We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true get-away - brilliant!”
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Celaje
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A true get-away - brilliant!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The setting for this hotel is amazing; the food was always exceptionally good - very fresh, lots of choices and served attentively and have to say, quite perfect. The smoked fish is something never to be forgotten, so delicious! Carola and Marco run this place so well and are terrific people - always helpful and well-organized. The cabins are very clean, well-appointed and charming. Sitting on the porch swing in front of the cabin, monkeys wandered by, many birds could be seen and the sound of the waves along with birdsong and light breezes through a great variety of trees and vegetation made the whole experience very memorable. There are plenty of trips to take, great walks, a lovely lagoon for swimming, as well as a great swimming pool. The grounds, hosts, accommodations and food make this a must-stay place for many other reasons too.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the ocean, it has more privacy and lots of lush vegetation around
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    41
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Spent nine days in a cabin by the sea lulled to sleep by the crashing waves. Went here for our honeymoon off the beaten path for a change. The cabins are comfortable and clean equipped with a small fridge and safe. The hammock out front swaying in the ocean breeze under the shade of the cabin roof was amazing and had to pry the sleeping wife out of there more than once.
The grounds are tastefully landscaped and kept tidy. The pool is cool and inviting. Karolla and Marco are great hosts offering gracious assistance at any time. Food is delicious. Marco is an experienced outdoorsman and offers trips and tours through out the area. We went with him to Curu park on a hike to a secluded beach, fantastic. Other towns are not far away by cab or bus. We did a few day trips to Playa Carmen and Montezuma and after a full day couldn't wait to get away from the hustle and bustle and get back to our little oasis at Celaje. We already miss it and Kardoes the dog.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjackcrevalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bs as
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Clean and beautiful place, excellent swimming pool and lounge, views of the sea, nicely decorated and the managers Carola and Marco are really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank javier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Most of the Nicoya peninsula is taken up by mega tourist resorts at mega prices, but if you want a small owner operated and lovely and relaxing time go to Hotel Celaje in Cabuya. The owners, Marco and Carola operate this property which sports an ocean front location; tidy and spacious a-frame accommodations with both an upstairs for sleeping and a downstairs and patio for doing your thing. The price includes a hearty Buffett style breakfast and the best coffee I had on our trip. The other thing that I really loved was Carola's menu and cooking. She is a master at making flavourfull sauces that really complement the fresh seafood, beef tenderloin, chicken dishes and pastas. I really can't say enough good things about the food so you will have to try it yourself.

Many of the ex-pat locals and snow birds come to the hotel to spend the day by the pool so you are certain to meet a wide variety of people from all over the world as well as the local 'characters' or even get involved in an impromptu jam session.

Tours and trips are arranged efficiently and the area is completely safe so a night stroll on the beach is no problem.

Do yourself a favor and skip the high priced high intensity mega resorts and go to Celaje instead. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wyldbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I just spent 2 weeks at this great place. We had our own 2 story cabin with our own patio complete with hammock and table. Since my wife and I had a working vacation we needed a place that was quiet and relaxed where we could work but still be pool side or take a dip in the ocean, Hotel Celaje was the perfect place!!!

With your own fridge and the town of Cabuya close by we could by a few things on hand to have our own meals if we wished, which was a great added benefit. And since you feel like you have your own spacious "house" it is so easy to settle in and make it home! Well, a home where you have a housekeeper every day, and can eat some great meals at the restaurant. I Marco and Carola were great hosts and we really got to know them over the time we were there. They acted like we were house guests not hotel guests and we really appreciated that!!

Please check this place out if you are in the area!!

David

Room Tip: Room #1 was closest to the wireless router so if you want to work from you room like we did, get thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpvagabond85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murwillumbah, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and would like to have stayed longer. Marco and Carola did not treat us like hotel guests but like house guests. Nothing was to much trouble for them. the location is ideal and the pool very clean. If you are thinking about staying don't squeeze your time here take extra time to really enjoy their hospitality. You'll entertained also by the cute jack russell dog playing with his ball in the pool. We saw plenty of wildlife without leaving the property. White faced monkeys, iguanas, squirrel and many birds. Hopefully we will make it back again one day.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlothLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

My family and I had the opportunity to stay at Hotel Celaje for 3 nights in December. What a wonderful hotel. From the large clean rooms, the fantastic meals that Carola had cooked for breakfast and dinner, to the amazing location (some of the best tide pooling was a short walk down the beach), Marco & Carola (the owners) had created such a wonderful hotel. Marco & Carola had made sure that our stay at the hotel was wonderful and if we ever had a problem they were prompt in resolving any issues. In addition, they had gone out of there way to make our stay in Cabuya was amazing. After visiting Montezuma and Malpais for day trips, it was so wonderful to return back to Hotel Celaje. If you are looking for an amazing small hotel that creates a very laid back and relaxing atmosphere this is place to stay. We look forward to staying at this hotel when we return back to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Select a room not near the road. At night there are sometimes loud vehicles that come down the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlichtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 18 in Montezuma
404 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 18 in Montezuma
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 18 in Montezuma
85 reviews
3.5 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Property: Hotel Celaje
Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing