one night. Marco, the manager, called one for us. After a while the taxi didn't show, so Marco came out to the road and flagged one down for us. He even made sure it would bring us back later. This was great since this was our first time here and we don't speak Spanish. Marco and his wife (who makes really good food) are very friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have a great time. This was the best vacation we ever had and we will be going back there soon. Thanks for everything and we'll see you again, Chris and Alena.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fix2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kemptville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We were delighted to spend some time at the Celaje recently and are happy to report the wonderful time and great food that we enjoyed by the pool. The Dutch couple that are now running the place are extremely hospitible and gracious and we couldn't be happier to have shared our holiday time at the Celaje. Very clean, great food and warm company equal a wonderful holiday.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kemptvillegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2011

I just got back from a magical vacation to costa rica and hotel celaje was largely responsible for that. It is situated perfectly between the active little town of montezuma and the quiet village of cabuya. It was a great destination to retire to at night, tucked away from the two towns, and it served as a great home base in the day time. The owners were really wonderful and they made us feel at home. We missed our flight down there and arrived in the middle of the night to have both of them waiting up for us. We were very thankful considering they are both up at 530am every morning to make the place look beautiful for the guests. The manager of the hotel, Marco, and his wife are also incredible people. I was there with my girlfriend and another couple and we changed our plans on a couple occasions to stick around Celaje and hang out with them by the pool. When we wanted to do anything else, they were very helpful. They booked our tour to Tortuga Island and our Canopy tour and were very helpful in arranging accommodations for us. The first two nights all of the cabins were booked and our friends could only book for the last six, however, Raghnilda found them a room closeby hotel and paid for it out of her pocket to ensure they could stay with us for the rest of the trip. That just does not happen very much.

As far as amenities, the bungalows were perfect for a couple. Beds were super comfy, we had no issues with bugs. Bathrooms were solid and we had a mini fridge for any groceries we picked up at the mercato down the road. The porch was a great place to hang out and the sound of the ocean is constantly there. We saw howler monkeys, spider monkeys, iguanas, little lizards and red squirrels on the property which was very cool. The pool is in excellent condition and all of the food we ate was wonderful. The free breakfast hit the spot and the limonada cocktail is one of the best I've ever had.

Other highlights were the general proximity to amazing things mentioned above. we saw humpback whales, tons of dolphins and went cliff diving at the Montezuma waterfall.

I rarely write reviews but this place was just so worthy and I have a difficult time trying to figure out what kind of people could possibly not enjoy their stay there.

PS Whoever picked on the little dog in their review is a sad sad person. Maybe if you asked why it was shy the owner would tell you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed here for six days at the end of April into May and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the last bungalow towards the owner's house and it was quiet, private and had a stunning view of the ocean. Ragnhilda and André made us feel welcome and went out of their way to do nice things for us and our two children (ages 2 and 4). At breakfast everyday, Andre placed the wooden high chair at our table for our son and put a chair up on cinder blocks so our four-year-old daughter could be in a big girl
chair. There were only a few other couples staying there for just a day or two at a time and as we were there a whole week we had lots of nice chats over afternoon coffee with Raghnilda and André. In fact, by our third day they realized we ordered coffee at about the same time everyday and had it ready and waiting for us on the bar. Previous posts about them being unfriendly should be taken with a grain of salt. Ragnhilda and André are quiet and reserved Belgians. They're not loud and boisterous B&B owners
who go from table to table "working" the restaurant greeting guests, rather they sit peacefully at a table near their office and are ready to answer any questions or serve you at any moment. They gave us all sorts of information about bird and wildlife we'd spotted and were generally very enjoyable to chat with. We speak four languages in our home and with Ragnhilda's help have added a few words of Flemish to our vocabulary that we continue to use to this day! The pool area and restaurant are immaculate and Ragnhilda and André are constantly wiping something down, sweeping or straightening chairs. The pool was clean and gorgeous. Although we did not eat lunch or dinner here, the breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Since we were traveling on a tight budget, we bought groceries at the terrific supermarket just down the road a kilometer or two and ate at the outside table and chairs on our terrace overlooking the beach and
the Pacific. We saw more wildlife right outside our room than anywhere else in Costa Rica, including howlers, squirrels, crested jays, green iguanas, tree frogs, scorpions (two in our room), toads, hermit crabs and loads of birds I couldn't identify. One word of warning to travelers unaccustomed to the Nicoya Peninsula: This is a very "bug-y" area and the tree frogs are unbelievably loud at night. Plus it's extremely hot every day and all night. The bungalow fan cooled our room just fine and the mosquito net kept bugs off of us perfectly. There is just one net in the room but three beds so if you're going to be using all the beds you'll want to bring your own net and figure out how to rig it from the high ceiling. As we cosleep with our children, this wasn't an issue and all four of us were bug free all night under the one net. The bathroom is downstairs but if you don't have a little one occasionally requiring the loo in the night you'll have nothing to worry about. The hotel is currently for sale as it is their plan to return to Belgium after owning
Hotel Celaje for nearly a decade. This is a terrific hotel and Cabuya is our favorite place in the area. It resembles the untouristed Costa Rica of a decade ago much more than Montezuma does nowadays with small hotels everywhere. It will really be a loss to Cabuya to have Hotel Celaje change hands as I think its very much the kind of off-the-beaten-path beach hotel people are looking for on the Nicoya. Stay there now before Ragnhilda and André leave!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlapierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 18 in Montezuma
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Property: Hotel Celaje
Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing