We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surrounded by nature and wildlife with modern...”
other travellers have booked this property
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Sunset view River swimming pool just a short walk away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Private 40 foot ocean view pool
Sunset view
River swimming pool just a short walk away
Ocean view patio with outdoor dining
Ocean view from pool
Living Room
Living room facing Pacific Ocean
Dining area
Kitchen with gas stove
Kitchen facing ocean view
First En Suite Bedroom with ocean view
First En Suite Bedroom with ocean view
Bathroom for master bedroom #1 with walk-in shower
Second En Suite Bedroom
Second En Suite Bedroom
Second En Suite Bedroom
Bathroom for Second Bedroom with Walk In Shower
Pacific  side of house
Trail to river waterfall pool
Sign for our road Howler Alley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rkowieski
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surrounded by nature and wildlife with modern amenities”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Casa Toucan is a unique property in all senses: It offers amazing views of the jungle and ocean, remote location (yet within a short distance of Uvita), and is situated within a short distance of many of the adventures that my family was interested in. We arrived very late after some flight delays into San Jose, so getting up to the property on the steep mountain road was a bit tricky, but not as bad as I was expecting due to very good directions left by Lynn, the owner. As we arrived very late, the property managers offered to bring some breakfast by the next morning and help get us oriented to the property. We really appreciated that, as we were all exhausted from the long trip. The house itself has large, open rooms and does not have windows - just screens, so you are truly immersed in the jungle setting. This is great most of the time, but sometimes the jungle is surprisingly "loud", so just be aware of that. We did become accustomed to the sounds by the 2nd day, and looked forward to the morning and afternoon visits by the friendly Toucans and various birds. The master bedroom has a completely open bathroom area, which we had mixed opinions on - it would be one of the few things we might change if we were able. We could hear the howler monkeys somewhere nearby, but never actually spotted them. The pool was great for an afternoon dip after the day's adventures, of which we had planned for each day. Thanks to Lynn for a very memorable stay at Casa Toucan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Very sketchy Wi-fi access - even in the sticks, we could have used a reliable connection. Sadly, this Wifi kicked us each off every couple of minutes requiring a router reset
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 14 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Jersey
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brendaken
Manitoba, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“And week in a jungle paradise”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Although the drive up to the villa the first time was intimidating for us prairie people it became less as the days went on. The view is outstanding and we saw a sloth in the "backyard" one day which was awesome in addition to hearing howlers every day. The home is well-equipped with most items you'd need. It did get very hot during the afternoon hours so the lack of a/c was a downfall from my perspective but it didn't really bother my hubby. Having the private pool was great and we used it a lot. The trail down to the waterfall and swimming area was a nice walk. Lynn was easy to contact by email prior to and during our vacation and you could tell she genuinely wanted us to have a good time while we were there. As private as it is you are only about a 10 minute drive from amenities. We've been taking winter vacations for about 22 years and this place will go down as one of our most memorable locations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: See write
Liked least: Lack of a/c
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nangold
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great house but high up”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Casa Toucan is a lovely comfortable house in a spectacular setting. We were two couples who had plenty of room to spread out. The second bedroom (which some reviewers have complained about as being a less desirable bedroom than the other)) is actually a large colorful room with a large attached bath. The two beds in this bedroom were welcome and look out the back into the jungle. It is actually cooler during the day than the front rooms which face West and the sea. The pool was our favorite spot as we spent a lot of time in the house.
One warning about the location and rental car which you will need: the house is up a very steep and windy gravel road. Our first car that we rented in San Jose ( a small SUV—a Daihatsu BEGO) got us to Uvita town but had a very hard time making it up the steep 15” drive to the house. At one point it just wouldn’t budge and began to move backwards. It may be fine for two people, but it just didn’t have enough power for 4 people. We changed cars and rented a Toyota 4 Runner which was bigger, more powerful, though more expensive, of course. But it was a great relief when we felt safer and didn’t feel like we were pushing our car up the hill ourselves.
Another suggestion: you may want to get a phone. There is none in the house so unless you have Skype phone capabilities, you’ll be without any way of communicating with the outside world in the case of an emergency. There is WiFi which works most of the time (morning and late afternoon usually) so email is possible.
We ate out at some very pleasant restaurants (always for lunch since we didn’t want to drive the steep hill at night). Citrus in Ojochal is beautiful and delicious. We found another place we liked very much—Mamma e Papa—also in Ojochal, owned by a lovely young couple (he is Italian; she is Costa Rican) so it is a mixture of Puglian and Costa Rican fare. Not an extensive menu but very good. And the setting is wonderful. They also have several cabins for rent (we didn’t see these) and a pool in well-cared for grounds. In Dominical we liked Roca Verde.
As the owner has suggested, Sonia at the Uvita Information Center is extremely knowledgable and helpful about most everything. The grocery store in Uvita Center has plenty to tempt most cooks—and the Saturday market is even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and views
Liked least: Road to the house
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing