We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Celaje is the best place in Cabuya!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Celaje

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Celaje
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabuya
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hotel Celaje is the best place in Cabuya!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed here for six days at the end of April into May and absolutely loved it. We stayed in the last bungalow towards the owner's house and it was quiet, private and had a stunning view of the ocean. Ragnhilda and André made us feel welcome and went out of their way to do nice things for us and our two children (ages 2 and 4). At breakfast everyday, Andre placed the wooden high chair at our table for our son and put a chair up on cinder blocks so our four-year-old daughter could be in a big girl
chair. There were only a few other couples staying there for just a day or two at a time and as we were there a whole week we had lots of nice chats over afternoon coffee with Raghnilda and André. In fact, by our third day they realized we ordered coffee at about the same time everyday and had it ready and waiting for us on the bar. Previous posts about them being unfriendly should be taken with a grain of salt. Ragnhilda and André are quiet and reserved Belgians. They're not loud and boisterous B&B owners
who go from table to table "working" the restaurant greeting guests, rather they sit peacefully at a table near their office and are ready to answer any questions or serve you at any moment. They gave us all sorts of information about bird and wildlife we'd spotted and were generally very enjoyable to chat with. We speak four languages in our home and with Ragnhilda's help have added a few words of Flemish to our vocabulary that we continue to use to this day! The pool area and restaurant are immaculate and Ragnhilda and André are constantly wiping something down, sweeping or straightening chairs. The pool was clean and gorgeous. Although we did not eat lunch or dinner here, the breakfasts were fresh and tasty. Since we were traveling on a tight budget, we bought groceries at the terrific supermarket just down the road a kilometer or two and ate at the outside table and chairs on our terrace overlooking the beach and
the Pacific. We saw more wildlife right outside our room than anywhere else in Costa Rica, including howlers, squirrels, crested jays, green iguanas, tree frogs, scorpions (two in our room), toads, hermit crabs and loads of birds I couldn't identify. One word of warning to travelers unaccustomed to the Nicoya Peninsula: This is a very "bug-y" area and the tree frogs are unbelievably loud at night. Plus it's extremely hot every day and all night. The bungalow fan cooled our room just fine and the mosquito net kept bugs off of us perfectly. There is just one net in the room but three beds so if you're going to be using all the beds you'll want to bring your own net and figure out how to rig it from the high ceiling. As we cosleep with our children, this wasn't an issue and all four of us were bug free all night under the one net. The bathroom is downstairs but if you don't have a little one occasionally requiring the loo in the night you'll have nothing to worry about. The hotel is currently for sale as it is their plan to return to Belgium after owning
Hotel Celaje for nearly a decade. This is a terrific hotel and Cabuya is our favorite place in the area. It resembles the untouristed Costa Rica of a decade ago much more than Montezuma does nowadays with small hotels everywhere. It will really be a loss to Cabuya to have Hotel Celaje change hands as I think its very much the kind of off-the-beaten-path beach hotel people are looking for on the Nicoya. Stay there now before Ragnhilda and André leave!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlapierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    40
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
36
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dendermonde, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

Hotel Celaye is I think the most beautiful hotel around the area of Montezuma. The staff is very friendly. The food outstanding and the cabins romantic. It is my second time that I spend there. I now a litle bit Montezuma and for me it is the best hotel in the area.
I can advise it for everyone, people how are not agree with me do no nothing about traveling.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcvandamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

After a comprehensive trip around Costa Rica..the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica was Hotel Celaje....beachfront bungalows in a serene tropical setting on an unspolied beach...The cabins are within feet of the ocean and a sparkling swimming pool! We enjoyed just relaxing in the restaurant/bar area and were pleasantly surprised to have delicious European cuisine! The hosts were gracious and helpful and we look forward to returning to this quaint hotel and beautiful area! Robert and Mary Lowe

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripcodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

We spent our honeymoon in hotel Celaje in Cabuya.
This little cozy hotel has everything tu ensure privacy in the middle
of nature and directly on a unspoiled beach.
The bungalows are spread over a tropical garden and kept extremely
clean.Hotel Celaje has a bar, a restaurant, a tropical swimmingpool
and the owners are all the time available.
We loved the quietness, back to nature and the fact that you have all
the privacy you need.
The little village Cabuya is only a walking distance away for local enjoyment.
Not one minute we regret to have spent our honeymoon in this hotel and
we certainly are coming back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvgeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magriet
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

we stayed 6 nights and we have a fantastic time.
hotel Celaje is a nice and quite place to stay, with a beautiful swimming pool and garden, the two store bungalows are very nice and clean.
the food is excellent.
the owners (Raghnilda and André) and the staff were extremely friendly and willing to assist with any of our needs.
we hope to return ant to stay more days.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magriet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

Hotel Celaje is a nice, quite place to stay in Cabuya. The cabinas are very clean and the grounds are nicely maintained. It's right on the ocean, but the beach is rocky, so it's best to drive towards Montezuma if you're looking for a nice beach.
Hotel Celaje's downfall is it's owners. They are not friendly and if you ask them for anything - a drink from the bar, to put something in the safe, the wi-fi password, you feel like you've inconvenienced them in some way. The wi-fi signal didn't reach to our cabina, so you have sit in the restaurant or by the pool to use it and the owners may turn it off at night. Also, if you've rented a car, the parking area is a very tight squeeze if there are more than 3-4 cars.
The breakfast is included with the room is just coffee, toast, eggs, and fruit.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deilig17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

This is a nice quiet little hotel on the beach, where the owners make you really welcome and are willing to arrange any trip but never interfere with your enjoyment but are always on hand with helpful information.
Big two-store bungalows are kept very clean and we would recommend it unreservedly to anyone, young or old.
The food is excellent, we'd go back any time.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axlandmelinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabuya
2.2 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 20 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#3 of 20 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#14 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Los Mangos
Hotel Los Mangos
#12 of 20 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.2 mi away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 20 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Celaje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Celaje

Property: Hotel Celaje
Address: | Peninsula de Nicoya, Cabuya, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma > Cabuya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cabuya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Celaje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celaje Hotel Cabuya
Hotel Celaje Costa Rica/Cabuya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing