We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Peak of perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Its difficult to explain in words the beauty of this place. Every detail is taken care of, the owners are very friendly and helpful. The cabins are perfectly decorated, clean kitchenette, stunning view to playa hermosa. Breakfast ist perfect, welcome cocktail on arrival, beautiful flower bouquet on the room, complimentary water and coffee. The infinite pool is clean and elegant just as the main lobby, wich is open air. This place meets the expectations. Monkeys, tucans just out of your terrace. Payment method via Paypal, wich is the safest way to pay.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank joaquin1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

There are too many positive things to say about our stay that it will be difficult to recount. Tom and Cindi are thoughtful, considerate and extremely hospitable - beyond expectation. My wife and I spent three nights in Villa 4, and it simply was not enough time for us. From our moment of arrival we were greeted with open arms and the same level of hospitality was extended all the way until our departure. Tom was extremely patient with us, thoughtfully answering all of questions about things to do in the area, places to eat, our curiosities of local wildlife and more. We really enjoyed learning from his experiences, and by the end of the trip we felt like we made new friends. The reception/bar/pool area is breathtaking (literally), and we looked forward to venturing there to unwind for a drink (and a swim) after our daily excursions. The frozen cocktails are not to be missed. You actually can't miss them because you get one free upon arrival (banana colada). The villas are fully functional apartments with lavish views of jungle and ocean. We say a sloth, toucans, a wolf spider, a king toad, an enormous grasshopper and other exciting wildlife all within the Tiki Villas Rainforest property. My wife woke up most days to the unmistakeable cries of the howler monkeys. It was the perfect jungle experience with a touch of luxury, with the perfect host couple. We will be back.


*** I accidently rated 5 stars below for fitness center, I don't know how to undo but there is none obviously.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at the Tiki Villas for 6 nights in June'12 as part of our honeymoon and can't say enough about the place. Everything that i have read that people have written is absolutely true. Thomas and Cindy are fab, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

We saw so much wildlife, howler and white face monkeys, ant eaters, sloths, lizards, vultures, coatis and more! The galo pinto is lovely, the place is stunning.

If you have a little 4x4 just remember to turn the air con off before you head up the hill. Those little cars struggle when the power is going to it!

Would love to go back. If it was a little closer we'd be there every year!!

Room Tip: There is a little waterfall and lagoon close by. Ask Thomas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RodeoRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We just came back from a 3-day stay at TikiVillas and we couldn't be more happier. We loved the location, the views and the hospitality of the owners (Thomas and Cindy). This was one of the most pleasant hotels I ever been. In short, a great place to stay in Uvita area. Here is a more detailed review:
- Booking - I booked directly by e-mail and it was very easy. Since this was our first time in Costa Rica, I asked several questions. Cindy kindly provided all the details I needed to feel comfortable with the trip.
- Location - The hotel is just off Highway 34 (a couple of miles north Uvita). Uvita area is a great place to experience the rain forest without a big crowd. In our way back to San Jose we stopped at the Manual Antonio National Park (near Quepos) and while the Quepos area is also nice, it is more "touristy" and with a more bigger crowd. We much preferred Uvita area!!
- Accommodations - There are 5 villas, all of them with great views of the sea and the rain forest, we stayed at cabin #3 which seems that has the more privacy since is the highest. To be honest, we were a little bit concerned about not having AC but we didn't miss it at all. Our unit had a small kitchen area, good size sleeping area with a king size bed and one single bed that we never used. There was two showers: a regular shower and outdoor shower which I tried a couple of times (really nice). There is a pool by the dinning/bar area. We never use it but we stopped by the bar every night for some drinks.
- Included breakfast - This is a REAL breakfast served at your table with a fantastic view of the ocean. The breakfast includes juice, fresh fruit, coffee and your choice of made to order eggs. Just must try the "gallo pinto". The hotel does not provide lunch or dinner but I believe you can order from a nearby restaurant and eat at the dinning area (I saw a couple did that). One day, there was a slooth on the tree in front of the dinning area, so amazing.
- Service - I can't say enough about the service, Thomas and Cindy treated us great and made our stay very pleasant. Cindy help us with tours recommendations and help us booking some trips.
- Internet/phone - There is no phone in the hotel and the only way of communication is internet. The speed is good enough for checking e-mail and facebook. There was not TV either and I'm really glad about it. You have a beautiful scenery so it is best to shut off the distractions. I rented a local cell phone to call US/Mexico and avoid the big roaming charges.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergioAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012 on our honeymoon. I'm so glad we did. It's an amazing place. And we owe a big thanks to the owners. We booked through a travel agent, and the agent mistakenly booked us for 4 nights instead of 5. We almost had to leave on the last night of our honeymoon! But the owners went out of their way to fix the problem and we were able to stay the extra night. Thanks!!

It is located in an area of the country that has great access to the jungle, the mountains, and literally miles of beautiful beaches. And it is much less crowded in this area than other areas of the country.

The property itself is on top of a big hill surrounded by jungle, with amazing views of the coast. It is really unique. The hotel is designed well. All of the rooms (which are actually littile villas, up on raised columns) are situated to take full advantage of the views. The best view is from the infinity pool.

The service was excellent. Our room was cleaned every day. We woke every morning and walked down to the lounge for our fresh breakfast that was SO GOOD! The owners and staff gave us great advice about things to do in the area. They arranged for us to get a massage in our room and made reservations for us at a nearby restaurant (Exotica). Literally the best restaurant I have ever been to.

There is nothing bad to be said about this place. Can't wait to go back.

Recommedations: You MUST have a 4x4 to get up the driveway. Eat at Exotica. Go surfing in Domincal. Check out Playa Ventanas.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

I can't say enough wonderful things about TikiVillas, the owners & staff! Wow!

We stayed there for a week & could've stayed forever it was so perfect! It took us a while to get there from San Jose so we didn't arrive until nighttime during a jungle downpour, but as soon as we pulled up, Thomas (the owner) was there with umbrellas & helped us to our room. Incredible!

Our villa (#1) was spotless & gorgeous! The bed was huge & comfortable as were the pillows. The indoor & outdoor showers were super spacious & the kitchenette was perfectly stocked with tools. The refrigerator was perfect for storing fruit, snacks & beverages. And the open air design from the bedroom into the balcony provided breathtaking views of the surrounding jungle & ocean. I miss waking up to the howler monkeys & the roar of the ocean!!!

The common area with infinity pool is ridiculously beautiful. Plus, Thomas will make you delicious banana coladas with bananas picked from trees on the property. Can't get any fresher than that! I am obsessed with those drinks. So good. I want the recipe! Reading by the pool, we saw howler monkeys swing by in the trees right next to us! There was also a sloth hanging out in a nearby tree for our entire stay. We also had the pleasure of seeing lizards, toucans, tanagers, hummingbirds, vultures, praying mantis & so much more!

TikiVillas is in a great location if you have a car (4X4!!!). You can drive into Uvita for beaches, groceries, banking & some good food or further to Ojochal for more beaches (Ventanas is my favorite) & gourmet eats. We also found a farmers market in Uvita on Saturdays with amazing homemade treats, produce, jewelry, etc.

TikiVillas also serves free breakfast daily with fresh fruit, bread, orange juice & coffee. 2 words: gallo pinto! The scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly! My husband is a very critical chef & he was dazzled by the breakfast.

Even though it was the "rainy" season, it didn't rain for most of our stay & really only started at night when we were ready to just relax. Thomas was kind enough to arrange a guided boat ride & hike into Corcovado National Park. Great service! We felt so spoiled our entire stay.

I could go on & on about how excellent TikiVillas is, but you should discover it for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robotwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at TikiVillas for 5 nights earlier in April. It was absolutely one of,if not THE best places I have ever been. Thomas was super helpful as we asked him questions about what to do pretty much every morning and night! The included breakfasts were excellent - great choices and very filling - exactly how you need to start off a day of adventure! At night we had tasty drinks on the terrace near the bar/pool...so very beautiful in after sundown when the torches and candles are lit. Pool is always open, too.

We rented a car in San Jose and drove down to Uvita, it took us about 4 hours, but once down there, we felt there were plenty of things to do within a 45 min drive from TikiVillas. We were there before the rainy season started and most definitely needed the 4wd car, but driving around was not bad (with the GPS). Again, Thomas was very helpful in getting us going in the right direction, drawing some maps and telling us what to watch for on a particular drive.

We stayed in villa #4. Spectacular. My husband is very temperature sensitive and he was nervous about it being too humid to sleep, so we made sure to get a villa with AC. HOWEVER, as many others say in reviews, AC was not needed. We used it very briefly a couple times for a fast cool down, but not at night. The ocean breezes were lovely. You can hear the waves from the villas, as well as many other intriguing jungle sounds at any given time of day/night. It seems all villas have breath-taking views of both ocean and jungle. Oh, and the outdoor shower was basically the best thing ever. Oh and also the kitchenette - another great feature! You can stash some food/drink in the mini fridge - there is a grocery store not far down the road.

We will absolutely go back here. We did a lot of activities and at the end wished we had spent more time doing more leisurely things, like reading by the pool! We really felt like Thomas and Cindy have thought of everything to make guests have an enjoyable time. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
667 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
7.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 13 in Uvita
530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#3 of 13 in Uvita
189 reviews
4.1 mi away
Golden Pineapple Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa

Address: Km 155 / 156 Costal Highway, Uvita de Osa, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: £144 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa in Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing