We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a nice relaxing place to stay”
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Celaje
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Manhattan, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really a nice relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hotel Celaje for 3 nights last month and enjoyed the stay. The grounds were nice and in a forested area immediately adjacent to a rocky beach. The pool was very clean and refreshing, especially for those private late night dips. The cabana was clean, and a bit rustic in a good way with all the tropical hardwoods used in its construction. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was small but quite clean and functional, and it was fun to sit on the front patio in the morning and see the birds and the small family of howler monkeys that came through each morning.

The breakfast buffet (included) in the morning was quite good and satisfactory, but I can't comment on other meals there as we ate out during the days. The second evening we had some food that needed refrigerated and the small refrigerator in the cabana wouldn't work, so we told the staff and the proprietor Marco came by and attempted a fix with no success, then promptly got another unit for us that worked perfectly for the task. The only con for the place was that the road is close to most of the cabanas and it seemed there was quite a bit of traffic noise for an hour or so each evening...but then again, you have to keep in mind that the hotel is located in a very rural area and the road is gravel, so there really isn't that much traffic. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this place again. I enjoyed it!

Room Tip: If I had a choice, I would get one of the cabanas farthest away from the office/restaurant, as the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_V_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    41
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
80
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the beautiful Celaje for two wonderfull nights of our hoilday. Our cabin was great with everything we needed . I really enjoyed my hours on the hammock reading. We saw monkeys in the trees right outside our cabin. The pool was great with loungers to relax in and had a safe shallow end for kids. The gardens are fantastic with a little pathway through the palm trees to the secluded beach . Marco the host couldn't have done more to accommodate us both. He organised a trip of a lifetime for myself and my girlfriend to go out dolphin watching . Went out on a great local boat with Marco and two local fishermen. He put on a spread of food and drinks for us all too. We had dolphins jumping up next to us on our unforgettable day out . On the way back I caught my first ever fish, a Dorado which we all had cooked to perfection that night in the lovely restaurant. I would highly recommend this beautiful place . Many thanks to Marco and his great team of staff at the Celaje.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is really nice, especially if you're looking for a more quiet place than Montezuma. The cabins are lovely, just like the rest of the property. Only disadvantage is the beach, entering the water is kind of a challenge because of the rocks. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our week in hotel celaje.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichelleRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandreamer, Owner at Hotel Celaje, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks for staying at this special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had the price been 30-40$ a night this would have been a great place. At 100$ a night you can and should expect more..

The place is understaffed, the lodges are dirty and should have been renovated years ago. We didn't use the bedside lamps as they have burn marks - pretty obvious fire hazard.

The bathroom is tiny, dirty and very basic.

The restaurant is underwhelming and slightly morbid with lots of human skulls around. Food is bland and boring. Apart from the basic breakfast, we only had the "deluxe" tapas menu that featured some wet slices of boiled hams, a few cuts of cheese and a bowl of what seemed like a bag of dried fruits and nuts.

You get far better value for you money in any of the other offerings in either Montezuma or elsewhere.

Room Tip: head back to Montezuma and have much better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gilrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zomergem, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Celaje with a group of friends. and wished we could have stayed a few extra days.
Our stay was the end of a motorcycle trip thru beautiful Costa Rica. The place is situated at a very idyllic location. The pool was marvellous, large, warm & clean. Marco's hospitality was great and the dog of the house is an attraction.
We occupied all 7 bungalows which made us have the whole place for ourselves.

The bungalows fit perfect in the environment and are really cosy.
Only minor point is that the bathrooms could use a facelift.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandreamer, Owner at Hotel Celaje, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thanks,

We loved to have you here.
THe lobsterdinner was something to remember.
You all were friendly and special guests.
Hope to see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The sort of place that is too good to share - but I had to. 7 simple A-frame, well equipped and comfortable lodges set in a mini nature reserve with a restaurant, pool and secluded beach. The hotel is run by a Dutch couple who are very sociable, efficient and of course speak better english than most british. The animation team consists of the two canine pets Lucky and Kardoes (after whom the restaurant is named). Food is excellent, not complicated and includes a few Dutch specialities. You can walk along the beach to the strung out village (excellent bakery/cafe) or to the river for a swim or even swim from the beach. It's a good hike/short bus trip to Costa Rica's first nature reserve with it's monkeys, butterflies and birds. Lots of low key things to do - or just hang out by the pool, entertain the dogs and watch the wildlife. You could even join the Yoga
group that meets at the hotel. Bliss.....

Room Tip: There all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charles870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were staying in Montezuma and stopped at Celaje for lunch. We found the female owner who was working the restaurant to be *so friendly* so I'm baffled at the people who described the owners as cold and aloof. She made us a wonderful lunch, and invited us to have a swim in the pool, she said it was the slow season in Costa Rica (late November/Early December) so she was glad to have some extra people around. We enjoyed lunch and a swim in the pool, she had the cutest little dog who we played ball with. We enjoyed our time there so much we came back the next day for dessert, drinks and another swim. The place seemed so laid back, relaxed and friendly. I'd love to go back and stay there someday!

Again: I did not stay at the hotel, just used the pool, and had lunch/drinks/dessert. But our experience of that was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sir-hilary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 18 in Montezuma
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#2 of 18 in Montezuma
414 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 18 in Montezuma
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.5 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 18 in Montezuma
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Property: Hotel Celaje
Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing