We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rancho DiAndrew is definitely a place to experience more than once.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho DiAndrew

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rancho DiAndrew
Ranked #13 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Cocoa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rancho DiAndrew is definitely a place to experience more than once.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Superlatives understate the hospitality, comfort, beauty and pleasure that Rncho DiAndrew offers. Andrew, our host, made us feel as much at home as any close relative. The meals were "art", as one guest described breakfast; and art is deliscious. We had the good fortune,on very short notice, of staying in one of the cabinas overlooking the rainforest in view of the ocean and the "Whale's Tail". The elevated yurt-style tent was private and well protected, but provided an unrivaled view of the countryside. It was as spacious, yet cozier, than any hotel we had seen.
While we did not take advantage of the many specialty tours (waterfalls, nature hikes, surfing, night excursions...), the immediate grounds afforded countless opportunities to see and photograph amazing birds, butterflies, flowers and natural landscapes.
We visited seven cities in our jaunt across Costa Rica. We may have seen many fewer if Rancho Dindrew had been our first stop. If your visit is limited and you want to see 'essential Costa Rica', Rancho DiAndrew has it all: rainforest, mountains, beaches, wildlife and wonderful people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auntnance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
crystal lake Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Rancho DiAndrew is a must visit destination if you are choosing the Uvita area. Your host Andrew know's how to make his guests feel right at home.
The home cooked meals look and taste like art. The accomodations are lovely, perfect really and affordable.
And the waterfall tours are unbelievably beautiful.
If you get the chance do drop in. We spent three day's and look forward to going back soon and staying much longer. Was hard to leave paradise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preciousjewel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

This place is located in the jungle and surrounded by many waterfalls. After visiting this guesthouse in the mountains you will not want to stay anywhere near the beach - the experience is just so much more rewarding. Andrew Mattison, who runs the place, cooks the best food in Costa Rica, and does the best waterfall and nature tours with his buddy biologist Ryan King.

Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominical, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

Our stay in one of the cabinas was better than any hotel could offer. The tent cabina was very spacious, clean and beautifully constructed. The platforms were spectacularly placed with private outdoor shower, private bathroom and terrace.

You would be hard pressed to find a view better than this. We woke up to an ocean view and a view of the Whale's Tail (a famous sandbar that whales migrate to annually that is just happened to be shaped like a whale's tail). All of this view from IN our bed!

Toucans, birds, monkeys and other wildlife were everywhere. It was a great place for hiking and visiting waterfalls. This is an ideal setting for a yoga retreat or group retreat as well as for anyone who enjoys all the nature Costa Rica has to offer.

Drew was an exceptional host was quick to offer anything to make sure our stay was comfortable and enjoyable. It was such a memorable experience that we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauii2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Rancho DiAndrew is tucked away just a few KM off the main road that runs along the coast through Uvita, Costa Rica.

This place is incredible! The views are absolutely amazing- sweeping vistas of the coast and whale tale sand bar beyond the beautiful rain forest from pretty much everywhere on the property.

The ample grounds are well groomed yet still are lush from being IN the rain forest. There's tons of native wildlife from monkeys to toucans. I spent hours lounging on a hammock just listening to the sounds of the rain forest!

I stayed in the house, though next time I'd love to do the cabinas. They are really comfortable and have their own outdoor bathroom with a private open shower that looks over the breathtaking coastal views! The backpacker's accommodations also look spiffy and are a great deal. There's access to an outdoor kitchen so if you're on a budget you can cook your own meals. Breakfast came with my accommodations and was totally delicious! Plus, the coffee- oh how I miss it.

The service was impeccable. The hosts really make you feel at home. They have surf boards and body boards to loan if you want to hit the beach. They also know the area incredibly well. Ryan the biologist leads night tours of the rain forest, and Andrew the host does waterfall tours of all the best hidden spots! They give you a really warm and welcome vibe. I highly recommend doing both.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay that's peaceful, beautiful, comfortable and surprisingly inexpensive, Rancho DiAndrew is the place!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.0 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tucan Hotel
Tucan Hotel
#3 of 38 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Cacatua Lodge
La Cacatua Lodge
#9 of 38 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eden Tica Lodge
Eden Tica Lodge
#3 of 14 in Uvita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bungalows Ballena
Bungalows Ballena
#11 of 38 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cabinas los Laureles
Cabinas los Laureles
#4 of 38 in Uvita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho DiAndrew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho DiAndrew

Property: Rancho DiAndrew
Address: 4.5 K up the San Josecito Rd., Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Rancho DiAndrew Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing