We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place close to heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2009

I have been travelling around Costa Rica, and visited many resorts in this beautiful country. There are without doubt many interesting places to visit, and Oxygen Villa is certainly one of them.

The combination of serene atmosphere, modern design, great views and great food was fantastic. The design is inspired by the small boutique resorts in Bali, and I must say that the combination of untouched Costa Rica nature all around you and the unique Bali style works very well.

We had planned to get around to see some of the sight in the area, but actually we ended up spending most of the time on our terrace and by the pool. You feel hard pressed to leave Oxygen Villa, once you have get up there by that very steep road, so why not just stay put, soak up the atmosphere and a drink from the bar. After the sun disappears in the ocean, it is time for a real treat, the dinner. How they manage to buy all these delicious ingredients and cook up such a gourmet meal is a mystery. It must take a lot of hard work to find all the right suppliers in this relatively remote part of the country.

We can definitely recommend Oxygen to everybody you are looking for what could be the best food and the best view on the coast. Add the great design, and there is no real competition from other resorts. Only downside is the requirement of using a 4x4 up the road, as there is not much need to hire a 4x4 on most other roads in the region.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denmark15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (623)
There are newer reviews for Oxygen Jungle Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2009

My partner and I spent a most memorable 24 hours at this newly launched gem, a tropical mountainside oasis perched overlooking Uvita’s “Whale’s Tail”. Oxygen Jungle Lodge offers a unique blend of sleek design, international elegance, breath-taking natural beauty and serenity. It can be truly described as a dream come true, both for Edwin and Flora, the talented and dynamic young hosts who created the resort, and for the travellers who seek it out.

Stand-alone guest lodges combine the best elements of modern architecture and Indonesian design to form a large, cool glass-panel “tent” centered on a veil-canopied bed, with state-of-the-art stainless steel, stone and frosted glass utilities tucked in at the back. The units are further shielded in bamboo curtains, with peeks at the garden setting of the compound on the side, and a magnificent view of the Pacific and the mountainside jungle at the front. We were drawn by images on their excellent website and our stay exceeded those expectations.

We also enjoyed the private trail that leads through the jungle forest to a cool stream pool, and the sights and sounds of wildlife. Add to this a refined, original and impeccably executed menu fare, often inspired by the freshest produce and foods available locally, and we could not have asked for a better day.

Oxygen is not for the run-of-the-mill, mile-a-minute tourist or the sated luxe consumer. It is definitely off the beaten path and, trust me, worth the little effort getting to. Edwin and Flora deserve all the attention their hotel, service and cuisine are earning them, and we wish them every success with Oxygen.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TwoWiseGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Flora and Edwin are incredible hosts. They have put time and attention to every detail, including the accomodations, grounds, and dining. I was recently married in Costa Rica and had the pleasure of spending a day with my girlfriends relaxing around the pool and getting massages (excellent!) and wraps (wonderful!) and manicures/pedicures (perfect!). I went back again to get ready for my wedding (THANK YOU FLORA AND EDWIN) and had the most divine experience. We swam in the river and the pool, had a delicious sushi lunch, and used their driver to get us to the ceremony on time! And then a few days later, I brought 16 friends back for dinner. We had a delicious 5-course meal and enjoyed the starlight. Flora and Edwin are such awesome people, you will not be disappointed! The food is delicious, the rooms are airy and beautiful, the decor is serene and the beaches in Uvita are some of my favorite in all of Costa Rica. Flora and Edwin, I wish you all the best and much success! If you are looking to relax and enjoy a simple luxury then you will be very happy here.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aydcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

Edwin and Flora have out done themselves to provide an amazing confluence of Balinese vernacular framework and modern luxury. The Villas comfortably and discretely unfold unto a magical, fantastic get away where comfort and pampering predominate.

The meticulous architecture+design of the villas, clubhouse, infinity pool and landscape offers the perfect medium for exquisite service with amazing offerings. All of the food and meals were very good but the four-course chef's surprise was consistently amazing.

The surprise would consist of first, either soup or salad. The second course; a lovely offering of seafood in some ingenious form [octopus salad one night]. The third as entree of fresh catch [literally caught that day was Gar fish, exquisitely prepared to rival even that of Iron Chef's, Morimoto's Black Cod]. Finally, the desserts were of lustful combinations of chocolate, mousse or creme fraiche or fruit or whatever you like - pick one.

The wine list is very good and fairly priced considering the enormous import tax in Costa Rica. While the Coffee is exquisite, as it should be in the top quality producing coffee country in the world!

So as you can tell, we will most certainly be back. Next time we will allow much more time in this treasure, and maybe will leave for a day trip to Corcavado. Or maybe, instead, opt for another spectacular massage from Mary. Who molded us so relaxed, we fell asleep with the wine glass still in our hands. Dreaming beneath more stars then I have ever seen in my incarcerated urban existence...Camino de Suenos indeed!

Either way....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chitowngal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Want something different in Costa Rica? Go visit Oxygen. A small luxurious resort up in the mountains just above Uvita. Perfect view of the whales tale, Isla del Cano and Corcovado.
They have 12 villa’s with private deck’s. All Tropical/Balinese style.
The restaurant and pool are great. The best infinity I’ve seen in Costa Rica. Just sit, listen to the jungle sounds or lounge music and have a cocktail.
Lunch en diner are *****, a young chef is preparing the best food I’ve had in Costa Rica. Amazing how he makes everything fresh and tasteful.
Special advice….try the ‘bitterballen’. A Dutch specialty in the tropics!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We have spent 11 nights at Oxygen Jungle Villas in January/Febuary. Allthough just opened, all details were already perfect. Our villa was impressive, with a beautifull oceanview, in the middle of the jungle. The garden and swimming pool were beautiful, as well as the service of the owners. We have had delightful diners in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brabander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

We stayed for 5 glorious days and nights at Oxygen Jungle Villas in Uvita in early February. The property is so well situated just 8-10 minutes up the road directly from the center of Uvita. Once we arrived, we felt immediately welcome by our hosts Edwin and Flora. We were overwhelmed by the view of the Whales Tail and the Pacific Ocean from both the infinity pool deck area as well as our very private villa.

Once situated at the OJV, we were treated to the constant attention of the hosts and staff. They would always be sure that we had offers of cold drinks by the pool and very happy to give us directions to the best beaches in the area. The hotel also has one of the top restaurants in Uvita. We had been in the area last year so we experienced all the best restaurants. OJV’s presents a wonderful tasting menu that is very well paced in it’s delivery so that you feel that you are never being rushed and always being attended to. The chef is a young genius from Amsterdam who scours the local markets for the very best available ingredients. The restaurant is not open to the public, just hotel guests and people recommended by friends. That explains the relaxed pace of the meal.

The villa itself is a beautifully appointed, modern and very comfortable space that is open and light in the day and the interior curtains create a feeling of being inside of a pillow at night. The view from the seating area in the front of the villa overlooks the ocean and is a perfect spot to sit (on the double length sofa) and stare at the stars or listen for the monkeys and birds. We actually heard more howlers here than we hear down in Osa!!!

The spa was also lovely with a fabulous massage given by the massage therapist, Mary. The grounds also have a wonderful little path that leads to a private waterfall which is just perfect to visit after a hot day at the beach.

We would definitely recommend this small boutique hotel for your visit to the Uvita area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmoopie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 13 in Uvita
170 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#1 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: £123 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing