We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”

Marino Ballena Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 47 Restaurants in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Description: The best ambience in Uvita, in the Southern Pacific Costa Rica. It's a ranch style restaurant, no doors, spacious, ideal for groups, families and tourist alike. International couisine and typical Costa Rica food.
San José, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice place to spend a time, eat and have an incredible view. Prices are a bit high, but the whole country is not exactly cheap. View is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DNanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    106
    33
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boerne, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place for Beer and Ceviche After the Whales Tail”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stopped at the Maino Ballena after visiting the Whales Tail beach to wait out the afternoon thunderstorm. The ice cold Imperial and fresh ceviche really hit the spot. We also had dinner here one evening and were very pleased as well. The Shrimp Cocktail is a little pricey, but worth it. Very clean, friendly servers, nice tropical motif and reasonable prices. We wanted to try the Tico breakfast, but ran out of time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had the ceviche and it was top notch. You could tell it was very, very fresh.

Also had breakfast there and it was very good.
Not much more to say than if you want a good meal then I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 941SteveB999941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watsonville, ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yum!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Delicious food. Reasonable prices. We ate here two different times during our visit to Uvita. The food was great both times. The service was excellent, as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lscottbeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average food, low prices”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I had a pretty large seafood salad, not very tasty but cheap...you get what you pay I guess. The bar was a bit loud but I was close to it and there is plenty of space/tables. Service was OK.

Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marino Ballena Restaurant also viewed

Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Marino Ballena Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing