We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding service in a beautiful setting...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, Massachusetts
1 review
“Outstanding service in a beautiful setting...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

I traveled to Oxygen last month with 4 other friends with some skepticism over how great all the reviews I read were...... but let me tell you all of the great reviews are true! Oxygen is truly a great place to stay. The staff is outstanding and the grounds and location is absolutely beautiful. The views from Oxygen are amazing and the accomodations are very unique. Flora, Edwin, and the entire staff made our stay as pleasant as possible. They are a great resource to learn more about the area and they even arranged for all of the activities we did in the area, which included a surfing lesson, ziplining tour, and horseback riding tour to a local waterfall. Edwin even arranged dinner reservations for a restaurant off the property for us one night (although the food at Oxygen is the best around!). Despite being more of a couples resort, our group had a great time. If you are looking for a place to truly relax and get away from it all, Oxygen is definitly the place to go! Thank you Oxygen, we had a great time and hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rando0584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    74
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
24
465
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We only arrived here last evening, but I can already tell you that this is one of the two best hotels we have ever stayed in in CR (the other being Hotel Makanda in Manuel Antonio), and this is our 9th trip here. Although Makanda may be a close equal when it comes to the property and their rooms and services, what sets OJV aside from all others is the personal connection they make with their guests. The owners, Flora & Edwin, along with the entire staff, are here to do nothing but cater to your every wish. They are all extremely personable and interested in getting to know their guests on a level that goes well beyond that of most hotel personnel. The design of the rooms is unique and incredibly well-planned, and the property itself is secluded and very private yet easily accessible to the town of Uvita. But most of all, let me say that the dinner we had here last night was truly exceptional. Having lived in NYC for 10 years, I have been to some amazing restaurants, but the chef here is very talented. Each evening, he offers up a "surprise" 4-course meal of his creation. The set price for the evening meal is $29, and it is worth every bit of that and more. They ask you in advance for any allergies, preferences (We are pescatarian.), or other restrictions you might have. After that, you have no idea what you will get. It was such a treat to see what each course was going to be as it came out. I'll continue to post during our stay here, but after one day, we're hooked!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretchenpeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We could just repeat the glowing statements made by previous reviewers but want to add something else to the long list of perfectly good reasons to visit this fabulous place: it is amazing value for money. I would not know where else in Costa Rica I can get this level of sophistication, service, food and accommodation at these prices. And you don’t just get a room, you get a 750 square feet private villa including a wrap-around porch with huge sofa, an incredibly comfortable king size bed, a 10’ rain shower and a nifty entertainment system. We felt like prizewinners. After the personalized tour, we spent the first hours with our jaws dropped to the floor, wondering what the catch was: there wasn’t any. When we arrived, they had also just fixed the road to the resort, so it’s now easy enough getting to even in the tiny 4x4 we rented (make sure to bring directions though, the hotel is not signposted!). It took us 8 minutes to drive down to the costal road which made exploring the wonderful area very easy. We stayed six heavenly days and we will be back for our anniversary! Thank you Oxygen!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManhattanTraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

Of all the places we stayed on our trip to Costa Rica, I looked forward to staying at Oxygen most. The hosts, the setting, the food and the decor of the rooms and public areas were indeed truly lovely. However it is not an easy place to get to and from and may not suit everyone. I'm afraid the steep, bumpy drive put us off going out to eat, except for one of the evenings, and the pool/restaurant area communal area is a bit small so, as on a cruise ship, you have to get on with everyone. This meant we got a bit stir crazy by the end of the week and the novelty of the food wore off. Just three nights would have been perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoolit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OxygenJungleVillas, Owner at Oxygen Jungle Villas, responded to this review, 17 July 2010
An average stay at Oxygen is 6 nights, because there is such a wide range of activities within short range, all easily accessible. National Parks Corcovado, Manuel Antonio and Caño Island are all daytrips from Oxygen. National Park Marino Ballena dictates the view from the resort and surf town Dominical and culinary town Ojochal are both within half an hour from the resort. We encourage people to enjoy everything Oxygen has to offer, but to certainly head out often and explore the surroundings. As we know the area extremely well, please allow us to assist you with your itinerary and daily planning. We are happy to, at no additional charge, arrange your tours or for example call a taxi to a nearby restaurant. Just let us know what would make your stay 5-star and we’ll arrange it!

As we are on a true jungle location (hence our name), our dirt road changes a little with the seasons: from smooth and comfortable right after we fix it, to bumpy and a little rough right before. The road has recently had its (annual) fix and is currently very easy to drive. The road is always safe (year round) and it has never taken anybody longer than 10 minutes to get down to the paved costal road (not counting stops for sloths crossing the road or other wildlife encounters!). The road up takes you away from the busy main road and into quiet and peaceful jungle territory, the reason for visiting Costa Rica’s Southern Zone for many in the first place and exactly the reason why we picked this spot for O2 –besides the amazing views and cool breezes.

Oxygen offers only 12 villas for a maximum of 2 (adults) per villa. Our clubhouse area is designed for this select number of visitors and all guests have private dining tables and sun lounges. There is no need to socialize if you choose not to (which is probably why we are a popular honeymoon location), but with so many like-minded people here there is often a fun vibe. All villas have a spacious private and covered terrace with a large couch and an in room entertainment system, so if you wish you can always retreat to the privacy of the villa.

We would like to take the opportunity to thank not just above, but all reviewers for their kind words and receiving 50 ‘excellent’ reviews in such short time after our opening. Gracias!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

My husband (Mark) and I just got back after eloping in Costa Rica in May. In the middle of planning a local wedding we decided how different and exciting it would be to elope (just the 2 of us) than have a traditional ceremony. I did a ton of research on hotels and came across Oxygen Jungle Villas- we wanted a quiet peaceful getaway and this was absolutely what we were looking for. There was nothing but positive reviews, and the villas looked gorgeous online. We contacted Flora and Edwin about our plans and within a day found us a local wedding planner. In addition, they offered to plan and handle the entire wedding themselves with all of the accoutrements included, including taking pictures and video if we preferred. We decided on letting Oxygen make it happen for us – it was significantly less and we had confidence that they could make it happen in just 2 weeks.

We arrived at Oxygen the day before the wedding and were welcomed with their signature cocktail, and shown our room. Our ocean view villa was breathtaking! The sliding glass doors allowed us to still enjoy the outside when I needed a break from the heat while the sitting area outside our room offered Mark a perfect reading/relaxing area.

On the big day Flora and Edwin took care of everything-the lawyer performing the ceremony, flowers, champagne, selecting the beachfront location, a violinist, decorations-way more than either of us were expecting. Literally the only thing we had to do was show up. Before our arrival in Costa Rica Flora asked us to write “our story” which she revamped and made it into a beautiful addition to the wedding. After the ceremony the staff decorated our room with flowers and the most amazing tiramisu wedding cake, made especially for us by their fantastic chef. I mention this because it showed us how dedicated Flora, Edwin and the entire Oxygen staff was to making sure our experience at Oxygen was very special. I almost forgot to mention the following day we had a fabulous couple’s massage at their spa just before nightfall, a perfect prelude to dinner.

Apart from the amazing views, the awesome infinity pool and the sleek, modern deco, Oxygen offered one of the best, most interesting 4-course dinner that’s prepared specially every night. Being from Chicago which is known for its great restaurants, we are foodies, and were impressed. We never even thought about venturing out. The breakfast options were spectacular too (love the whole grain banana pancakes!).
Before leaving we were already talking about returning to Oxygen for our 1 year anniversary-hopefully we’ll celebrate with another fantastic tiramisu cake!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie_2386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

We found out about Oxygen through the Conde Nast Travel magazine because they were listed on their 2010 Hot List, and after going to their website, we knew right away that we wanted to go there to celebrate my husband’s birthday. Our expectations were beyond exceeded! The boutique-resort (as I like to call it) was absolutely perfect. When we arrived, we were so excited and our energy was high, but we quickly realized that we were in such a zen place, that we needed to take a minute to collect ourselves and relax! We were immediately greeted by the staff and were given a moist towel and welcome drink (alcohol optional.) While we were soaking it all in, Edwin had already taken our luggage down to our villa. We chatted with Alicia while we had our drink and then she took us down to Villa #4 (which I HIGHLY recommend by the way) We had an amazing view of the ocean while being surrounded by the beautiful jungle.

THE VILLAS: The villas are all absolutely amazing and beautiful. They are also surprisingly very private. Not only are there shades you can close on the inside of the floor to ceiling glass windows, there are also exterior shades giving you plenty of privacy from your neighbor. And it that wasn’t enough, there are strategically placed plants and trees on the outside of those to fill in all the gaps! The villas are beautifully decorated and the space is utilized extremely well. The front patio is perfect for resting and relaxing, not to mention gorgeous and the inside felt like a spa with a bed! The bed was so comfortable and we slept very well. There are double vanity sinks with plenty of shelf space below to put your things. The rain shower was wonderful. All the villas come with a portable dvd/cd player/iPod dock. We used this everyday to listen to music (they provide a soothing, relaxation cd) or watch a movie. (They have a library of dvds to borrow at the front desk.) The villa was very clean and cool- you can set the thermostat to your desired temperature.

THE SERVICE: We received impeccable service and individual attention from everyone on staff. In fact, we didn’t feel like we were at a hotel at all, but more staying at an amazing beach house with friends and family: Flora, Edwin, Alicia, Laura, & Linda. Everyone was so genuinely nice and helpful and they will go above and beyond to make sure you have the best experience you can have.

THE RESTAURANT/SPA: We ate every dinner and almost every other meal at the resort. They offer breakfast, lunch & dinner and have items to purchase for snacks as well. I’ll start with breakfast. The banana pancakes were hands down the best pancakes I have ever had. There were only a few options for lunch but they were all very good. Nice & light, which was nice since we were usually eating in our swimsuits! Dinner was wonderful. The chef has a 5-course “surprise” menu every night with fresh local ingredients. You literally don’t know what you’re going to eat until it is set in front of you! I think of the 4 nights we ate, there was only 1 course that we didn’t LOVE, everything else was absolutely delicious. We treated ourselves to a couples massage and they were great. There is not a “spa facility” per se, but it worked out quite nicely and if you want, you can have your massage on the front patio of your villa. Will probably do that next time!

THE SURROUNDINGS: I have never in my life seen anything more beautiful than this place. The best part about this whole place was just the natural beauty and wildlife. There were so many beautiful birds, flowers, trees, plants and views. Their private reserve is gorgeous. They have their very own trail to their private waterfall which, if you choose, you can climb up. The resort is not on the beach, but it has stunning beach views and the beach is just a short drive away. The wildlife that surrounds the villas is incomparable. We saw toucans, howler monkeys, hummingbirds, giant butterflies, and several other species of birds and lizards. Another plus about this place is that since it is so far up the mountain, the mosquitoes are practically non-existent. But don’t let that fool you; you will definitely need your bug spray if you venture down the hill! The pool is like nothing I've ever seen. It literally just blends in with the Pacific Ocean and is just stunning. The turquoise Balinese tile makes the water the most beautiful shade of blue. That surrounded by the mahogany-stained wood deck and bright white furniture are the perfect balance of beauty and contrast.

THE WARNINGS: I will admit the drive up the mountain the first time was a little intimidating, but after a few times we felt like pros! If you are looking for a place to go and “party” this is not the place for you. It’s not stuffy or boring by any means, it’s just not the style of the resort and we happened to find that VERY refreshing. If you are addicted to technology, you’ll have to get creative and settle for the free wi-fi, (bring your laptop, as far as I know there isn’t a computer for public use) or go elsewhere for television and cell phone service. There were some people that were able to use their cell phones, but you had to stand in a specific spot and there are no telephones in the rooms. (We used Skype to call home and check in with our kids.) While most people we came into contact with spoke English, I really wish I would have brushed up on my Spanish. So I recommend doing that if you can.

And the last, final warning that they really should post somewhere is the probability that you will most likely get depressed upon departure because it is such an incredible place and you won’t want to leave. :)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank binsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

We arrived in the darkness of the early evening and it felt like driving into a dream .. when we woke up the next morning the dream turned out to be real! What a wonderful place owners Floor and Edwin created here! Be sure to taste the great food, take a dip in the beautiful pool, watch the birds from your private terrace and take a walk to the waterfall on the property!! Hard to leave?! Definitely!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotterdamDutchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oxygen Jungle Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxygen Jungle Villas

Property: Oxygen Jungle Villas
Address: Camino de Suenos | 1,5 km NE del Catarata de Uvita, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Uvita
#2 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oxygen Jungle Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oxygen Jungle Villas is a small-scale and exclusive Balinese style boutique hotel. Located in Uvita, in the middle of the Costa Ballena, Costa Rica's South Pacific hotspot. We guarantee individual and personalized service and a maximum of 24 guests (adults only) at all times, staying in one of the only 12 villas on the Oxygen estate. All this only minutes away from some of the most pristine beaches in the world and centrally located between Costa Rica's most beautiful National Parks. Perfect for your Costa Rica honeymoon, or simply to become acquainted with the jungle, toucans, howler monkeys, and the other wonderful wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer. With dozens of tours to choose from, and a zen atmosphere overlooking the infinity pool, there is something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oxygen Jungle Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxygen Jungle Villas Hotel Uvita
Oxygen Jungle Villas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing