We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Celestial(Uvita)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
558
85
37
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
85
37
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsglass villasinfinity poolour honeymooncosta ricaocean view villabreakfast burritowelcome cocktailcouples massagesan joseside notethe entire staffgreat recommendationsminute drivecorcovado national parktunaboutique hotelunpaved road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Oxygen was the perfect, sunny end to our week in Costa Rica after having spent four days in the rain at Arenal. As others have noted, the drive up is a bit tedious but nothing a decent 4x4 can't handle. I think it was made a bit more tough for us because our rental company had given us a pretty rickety old Rav 4, but other people staying at the hotel seemed to have newer rentals and did just fine.

Pros: Privacy (despite the glass walls), beautiful views from the pool/club area, great spa services, English is spoken well among the staff, ALL food is amazing (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). Victor was immensely helpful and pleasant and all other staff were equally helpful.

Cons: At dinner, the wine menu is presented first without the dinner menu. First of all, we felt uncomfortable being "upsold" and like we were expected to order wine. We chose beers instead because that's just our preference. If we had ordered wine, we would have wanted to see a dinner menu as well so we could choose drinks accordingly. Service is also a bit slow if there's more than one other couple being served at dinner, it seems. We showed up for dinner way earlier than everybody (at like 6:00) and had great service for about an hour. Then two other couples showed up and we sat there waiting for about a half hour just to get our bill, basically. It would be convenient if guests were not required to sign the check after each and every meal; doing this at check-out would allow guests to simply get up and leave when done with dinner.

That's a small complaint and I feel super "American" complaining about slow service (on that note, a number of European couples were there and they were clearly having a great time just relaxing at dinner...so, maybe this isn't an issue for most guests who stay here). All that being said, I still cannot recommend this place enough. Just show up for meals on the early side if you want good service.

Room Tip: Room #8 doesn't have the best "ocean" view. Try one of the other ocean view villas if you have a choice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Oxygen is one of my favorite hotels I have ever stayed at and I hope I will have to opportunity to come back at some point. This is not a big chain that has everything you will every need, this is a small boutique hotel that offers an intimate, peaceful, beautiful environment to get away from everything.

Having thoroughly read through the reviews, we were nervous about the drive to the hotel. The first time I was down right scared, having never drived on such steep, dirt roads, but after a few times you will forget about those nerves. It does require a 4x4. We rented a car, which was the best situation for us as we did tours every day and went into town for most of our meals. If you want to stay at the hotel without venturing out much (which wouldnt be a bad thing), then relying on a taxi would be wise. But if you are planning to do a lot, you'll want to be able to move around without waiting for taxis and the cost will probably equal out.

We had free breakfast with our stay, and found the breakfast to be really good. The breakfast burrito is large but delicious and the omlettes were on point as well. Fresh pineapple juice was also delicious. We only had one dinner at the hotel, and it was good but as others have said, very expensive and we didn't feel the need to eat there again.

The villas themselves were beautiful. We stayed in Villa 5 and found it to be perfectly private with an amazing view of the whale's tale. The bed was comfy, the villa very clean, althought the hot water was limited.

We also want to highlight the amazing service we received from "Roy." He helped us pick all the best excursions and told us when to skip a tour. He really helped to make our stay a wonderful experience!

Few other tid bits:
-bring bug spray. We didnt have a huge problem keeping bugs out of our villa, but walking around they are everywhere - you're in the jungle after all
-the entire staff arrives at 6:30 in the morning at leaves around 10. If you need something outside of those hours there is a security guard you have to rely on.
-There are no phones in the rooms, so you have to go up to the reception if you need anything, a bit of a hassle.
-There is no TV, radio, or electronics of any type in the room. We found we didnt need anything, but its always a good thing to know ahead of time.

Room Tip: Villa 5 had a great view and was very private
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 581ashleyrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

My fiancee and I had the most wonderful vacation! Everything was perfect from our visiting gecko grande, to the glass airconditioned villa, to the beautiful ocean view from the pool, to the impeccable service. We went for a tropical getaway for my birthday, and we got engaged on playa Hermosa under a sma,, shady tree. It was a magaical trip, and we hope to return next year. We were very sad to leave! I also recommend the sea kayak and snorkel tour. We hope to do the all day Cano Island snorkel tour on our next trip. Again, the staff is amazing! We felt welcome in our home away from home, and extremely well cared for.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at Oxygen for two nights following a four night stay at nearby Hotel Cuna De Angel. Oxygen was definitely a step up and was perfect for relaxing our last few days on the coast.

Pros:
Amazing views, epic pool, friendly service, easy to get poolside drinks, delicious food, fantastic rooms, saw lots of wildlife just around the hotel grounds.

Cons:
Less accessible to get to town and other activities, have to drive up and down a 15 minute dirt road. We didn't mind because we had already seen most of the coast and done our day trips while staying at Cuna. We were content just to stay put and enjoy our time at Oxygen when we arrived.
Dinner service is slow because there is not really enough kitchen or wait staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Beautiful, tranquil, professional & luxury are just a few of the many positive things I have to say about Oxygen Jungle Villas. My girlefriend and me stayed there for 12 days a couple of weeks ago and were blown away with how stunning the whole place is and how friendly and helpful every member of staff was for our entire stay.

I can't recommend it enough for couples who are looking to immerse themselves in pure natural bauty, luxury, romance and peace. It's a perfect mix of adventure and relaxation as the stunning infinity pool and bar provide a lovely base to chill out at, while it also being a great base from which to do many breath taking excursions up and down the coast and inland. We loved the Corcovado national park day trip where the volume and diversity of wildlife will amaze you, and also the horse riding treck through the Rainforest to the Nauyaca Falls which again was so much fun. It's also bird watching heaven being up on the hill - we dedicated a pair of binoculars to the hotel for future guests to use when lying on the sun beds by the pool.

The staff deserve a metion as we were humbled on a daily basis by the politeness and professionalism of every member. Victor, Rayner, Dariel, Harrold & Lena in particular who looked after us so well every day (also Donald the chef!).

I could go on for ages about more positive things but all you really need to know on reading this is that you wont be dissapointed - the villas/rooms are amazing, the staff are brilliant, the whole place is spectacular (we also recommend going on morning walks through the forest at the hotel to the waterfalls for a wake up swim before breakfast each day!). The food at the resturant is great (as are local resturarants like Citrus & Exotic in Ojachal). And all in all it was good value.

one piece of advice though - rent a 4x4. The location of the resort up the hill is all part of it's charm and I wouldnt change that, but you do need a 4x4 to give you freedom.

Good luck & enjoy the adventure!

Will & Michelle

Room Tip: Room 3 (Ocean view and very private was perfect for us). All of them are great though.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews