We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho DiAndrew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho DiAndrew
Ranked #13 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I was travelling with my fiancee and a few of our friends and we all had an amazing time at Rancho DiAndrew. We didn't get in until after midnight but Andrew was waiting for us with the lights on and cold beer in the fridge. It was great to wake up to the amazing balcony views as our first sights of Costa Rica while we listened to the howler monkeys that woke with every day. Andrew helped arrange a zip line tour one day we were there but we spent most of our trip on the beach during the day and BBQing on the balcony every night looking out at the sunset and thunderstorms over the whale's tail. The location is also great for wildlife. Dozens of monkey crossed the road all around us on one trip down the hill and we were surrounded by toucans, jungle turkeys and other wildlife when relaxing around the house. Andrew told us all the best places we needed to eat around town and was a great guide whether we were looking for a night out in town or great swimming holes and waterfalls just minutes away. We had an amazing time and are already planning a our next trip to Rancho DiAndrew with more friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Rancho DiAndrew is a wonderful place to relax and get the best traveling experience on the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. First of all, the place is located on the beautiful hill with an outstanding view over Marino Ballena National Park and its whale tail. The surrounding is very quiet, peaceful and secluded. Lack of light pollution makes the star gazing a truly unforgettable experience at night. Jungle sounds bring back memories of Indiana Jones. Private cabins are designed with style and flair. One of them has private fridge where beverages can be cooled down. Moreover, the great location uphill guarantees no mosquitos and cooler temperatures - something greatly appreciated after travelling many days in Costa Rica. Open - air showers makes a daily usual activity of showering an exciting experience.

Andrew - the owner of the Rancho takes care of guests very well and makes sure they are happy. He organizes a fantastic waterfall tours which provide excellent opportunity to visit untouched areas of Costa Rica, to perform jumps into waterfall and snorkel among fish. Both him and his employees make sure all participants have a great time and all activities are safe. Andrew takes a great pictures of you to keep memories from this fabulous place. Even if you do not plan to stay at the Rancho, make sure you take part in this wonderful tour. Moreover, Andrew is very helpful and gives tons of advice for the next stages of your trip as he knows Costa Rica better than many locals.

All in all, our stay at Rancho DiAndrew was a highlight of our trip and if we ever go back to Costa Rica, we will definitely come back to Uvita to spend some nights at this unforgettable place!

Room Tip: A private cabins are perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatoUnOsoPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shady Side, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Rancho DiAndrew is as laid back and easy going as it's hard working proprietor. Andrew and his crew took very good care of us and made us feel right at home! The view over the jungle to the pacific from the portal is incredible! Toucans, falcons, circling vultures, the "whale's tail" and the monkeys! Did I mention the monkeys?! You have to go with Andrew on one of his waterfall tours. Excellent fun! Hiking, swimming, climbing and cliff diving! Yow! Andrew offers tours of varying physical degree and challenge, and pays careful mind to safety, making everyone feel at ease. So even if you don't get a chance to stay at Rancho DiAndrew, be sure to go on a waterfall tour and enjoy a great lunch on the river afterward! The Rancho and Cabinas are only a few miles up the mountain from the coast road which makes it convenient to town, the beach and other attractions. And it's way cooler in the mountains! Pur Vida!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Had a great time doing the water fall tour with Andrew. He is a fearless guide but makes sure that everything is safe and working accordingly. It's a beautiful location, the water is extremely refreshing, and it has all the makings of a great adventure tour. I highly recommend this for anyone looking to see nature in all it's beauty and get a great workout in at the same time. My wife and I went and she kept saying this was the "Best Tour EVER!!!" Nuff Said.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

This location on the pacific is truely amazing, alil trek going up the mountain but well worth it! I was in CR for 10 days and the best night sleep was here in the tent like accomodations...and the best part, I woke up to a view of paradise!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgluvstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

I had a friend recommend that I go on the Rancho DiAndrew Waterfall tour with Andrew. I AM SO GLAD THEY DID! My fiance and I went on the tour and loved every minute of it. We've both been coming to this part of Costa Rica for years and have done MANY of the tours around the area and I can honestly say that this tour was one of my favorites and an INCREDIBLE value. The tour was excellent - a beautiful walk up the river (with Andrew guiding you the whole way so you feel safe and comfortable) that leads you to a beautiful gorge with a waterfall. It looks like something out of the movie Avatar - large cliffs frame the waterfall and there's nobody else around - all you can hear is the waterfall and the people you go with. Andrew helps you get up onto a rock that you can jump off of into the waterfall pool - it's SO fun! And then you walk back down the river and sit down in part of it and the river has been naturally carved away so that it's a kind of slide for you. And then there's another small waterfall that you can sit in for a few minutes before wrapping up and heading off to have an excellent lunch.

Andrew is an incredible tour guide, a kind person and a first-rate chef. I truly recommend this tour.

In fact, we were so impressed with Andrew, the tour and his property that we're considering doing our wedding there next year!! Now THAT'S a recommendation! :) ENJOY!

(Oh and Andrew was so sweet about taking time to stop and use our camera to take photos of us so we could have them for our Save the Date and Invites - amazing!)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

My two friends and I stayed here just a few weeks ago. Our hosts, Richard and Cheryl, made us feel at home right from the very beginning. My room was beautifully clean and spacious, with fresh flowers on my bed, and shells from the local beaches. As I walked upstairs, my eyes were drawn to their excellent kitchen where Cheryl must use magic to make such delicious home-made breads and exquisite meals. Incredible really. Then, just outside the kitchen, I experienced one of the most wonderfully paralyzing views of the "whale's tail". It's a natural occurring phenomenon called an "isthmus". If you're curious about it, Rich and Cheryl will gladly explain it. Furthermore, the wild life we experienced there in the property was terrific. Being nestled there in the jungle, we were able to experience and see howler monkeys, toucans, white hawks, geckos, etc. Among the breath taking beauty that my eyes experienced, was the ever relaxing hammocks. We had our choice of several. Each one with extraordinary views of the jungle and sea. Additionally, there is an outdoor stove where Richard proves himself to be a chef not to be contested. The results from his skillful cooking will most definitely make you ask for seconds and thirds. If you fancy recording your trip on film, Richard is well experienced with area and is an exceptional photographer. He may even share with you some of the good spots where you can take your camera and go wild. We experienced a hike to a 70 foot waterfall that was refreshingly cool and calming. A short trip down the road took us to Uvita. There we did our shopping, tasted local cuisine, and picked up some locally made gifts.

Our trip to Rancho Di Andrew was an adventure, experience and a gift. Made even more so by the warm embrace and hospitality given by Cheryl and Richard. Thank you so much you two :) I'll definitely come back. Pura Vida!!!

Eddie M.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostel Cascada Verde
Hostel Cascada Verde
#6 of 40 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 12 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 12 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
0.0 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho DiAndrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho DiAndrew

Property: Rancho DiAndrew
Address: 4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rancho DiAndrew Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing