We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!”
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Celaje
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Reviewed 9 July 2012

An absolute gem! We live in Santa Teresa, a town about 45 minutes from Cabuya and Hotel Celaje. Our plan was to surf in Cabuya, eat dinner, stay overnight, and surf again in the morning. I had seen Celaje from the road on other occasions, but this was the first time I had been inside the property.

Wow! Super cool A-frames with a gorgeous pool! Rustic, but clean, comfortable, groovy even. We stayed in #5 and our friends in #3. Both had nice hammocks out front, a nice swinging hammock-chair, a table, and two chairs. Sweet! The gardens were established and thriving due to the recent rains. I loved the little walking trails to the beach, the ready to be lit campfire, and the numerous hammocks.

So the story gets interesting (and this is where I give Celaje a big 5 stars) when we were surfing at sunset. My friend got a surfboard to the face - OUCH - and when we got back home, the owner of Celaje graciously let us patch her back up using their medical kit. We apologized for using her butterfly bandages, half her antiseptic, and medical tape. We were soooo thankful because there was no where we could have bought these supplies without having to make a trip to Montezuma. So thank you, thank you. Really means a lot.

Another reason to give Celaje a big 5 stars is that the owner knew we were surfing in the morning and allowed us to eat breakfast later than she usually serves it. We came in starving and we devoured her fresh fruit, granola, gallo pinto, eggs, banana pancakes, and coffee. After we got our belongings out our rooms for check-out, she encouraged us to hang out a little longer and chill by the pool. She told us they had been there for 1.5 years and were really making the effort to make people feel comfortable. So true, she was very down to earth and accommodating.

If I had to give one negative, it is that our toilet didn't flush with a wooooooosh, but neither does mine at home, so it really was no big deal.

Thank you, Celaje, for a wonderful getaway! I can't wait to come back and bring more friends.

Room Tip: The fan in room #5 was super strong and I slept really well because of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostaRicaSurfAndSUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful property on the beach.Off the beaten path and so relaxing and just quiet enough. A great pool where we met several travellers who just dropped in for a drink and a swim. Carola and Marco are great laid-back hosts and we can't forget Kardoes their family dog who never tires of chasing the ball. A short walk into Cabuya and a short bus ride into Montezuma.
I suggest travellers use US$ instead of the local colones.
All in all, a great vacation in a rustic yet modern setting. Excellent wi-fi!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sutherlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The setting for this hotel is amazing; the food was always exceptionally good - very fresh, lots of choices and served attentively and have to say, quite perfect. The smoked fish is something never to be forgotten, so delicious! Carola and Marco run this place so well and are terrific people - always helpful and well-organized. The cabins are very clean, well-appointed and charming. Sitting on the porch swing in front of the cabin, monkeys wandered by, many birds could be seen and the sound of the waves along with birdsong and light breezes through a great variety of trees and vegetation made the whole experience very memorable. There are plenty of trips to take, great walks, a lovely lagoon for swimming, as well as a great swimming pool. The grounds, hosts, accommodations and food make this a must-stay place for many other reasons too.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin closest to the ocean, it has more privacy and lots of lush vegetation around
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roseanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Spent nine days in a cabin by the sea lulled to sleep by the crashing waves. Went here for our honeymoon off the beaten path for a change. The cabins are comfortable and clean equipped with a small fridge and safe. The hammock out front swaying in the ocean breeze under the shade of the cabin roof was amazing and had to pry the sleeping wife out of there more than once.
The grounds are tastefully landscaped and kept tidy. The pool is cool and inviting. Karolla and Marco are great hosts offering gracious assistance at any time. Food is delicious. Marco is an experienced outdoorsman and offers trips and tours through out the area. We went with him to Curu park on a hike to a secluded beach, fantastic. Other towns are not far away by cab or bus. We did a few day trips to Playa Carmen and Montezuma and after a full day couldn't wait to get away from the hustle and bustle and get back to our little oasis at Celaje. We already miss it and Kardoes the dog.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bigjackcrevalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Clean and beautiful place, excellent swimming pool and lounge, views of the sea, nicely decorated and the managers Carola and Marco are really kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javier h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Most of the Nicoya peninsula is taken up by mega tourist resorts at mega prices, but if you want a small owner operated and lovely and relaxing time go to Hotel Celaje in Cabuya. The owners, Marco and Carola operate this property which sports an ocean front location; tidy and spacious a-frame accommodations with both an upstairs for sleeping and a downstairs and patio for doing your thing. The price includes a hearty Buffett style breakfast and the best coffee I had on our trip. The other thing that I really loved was Carola's menu and cooking. She is a master at making flavourfull sauces that really complement the fresh seafood, beef tenderloin, chicken dishes and pastas. I really can't say enough good things about the food so you will have to try it yourself.

Many of the ex-pat locals and snow birds come to the hotel to spend the day by the pool so you are certain to meet a wide variety of people from all over the world as well as the local 'characters' or even get involved in an impromptu jam session.

Tours and trips are arranged efficiently and the area is completely safe so a night stroll on the beach is no problem.

Do yourself a favor and skip the high priced high intensity mega resorts and go to Celaje instead. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I just spent 2 weeks at this great place. We had our own 2 story cabin with our own patio complete with hammock and table. Since my wife and I had a working vacation we needed a place that was quiet and relaxed where we could work but still be pool side or take a dip in the ocean, Hotel Celaje was the perfect place!!!

With your own fridge and the town of Cabuya close by we could by a few things on hand to have our own meals if we wished, which was a great added benefit. And since you feel like you have your own spacious "house" it is so easy to settle in and make it home! Well, a home where you have a housekeeper every day, and can eat some great meals at the restaurant. I Marco and Carola were great hosts and we really got to know them over the time we were there. They acted like we were house guests not hotel guests and we really appreciated that!!

Please check this place out if you are in the area!!

David

Room Tip: Room #1 was closest to the wireless router so if you want to work from you room like we did, get thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpvagabond85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#5 of 18 in Montezuma
345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 18 in Montezuma
84 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 18 in Montezuma
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range: £48 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing