We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful hotel and hosts, with local Costa Rican flavor”
Review of Hotel Luz de Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luz de Luna
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
West
2 reviews
“Great food, wonderful hotel and hosts, with local Costa Rican flavor”
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Local friends recommended this place to us for a comfortable friendly place to stay. Filipe and Patricia were wonderful hosts and their restaurant, La Fogata, serves delicious food. They have a beautiful pool and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We recommend grabbing a pizza to go and heading up to one of the two upper decks and enjoy your pizza in the warm breeze under the Costa Rican stars.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelClemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    39
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
27
71
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2010

We originally went to the restaurant “La Fogata” which is part of the new hotel. As returning customers (to the region) the restaurant is our very favorite place for lunch and relaxing casual dinners. It has been open for 9 years with the same outstanding quality service. The prices are very affordable and the food is delicious, additionally the wood fire roasted chickens are antibiotic free. We were surprised to see the new hotel built by the restaurant. Given it’s great location, (1 km to the national park and close to the highway, supermarkets and the Saturday market) we decided to stay for a few days. It was great!
The place is immaculate, delightfully designed and has a very peaceful feeling. The trendy designed pool is like an oasis. The owners, Patricia and Felipe are absolutely wonderful they were very kind, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colibri_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida Keys, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

This place was recomended by several "local's". This location was perfect., down the road from The Dome, in Uvita . All rooms have a/c's (which was a real treat), no t.v.'s. The rooms are tiny but very nicely done. The beds are like a rock. I thought we'd end up at the local hostel sleeping in the hammocks,but surprisingly the bed turned out to be okay. I felt our body forms in it in the morning.
Felipi (the owner) was awesome. His service was beyond fantastic. The restaurant was great. A nice breakfast is included and they cook up fire roasted chickens over an open wood fire for dinner, or grab a couple to go! No alcohol is served but you can bring your own. There's no cork charge. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandOnMyToes_sxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We've been traveling to Uvita for four years and have always made it a point to stop by"La Fogatta" resturant for the great food and casual, frendily enviorment. So we were plesently suprised to discover that the owners Philipe&Patricia had added a new hotel to complement their great resturant. The clean nicely designed rooms combined with the relaxing pool area and the frendly atmosphere created by the owners helped make our latest stay a memorable one. This will definitly be a regular stop on our future trips to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk22Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Luz De Luna hotel has everything you need - newly built accomodation, finished to a great standard with high quality beds, high water pressure showers, sir-con in the rooms and a lovely pool. Also high-speed internet access and a warm welcome at the restaurant next door, specialising in Italian food and Local dishes. Located 100m from the main highway that passes through Uvita, and 800m from the beaches of the Marino Ballena National Park, we found Luz De Luna a perfect base to explore the area, one of Costa Rica´s finest.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
4.1 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
Hotel Canto de Ballenas
#12 of 12 in Uvita
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bahia Azul Hotel
Bahia Azul Hotel
#10 of 12 in Uvita
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luz de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luz de Luna

Property: Hotel Luz de Luna
Address: 200 metros al suroeste del puente del rio Uvita, Uvita, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Uvita
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Luz de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful recently opened hotel, minutes away from the beach and the whales! The garden and the swimming pool are peaceful and georgeous. The guests will experience ´pura vida´! The restaurant is open and airy and serves homemade Italian food and traditional cuisine. We speak Spanish, English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luz de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Luz De Luna Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing