We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Like a Dream”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a beautiful place to stay in Costa Rica -- this place is like a dream! We spent the final few days of our honeymoon in Uvita and just LOVED our stay at the gorgeous Tikivillas Rainforest Lodge. The view from our room was absolutely breathtaking. (You definitely need to have a 4x4 to get up the hill to reach the property though.)

Upon our arrival, my husband & I were greeted with delicious smoothies and a chance to relax by the infinity pool as the sun slowly faded away. Thomas & Cindy were wonderful hosts and very helpful throughout our stay. We appreciated their suggestions for local activities & also their assistance with things like making restaurant reservations. The breakfast served each morning was also delicious & filling. Our rooms were clean and we enjoyed the open view on the balcony. We rented the room w/o air conditioning, and it was fine because the weather was generally fairly cool when we were there. We would love to make our way back to Uvita one day & stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missdignan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    50
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
257
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I don't know quite where to begin, the well thought out bungalow that opens to a beautiful view of the sea or the staff that went well beyond my expectations to make it a perfect Honeymoon.

I think I have to start with the staff. Every member of the team was flawless in service and hospitality. During our stay our concierge / maître d's were Gary and Pablo. Both of which gave excellent advice on local sights and restaurants as well as made us feel welcome and at home in their tropical paradise. My wife's birthday fell on one of the days of our trip and Gary was excellent coordinating with me and the excellent chef to give her a surprise that we will always remember. Pablo also went beyond the call of duty in insuring every aspect of our trip was perfect, including the day trip adventure he booked for us. Next on my list of staff to admire has to be the talented masseuses who work at the Spa. Now let me start by saying that, unlike my wife, I'm new to the spa experience but I have to say.. Guys you have to try this! In a beautiful room open to the rain forest you can hear the surf breaking, the birds talking to each other as you close your eyes and they work their magic to relax and soothe you into a blissful state. Follow that with a bottle of wine and a great dinner at the Villa's restaurant and you will have an evening you will always remember.

The food was wonderful. I still miss having the traditional breakfast each morning. The other choices on the menu were good as well but that one has a special place in my heart. (Pablo informed me about the Lizano Salsa that makes it even better! Try it)

Note: there are only 5 bungalows now but they will be closing for the rainy season to add more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZIM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at Tikivillas after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor and found it to be just as good as we had hoped. The villas were of high quality and views and location was superb. The rooms were large, the private jungle shower was a great experience - especially in the rain. Gary looked after us for most of the stay and has so helpful with advice and pointing out the various animals around the lodge. We ate in the small restaurant every night as the quality of the food was good. Plenty of things to see and do in the immediate area - the snorkelling trip to Cano island was very enjoyable - although be sure to take plenty of sunscreen. Do not miss the nearby waterfalls in Uvita - you can swim in the deep pools underneath the falls - a great experience. Be sure to try the cocktails they were the best that we had in Costa Rica! We would recommend that you have a 4 wheel drive car to make sure that you can get up the roads.
The area is only about an hour south of Manuel Antonio but is much quieter and worth the extra distance .
Good value for money

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My husband and I spent 8 nights here during the first week of April 2014 for our honeymoon and could not have made a better choice of where to stay. Thomas and Cindy where very helpful and quickly responded to any of our questions before we arrived, and there are not enough nice things to say about how wonderful Pablo and Gary were once we checked in.

I am so happy that we spent our entire honeymoon here. The amenities rooms, pool and view are better than the website can capture and everyone who worked there made us feel like we were staying at the Four Seasons. The location is close to lots of activities and restaurants, we did not have a phone and it was no issue because Pablo and Gary made reservations for us for each day of the trip including ATV rides, a snorkel trip, hiking, surf lessons, kayaking, and several local restaurants. As for the restaurant, some of the best dinner of the whole trip was only steps away from our room and the breakfast was divine. The banana coladas were delicious and a lovely welcome drink that we enjoyed on our 2nd day there.

The grounds were immaculately clean and well cared for, the parking was secured, and our villa was bigger than the photos made it look. We stayed in Villa 2, which was very nice and had a great view of the ocean. The air conditioning was quiet and worked well. The only thing that wasn't the best was the mattress- it was a little stiff.

It is true that you can hear trucks on the road, but it was never distracting and doesn't take away from hearing the waves on the shore at high tide. There is a bit of a construction site below the villas but you couldn't see it from our room and we never heard them - even though we were up between 5 a.m. and 6 a.m. every morning.

Overall, if we had booked any longer than 8 nights, we would have quit our jobs and moved to Costa Rica. I would recommend TikiVillas to friends and family and I hope to return again someday.


Thank you Pabo, Gary, Cindy and Thomas!

Sincerely,
Meredith and Hal

Room Tip: Definitely have your own car if you choose TikiVillas. It is really necessary to enjoy what the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MereNecessities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this terrific get away. The rooms are comfortable, the pool is clean and refreshing and the service is top notch. Gary plays many roles and makes sure guests are satisfied. He has a great personal touch too. While on our anniversary trip he made sure we were comfortable, well fed and helped to point out tours and hikes. It's close to many beaches, waterfalls and major sights. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We are sitting around reminiscing about our recent trip to Costa Rica and banana coladas. We spent an amazing week at TikiVillas. We felt spoiled by the constant attention of Pablo and Gary and all the staff. The rooms are extremely comfortable with unbeatable views - the rooms are open to the sounds and sights of the forest and ocean! We left our room open the entire week and spent many hours listening to howlers, waves and birds from the deck of our room. The birding from our room was fantastic. We enjoyed many superb meals at the villa restaurant. Pablo and Gary were a wealth of knowledge about the area and helped us plan numerous excursions to beaches, waterfalls, kayaking, Corcovado National Park, and a few local restaurants. The location of Tiki Villas is perfect - we were there a week and did not see all that this area of Costa Rica has to offer. It was an ideal family vacation! Thanks Tiki Villas and Pablo and Gary and all the staff...we miss you!
Sincererly,
The Cooper Family

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snuuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights (April 1-7, 2014) at Tiki Villas for our 10 year wedding anniversary. After a full day of travel we were exhausted when we arrived. As soon as I opened the car door and heard the sounds of bugs, birds and monkeys, I forgot about the exhaustion. Nature's soundtrack took over.

We stayed in Villa #4 with views of the jungle and ocean in the distance. A calming sight to wake up to each morning. We sipped coffee (free in the room) on the deck while waiting for breakfast. We woke up with the sun and the birds. The villa itself was roomy, clean and comfortable for sleeping. One thing to note - the tiny ants scurrying around the kitchen counter. It didn't "bug" us because we didn't eat in the Villa (just made coffee). We slept with the AC. The temperatures were too hot and humid for our sleeping pleasure. As soon as we awoke, we shut the AC and opened the doors.

For any fitness or yoga enthusiasts, the deck has plenty of room for a few pushups, lunges, dips and a yoga mat. I practiced each morning.

From the room we spotted toucans, hummingbirds and other birds I'm not familiar with. We couldn't miss the sound of the howler monkeys. From the pool we got a closer view of the toucans when a flock (maybe 6 of them) nestled in the trees right next to the pool. Monkeys climbed the branches of trees in the distance.

The pool is small, yet offers the same jungle and ocean views as our room. It's a perfect spot to cool off after a day of hiking, touring or a long travel day. With only five villas on the property, we often felt like we had the place to ourselves! It's quiet and the couples we met were friendly and ready to chat about their travel experiences.

Staff were excellent! We only saw Pablo twice. We had the pleasure of getting to know Gary during our stay. They were both attentive, friendly, always smiling and helpful to our requests for help with tours and spa services. We really enjoyed talking with Gary. At our request he would speak to us in Spanish to help us learn the language, we shared a lot of laughs. Gracias, Gary!

The chef came out and introduced himself one night, too. We ate all of our dinners at Tiki Villas and enjoyed every one including chicken, fish and salads. Our welcome cocktail, a frozen banana rum drink, was a great way to kick off our vacation.

We enjoyed a couples massage in the spa room overlooking the jungle. Although I could hear noises from the kitchen, the massage still put me into a deep relaxation.

The mountain road to Tiki Villas isn't that long, 400 meters from Route 34. We had a 4x4 which made driving the side/mountain roads a lot easier. Main roads are paved. From our villa and the pool we could hear the trucks on the road below us. That didn't bother us.

This was our 2nd visit to Costa Rica (last time we visited Arenal, Nicoya Peninsula and Manuel Antonio) and we fell in love all over again. Pura Vida for sure.

Overall, we recommend Tiki Villas. Staff were fantastic, location excellent, and price right for the accommodations (breakfast included).

Thank you again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SASJMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
3.8 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 12 in Uvita
608 reviews
7.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 12 in Uvita
492 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 12 in Uvita
508 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#4 of 12 in Uvita
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa

Property: TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Address: Km 155 / 156 Costal Highway, Uvita de Osa, Uvita 60504, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Uvita
#6 Spa Hotel in Uvita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nature, Relaxation, Fun and Adventure that's what Costa Rica is all about!We invite you to join us at TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa, located in one of the most breathtaking regions of Costa Rica. Scattered within the rainforest paradise of Osa in Uvita, TikiVillas is a small "Balinese Style" Eco Lodge. Offering nine individual, spacious villas set on a mountainside 120 meters above the Pacific Ocean and just a short distance from the beaches at the Ballena National Park. TikiVillas is the perfect jungle and beach getaway. Couples and honeymooners can immerse themselves in our 13 acres of private rainforest reserve and lush tropical gardens with close access to miles of deserted beaches and jungle trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tikivillas Rainforest Hotel Uvita
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa Costa Rica/Uvita

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing