We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We only booked in here for one night to break our journey to Osa but we definitely regretted that decision! It is a remote place but so relaxing - beautiful gardens and views. Our villa was lovely, again with gorgeous views. Staff were so friendly and helpful and the owners came to talk to us during our very good evening meal. We just didn't want to leave the next day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hola Gaynor25! Thank you for your nice comments! It was a pleasure meeting you. Next time we hope you stay a bit longer so you can relax and enjoy what the area has to offer. Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas & TikiVillas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

This was the third place we stayed on our Costa Rica Honeymoon. We decided to give ourselves a treat for Xmas, and booked 4 nights here. It really lives up to expectations. Our villa was amazing, very comfortable with incredible views. We saw more wildlife in our stay here than anywhere else on our trip. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. Paulo was very professional, but also felt like a good friend. Chatting to Thomas in the evenings was fascinating to hear his knowledge of the wildlife. The food in the restaurant was delicious - both breakfast and evening meals. We didn't see Santa's reindeer, but there were lots of monkeys visiting at night. I honestly can't imagine any where better to wake up on Christmas morning.

The only problem is I'm still missing it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich_and_Anna_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Hola Rich_and_Anna_UK! Thank you very much for your review. It was an absolute pleasure to host and meet you both, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and meals at TikiVillas during your honeymoon! We hope to see you again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas & The team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for just 2 nights on our recent Costa Rica trip, and it was by far the best place we stayed! All of the staff are super friendly and were attentive to our every need. The owners also came around and talked to us (as well as the other guests) during dinner to see how our stay was going. I thought this was such a nice personal touch! The food is delicious, and the infinity pool is amazing! I wish we could have stayed longer! Also, some other reviewers mentioned that the road traffic was a problem-- We didn't notice this at all. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: We were in #2, which had a magnificent view! Although, it looked like all the rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Michelle C! Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are pleased you both enjoyed your 2 nights at TikiVillas. Great to hear feedback on the restaurant and Chef Fran´s cooking and that you enjoyed. Happy you enjoyed our little slice of paradise. It was an pleasure meeting you and having you at TikiVillas, we hope to welcome you back soon! Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent 4 nights in TikiVillas while on honeymoon in Costa Rica and I would echo other reviews in saying that it was our favorite of the places we stayed. The villas were very private with fantastic views and the staff could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Jim C, Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are pleased to hear we were the highlight of your stay. We hope to see you again soon at TikiVillas! Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Tikivilla's was our favourite place during our three weeks in Costa Rica. It is stunning to arrive at this place with the amazing pool, open restaurant area and then the villas are just wow! The beds are fantastic, and having the open view on the jungle and the sea is just amazing, all we wanted to do all day is to sit on the balcony or the deck chairs on the pool and enjoy the view. You can even sleep with the balcony doors open, we hardly got insects into our villa.

The owners Thomas and Cindy are lovely hosts who come and check on you if everything is fine. And the staff is fantastic, Pablo and Garry are angels and took really good care of us.

It's true that you can hear the road below, but it never bothered us, sometimes I wasn't sure whether it was the waves crashing on the rocks or actually cars or trucks. And the advantage is that it is really easy to reach, just a short drive off the main road which is easily doable on a normal car on the new dirt road.

We saw more animals around the property than in Manual Antonio - Tukans, monkeys, and other birds come close during different parts of the day.

The beach is just a short walk down, and we enjoyed long walks on the beach to Uvita and the Marina Ballena National Park (about 1h along the beach) and took the taxi back.

We liked the place so much that we came back after two nights to stay our last night on the beach at this place.

Thanks to the Tikivilla's crew, we will be back!

Valentina and Stephan

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Stephan U, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting & hosting you both. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay so much that you changed your arrangements and came back for a second visit! We hope to see you both again soon! Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas and TikiVillas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What an amazing bunch of people. An incredible place to stay, with wonderful views. Thomas, Cindy and their amazing team of Gary, Pablo et al, made us feel very welcome. We have made some good friends and will visit again.

Room Tip: They are all wonderful. We had no. 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Pete D, Thank you so very much for taking the time to review us. It was an absolute pleasure to host you both at TikiVillas for 12 night of your honeymoon in Costa Rica! We are all so touched to hear you had a wonderful time and enjoyed your stay. We very much hope to welcome you both again at TikiVillas next time you venture to Costa Rica. Congratulations, wishing you both all the best from us all here at TikiVillas! Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas, Pablo, Gary et all TikiVillas team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I spent 3 nights at Tiki Villas Rainforest Lodge and it was quite a good stay. However, there are some glaring issues with this property that detracted from what could be a very nice hotel.

First, the good points:
-Moderate price with breakfast included.
-Pablo who was the all around perfect host. He deserves five stars!
-Location only 5 minutes from Playa Hermosa where I enjoyed a sunset swim every night. Also located close to the town of Uvita (restaurants, ATM, supermarket, gas) and to Marino Ballena National Park which was the primary objective of my stay.
-The view over the jungle and ocean (I stayed at Cabin 3 which is highest).
-The cabin was large (two king size beds), had a kitchenette, indoor/outdoor shower and AC.
-A tree located behind the rear parking structure is popular with many birds: toucans, parrots, to name a few.
-The pool, though small, is refreshing and lovely.
-Few people were staying while I was there, which gave the property a very tranquil, Zen-like setting conducive to peaceful relaxation.

Now, for the not so good:

-the villa looked like it had been built without attention to detail, particularly the bathroom.
There was a lamp in the shower, the electrical outlet for the hairdryer was dangerously close to the faucet, the sink is small and uncomfortably tucked in behind the walk-in closet door.
Sewage smell was nearly always present in the outdoor shower (possibly due to heavy rains).
The kitchen windows had white paint splashes and the sliding glass doors did not close properly.

While not Tiki's fault, Uvita is a bustling town in the midst of development. The tract of land immediately adjacent to Tiki Villas is undergoing construction. They have cut the trees and seem to be preparing the land for new homes.

The Costanera road is a busy highway with heavy traffic. Hundreds of trucks drive through this road day and night. In addition, drivers are going at high speeds. Traffic noise will keep you up at night.

In all, the hotel is a good choice for travelers seeking to stay at a moderately priced hotel close to Marino Ballena and other attractions in the Uvita/Dominical area.

Some tips:
There are no activities at Tiki Villas so a car is a must, preferably 4X4 if traveling in the rainy season.
Bring insect repellent to spray around the sliding doors.
There is a good restaurant in Uvita town: La Fogata (excellent pizza)
And there is a bad one to be avoided: La Casona (U$ 50 Lunch and very low quality food)

Room Tip: Cabin 3 at the top of the hill has excellent views but requires a bit more climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank crazy4nature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas C, Owner at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear crazy4nature, thank you for taking the time to do a review. We are sorry Tikivillas was not for you. It appears you stayed at the same time as another recent reviewer and looks like we had a few issues that week… there were some power issues in the area and a lot of rain, also we were just finishing up our restaurant, parking and spa as well as the new parking. These are all done now, we sincerely apologize and have taken some drastic steps since then, including staffing to assure all of our guests have a wonderful stay.

We note you were debating on the TA travel forums between TikiVillas and another property priced at over $600 per night…. We believe we give good value for money and as you mention, and a great base to explore the area….. but…. in your case that might have been a better fit...

Pictures of TikiVillas are available on our website, Tripadvisor and other sources, most posted by guests. We have been a great fit for thousands of guests and over 160 excellent reviews and 5 awards show, however like everyplace we are not for everyone. We ask guests to read and make sure TikiVillas is for them, also we welcome email and will personally reply to you and answer any questions that our website or reviews did not cover.

We are so pleased you appreciated the staff, service, location, sea views, our pool, wildlife and as you say “Zen-like setting” even though we were full.

I would like to address a couple of the other comments:

The electrical installations are to US standards, and all approved by the local authority and designed by a professional electrical engineer. The light in the shower is about 2 ft to 3 ft away from the head and runs on 12 volt bulbs via a transformer. The hair dryer is the hotel standard like one would find in most chain hotels around the world with its own fuse, the plug is a US standard bathroom plug again with its own breaker.

The villa the guest stayed at was recently refurbished, and we are sorry about the small splash of paint on the kitchen window and difficulty sliding it. We have addressed the issue and have emphasized to our housekeeping the importance of such details.. The villas were personally built by us over a 3 year period, in what were at the time challenging conditions, hand crafted including all the doors and wood furniture on site at TikiVillas and not factory bought. Everything to ensure guest comfort and minimize the impact on the environment during construction.

About ½ a mile from TikiVillas some pasture land was converted into lots about 3 years ago, they are annually “reconditioned” by the estate agent. This is out of sight from TikiVillas and currently no construction there.

Being a small lodge and personally interacting with all guests, it is important our guests have a spectacular time. We are always here to address any issues that a guest my have and make it right at the time. We have taken all feedback on board. It was a pleasure to host you both and glad you got to see many birds as you were hopping for. Pura Vida! Cindy, Thomas & TikiVillas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uvita
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#2 of 13 in Uvita
666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
7.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#1 of 13 in Uvita
530 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#3 of 13 in Uvita
188 reviews
3 mi away
Villas Alturas
Villas Alturas
#3 of 14 in Dominical
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa

Address: Km 155 / 156 Costal Highway, Uvita de Osa, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: £142 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa in Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing