We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family Owned Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cabinas los Laureles
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

the rooms are neat and clean, we felt very welcome. the owners are extremely friendly and helpful with anything and they have a wonderful private forest in the back of the garden. we made a tour with the son of the owners to the national parc marino ballena and had a great time with him touring the mangroves in a kayak, snorkeling and even trying to surf with the kayak. wifi is available, some shops and restaurants are within walking distance though it is advisable to have a car. definitely a place to come back to!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yogistaWien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

basic cabina in beautiful setting. we had a two bedroom cabina, great for a family of four. Owners were wonderful and knowledgeable. The grounds are beautiful and a trail loops around the property, offering opportunity to spot wildlife. This is not the kind of place you go to planning to lounge around and hang out in your room but it is perfect if you are looking for economic lodging to sleep in after exploring Uvita and the nearby national park.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank towen27701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Is has been already more than a year ago when we stayed there, but still I want to post this review, as our stay was so good.
Owners Victor & Victor are very helpful and really care about the guests. A small example: we had a broken light bulb and they immediately replaced it by unscrewing one of their own light bulbs. They also assist in choosing activities. We have done a very pleasant dolphin watching tour and a horse riding tour. Both are recommended.
Cabins are clean and spacious.
Location is at 45min walking distance from the sea and close to the bus stop. It is a good stop en route to Bahía Drake.


If we are ever to travel again to Costa Rica, we are definitely staying here again.
Stayed here: November 2010

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimm_db
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for a great couple of nights, very comfortable cabin in the forest, spotless. Victor was incredibly helpful, speaking perfect English and giving us lots of tips! His father drove us to the beach in the morning at no extra cost and a computer is also available to use the internet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My name is Sam. I am from Minnesota, US. This secluded cabin in a jungle area definitely exceeded my expectations. Absolutely nothing requires improvement. The place I was given was a second story suite consistent of one spacious master room with a king size bed, another room with a bunk bed, a living room with table and chairs, an elegant full size bathroom with a large bathtub, shower and a toilette that work flawlessly, and a balcony with a hammock. The place was air conditioned. The hot water was provided by solar energy.
The breakfast was included with the lodging and was served by the owner from 7:00 – 9:00 AM as a sit-down meal. Here is the site:
http://www.cabinasloslaureles.com/
This is a family owned bed and breakfast place. I was told about the place by Mauricio, our host in Cabinas Manolo in Drake Bay next to Corcovado Park. At Cabinas Los Laureles, we interacted mostly with Victor Hugo the son; while Victor Hugo the father was in the background perhaps running the show. The son, who is in his twenties, grew up in the States. He provided free bottled water during our stay. Bottled water is twice as expensive as in Minnesota. Considering the temperature is 90 degree F, you will drink 3 times more water.
There is also free Wi Fi and a guest computer with Internet access if you didn’t bring yours.
You go to the office, and Victor will appear to help you since the office is adjacent to the family’s residence. Our comfort and best interest were Victor’s highest priority. He gave me advice on places to visit and information that I needed. Victor also arranged my comfortable low cost transportation to San Jose. He kept my valuables in a safe. He in fact provided the most needed trip coordination service. He gave me a free ride to the water fall when I needed one. He carried our luggage on a small tractor to the cabin when we first arrived. The family atmosphere and customer service are something that you will appreciate at Cabinas Los Laureles.
Uvita is a small village. The beach is 5 minutes away cab ride. And it costs $5.00. If you are a hiker, you can walk to the beach in 40 minutes. The beach is part of a preserved area; so the government charges $6.00 per person access fee. Kids 12 and below are free.
The water next to the Whale Tail Island is calm and gives opportunity for nice swimming. Snorkeling is one of the attractions in this area. I think the main attraction is whale watching during the whale season (9 months out of the year.) You could also do ziplining. I made the mistake of waiting until I got back to San Jose to do ziplining; the price turned out to be three times as much because in San Jose they have to transport you 1.5 hours out of the city to the ziplining area.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor room that is air conditioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam-Wahbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I love this place. I have stayed here more than once. Beautiful landscaping, wonderful Tico hosts, great comfortable rooms. Lovely cool environment in a very hot place! Close to a beautiful waterfall.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We booked at Cabinas Los Laureles because it was the only place still available 3 weeks before the Envision festival. I think that's because the pictures on this site don't do it justice.

The cabinas are comfortable, clean and very spacious. The complementary breakfast was very good.

The best part is the family who runs the place. Father and son, Victor and Victor, went out of their way over and over again to make everyone comfortable. They gave us breakfast an hour after breakfast was supposed to be finished. They offered to drive us to the waterfalls. At one point I had a question for the younger Victor who was on the phone and he immediately told the other person "I'll call you right back" and hung up to help us out first.

Great service. Comfortable stay. We'll stay there again if back in Uvita.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEDSMontezuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nido del Halcon
Hotel Nido del Halcon
#12 of 13 in Uvita
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Luz de Luna
Hotel Luz de Luna
#8 of 13 in Uvita
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#11 of 13 in Uvita
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
0.1 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 44 in Uvita
213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Osa de Rio
Casa Osa de Rio
#17 of 44 in Uvita
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas los Laureles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas los Laureles

Address: 400 meters east of Banco de Costa Rica, Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Price Range: £31 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabinas los Laureles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Cabinas Los Laureles, located in Uvita de Osa, south pacific of Costa Rica. A small town with a beautiful tourist attraction, the immense National Park Marino Ballena (Marine Whale.) Offering a tranquil environment in the costal rainforest of Costa Rica. We are 400 meters north east of Banco de Costa Rica (BCR.)We offer an affordable lodging option only 2KM from the most beautiful beaches in the south pacific that are also part of the National Park Marino Ballena (Marine Whale.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cabinas los Laureles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinas Los Laureles Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing