We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious pizza!!”
Review of Pizzeria La Fogata

Pizzeria La Fogata
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Trinidad
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Delicious pizza!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Followed the signs in Uvita to this surprising little gem. The garden was beautiful and pizza fantastic. We especially loved the special touch of the chili oil and garlic butter sauce to add to your pizza. This has become our "go to" place for pizza in the area!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Osajabon4SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    170
    55
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long wait, left hungry”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We visited La Fogata on a Friday night and it seemed that everyone in Uvita did too. When we arrived there were about 6 tables of people (busy for Uvita) and we took a seat. Shortly after we arrived, a huge high school tour group arrived and took up half the restaurant. Our order was extremely easy (1 medium pizza and a salad) but took nearly an hour and a half to arrive, pretty brutal when traveling with a 4 year old and 22 month old! We were never informed that there would be a long wait, nor did anyone apologize or come to check in with us during the wait. About an hour in, we saw someone pick up a to-go order of 16 pizzas. The atmosphere, however, was the best we had in Uvita and prices seemed reasonable. Spotting lizards and frogs helped pass the time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraKwiat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felipe V, Propietario at Pizzeria La Fogata, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Laura....thanks for visitting.
Believe me learn from our mistakes so to probide better service.
Wherever large groups are ordered in advance to avoid making the customer wait.
I beg you take my apology...and hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the Ballena Coast.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

La Fogata serves amazing pizza. It's as good as any pizza I have had in the states. You can't go wrong.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Duaneoverturf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apple Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“***Excellent Pizza in Uvita!!***”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Pizza here was fantastic and Italian style thin crust. I also had pasta with chicken and mushrooms which was also very good. They served a side of minced garlic so you can flavor it up as you like. The place has great ambiance in a jungle bungalow with an open patio decorated with floating stars and bottles. It was clean, the service was good and the food fantastic.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Landfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza in an unexpected locale”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Only giving 4 stars because a little pricey compared to other places in Uvita (though we did have leftovers). Great Pizza - both the Mexican and the Flamingo were delicious. Nice to have a break from Typico food. Careful when you arrive - they aren't open until noon.

Helpful?
Thank skadetzfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizzeria La Fogata also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Pizzeria La Fogata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing