We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second to none”
Review of Villa Mareas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uvita
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Mareas
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Second to none”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

As the hauling monkeys woke me up at the break of dawn, i often grabbed a coffe, sat next to the infinity pool dangling my feet into the water. The colibris drink from heliconias in front of the pool every morning! Every day is fantastic, beautiful adventures are waiting around. I felt so close to nature.. definitely got to get back there, so if my tico friends will ask me how am I doin, I could tell again: Tuanis!

Room Tip: The oceanfront building, 2nd floor is the coolest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daher0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    1
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
17
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Izola, Slovenia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

i spent there 12 days. what to say: great view, you can see whales, beautifull pool with view and jacuzzi, big bathrooms, quality bads and excelent food!!! everything was on a high level. i loved to chill in front of the pool or tanning myself there. around you can see many different animals from monkeys to kolibries throu a large variety of butterflys. unbelivable experience. i loved it.

thx to mareas!

Room Tip: second house rooms are quieter and bigger ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko5479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Mareas Villas was wonderful in so many ways! It is a beautiful property in the midst of a jungle setting. The facility is top notch and one of the best things was listening to the jungle awaken every morning. Possibly the most beautiful place I have ever stayed and I would recommend it completely and without reservation. Tim prepared dinner for us one evening and it was perfect to sit by the pool and enjoy a wonderful meal. He is a talented chef and host and I would go back in a second.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had the brilliant idea of choosing Costa Rica for our wedding destination and we found this wonderful Villa called Mareas Villa. The whole week was above our expectations … From the location of the Villa, to its amenities, its paradisiacal pool, the nearby activities and most importantly: the friendly and welcoming Pilar and Tim. Pilar did such a great job organizing the wedding; the decorations and set up were Amazing, all her recommendations for this important moment (Photograph, cake, schedule etc) were judicious. She was also kind enough to help us organize our daily trips and Tim was amazing with the cooking (Fresh, creative, delicious)! Isabelle and I strongly recommend Mareas Villa to anyone who would like to spend a week in Paradise …

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

In short, fantastic! We were a group of five families (21 people of which 11 were kids). Tim and Pilar, the Mareas owners provided area reservations for daily activities that were perfect and exceptionally reasonable. My wife and I had stressful lives in our careers leading up to this one-week vacation and we both marveled at how we were able to clear our minds for the entire trip, especially while lounging at the infinity pool overlooking the ocean below. During our stay in Costa Rica, we went sport fishing, zip lining, river boat touring, shopping in a surfing vibe town, and a host of other activities including "bathing" in the warm ocean. Tim and Pilar also directed us to hide-away swimming holes and local eateries that were beyond our expectations. A 4-wheel drive is needed and enables great flexibility in the area. The highest compliment would be to return - which we plan to do - soon.

Room Tip: Front villa overlooking the ocean (top floor) is the best, but all are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We had a group of 21. 10 adults and 11 kids.
The Villa is amazing. It takes your breath a away. Very clean and beautiful. Kids loved the swimming pool and the main villa. If you like wild life you need to go no further than hanging out on th balcony or simply swim around the pool and you get to see more animals than you would at the national park. I even heard some jaguars at night.
The owners are great people. Tim makes some great meals.
We will be going back there in as soon as we can. Make sure you rent a four whell drive vehicle to get up the mountain. Thank You Tim and Pilar for thsi great time.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

There are very few times in our lives when we can truly experience an event or a place with every one of our senses. Our time at Mareas was one. We are a group of ten well traveled CEO's who once a year break away from our dozens of emails, conference calls, meetings and must do's to completely disconnect and reconnect. We disconnect from our daily wear me down to the bone routines so that we reconnect with our own selves and with each other. We have traveled to some of the most beautiful places in the continent and have experienced all levels of service. i have to tell you that what Tim and Pilar have to offer at Mareas is second to none. Let me start with the physical surroundings. They built a home for them to enjoy but have now, fortunately for us, decided to share their treasure with the public. Their home built on a hill overlooking the majesty of the pacific is a small piece of Eden. From the negative edge pool with a shimmering tile bottom which overlooks the calms waves of the sea to the magnificent trails that, while relatively easy to maneuver, give you a true sense of being in the middle of the jungle, no detail is overlooked.

But, the true overarching value to this trip is the culinary experience that Tim can provide for you. Tim was trained as a chef at Emeril's in New Orleans and was the chef that opened Emeril's in Las Vegas, but his creativity is not limited by the training. He has absorbed the Costa Rican culture, flavors and traditions. Through his creativity, your taste buds can be immersed in what South America is today and Pilar, his Spanish born wife and American entrepreneur, pulls it all together with a levity that reminds you that life is best when experience with all senses.

I am sure we will go to new adventures in new lands in the coming years, but our experience at Mareas will be forever stamped in our psyche and we will always measure those experiences against our time in this piece of Eden.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the top floors of the two houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpompa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
0.6 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
608 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
6.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mareas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mareas

Property: Villa Mareas
Address: Playa Hermosa, Bahia Ballena | Puntarenas, Osa, Uvita 11111, Costa Rica (Formerly Mareas Villas)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Mareas is a luxurious and private (9 suites)resort nestled on 36 acres of rainforest preserve with amazing views of the Pacific ocean. We offer luxury suites and the villas and resorts can be rented by groups for special occasions. We offer concierge and chef services and specialize in customizing our customer's experiences to make them memorable. Located in one of the most pristine areas of Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Mareas Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing