We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay & relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome place to stay & relax”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and had an awesome time. This place has 12 glass jungle villas, some with ocean views, and others with jungle views. We stayed in Villa 5 which has the best views. The infinity pool was a nice place to relax and take in the views, while sipping on something cold from the bar. The food was delicious, especially for dinner. There isn't really a menu for dinner, but this is where the chef's creativity really shines. He prepares something different every night, but can also prepare you pretty much anything if you don't like surprises, The staff was amazing, and catered to our every need, especially Marco an awesome person who will take care of you with whatever you ask. Overall I highly recommend this place and I'm pretty sure you will not be disappointed. P.S. Go checkout the sunset on Uvita beach, you will be glad you went. Trust me!

Room Tip: Villa #5 Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureMadness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    78
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
28
497
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

we loved everything about this boutique hotel...from the 4x4 only dirt road up to the hotel to the toucans flying through the trees to the beautiful infinity pool to the private glass villas to the excellent food and extremely friendly and helpful staff. it is quiet and relaxing. true peace and pura vida.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cap220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Oxygen JUngle Villa is an amazing place to stay. We enjoyed ourselves from the second we checked in to the the moment we left!
When we arrived we were greeted by Marco who brought us a mixed fruit drink that was amazing after our long trip to Costa Rica. While waiting for our drink and room to be ready we were given towels to wipe down our faces and hands. The view is beautiful so we sat and took that in for a little before being escorted to our rooms. We stayed in Villa #5 which had a view of the water. The room was very clean and had everything we needed, including coffee :o)
After we cleaned up a little bit we got ready for our first dinner at Oxygen. We had dinner, it was delicious and Marco recommended a really great white wine to compliment our meal.
That night we slept with our doors open to experience the jungle. It was great. We were awakened that morning to the sound of Howler monkeys... what a great experience. The following day we were switched to Villa #10, a jungle view, which was just as great. We didn't miss the ocean for a second.

Every morning we had breakfast at Oxygen. It was great food with BIG portions. We never started our day hungry!

Oxygen had different options for our different daily activities. They would happily set up anything for you.

When we arrived back to the hotel from our long day of adventuring, we were greeted with a smile as we jumped in the pool to watch the sunset. The bartender, I can't remember his name, always had a new drink for us to try. It was great!

Every person we came across at Oxygen was kind and friendly.

My husband is not a beachy, hot weather top of guy and he LOVED Costa Rica and Oxygen.
Although our days were relatively hot because it's the dry season, the nights were rather cool and comfortable.
Thing to remember:

~If you are renting a car, you HAVE TO get a 4x4.. it is a long bumpy, dusty road to get to the top of the hill where Oxygen is... well i guess it's a long, bumpy dusty road to get anywhere in Costa Rica! (we loved having a car so we had the freedom throughout the day to do whatever we wanted)
~Also if you are driving there, it is hard to find the road because roads are not marked there. The turn is right by Banco Costa Rica and the BM (grocery store) and I think a chicken place called Gallo?
~you have to get at Trits ice cream.
~the waterfall on the way up the road was a cheap relaxing way to start off our trip. The Burritos are so delicious and the beer was cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We loved this place. We were here on our honeymoon and stayed for a week in a villa on the beach and the last half our trip here at Oxygen Jungle. What an amazing view! The infinity pool was one of my favorite things about the location. I loved our room as well. It was a little hard to see at night, but we made do. The food was delicious! I am a picky eater, but the suprise dinner each night was great and worth it every night. The staff was very attentive and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savery_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We loved this place. The views from the pool, dining area and villas are amazing. The infinity pool is beautiful with a view of the jungle and the ocean. The pool area is so relaxing and peaceful. There are only 12 glass villas, so the service is wonderful. The chef will pretty much prepare what you want, the seafood is so fresh (caught that day), and Marco was an awesome mixologist.

Room Tip: We had Villa #6, but all of the rooms have a view of the jungle and the oxygen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBlaze6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed for four nights at this charming small hotel, only twelve glass villas. The view from our room was delightful, with lots of birds, butterflies and colorful flora. The staff were very sweet and friendly, and it really has a lovely atmosphere. A feel good hotel. Relaxing. The food was at most OK, often not exactly how it was described on the menu. The nearby waterfall is cool and an enjoyable way to spend a few hours. The Nauyaca Waterfalls was one of the highlights of this whole trip in Costa Rica. It is 30 minutes from the hotel. Well worth a visit.
The only complaint was being fixed up with a disappointing boat trip around Ballena National Park. The cost was way too high at $750. The snorkeling there was pathetic. We saw turtles and dolphins from the boat and it was pretty, but certainly not worth more that $300 maximum.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view, but actually walking around the property, I wouldn't have minded a jungle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, nc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed at Oxygen for all 5 nights of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. Glass villas, a Pacific view, infinity pool, delicious food, top-notch service...what more could you want? We found the location to be perfect for excursions and the Oxygen staff set all of them up with terrific outfitters and instructed us where and when to arrive - surf lessons, canopy zip line, snorkeling, fancy dinners. The drive from San Jose is a beautiful, easy drive of about 3.5 hours. The directions we received were a little lacking as Oxygen, the "famous" waterfall and the road they referenced are all unmarked from the Coastal Highway. The staff was great and was a huge help when our rental car died. We highly recommend an upscale dinner at Citrus in Ojochal and Roadhouse just south of Uvita for more casual American fare, live music and pool tables. Our couples massage wasn't the best I've ever had but one can't complain about any massage after your wedding weekend! I don't think I've ever felt as relaxed as I did by that pool with Zoe refilling our water and drinks!

Room Tip: Loved Villa 7! Glad we got switched from Villa 1 (which looked to be really close to the pool/restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
167 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Property: Oxygen Jungle Villas
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing