We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Honeymoon Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
Casa Uvita Front Entrance
Nearby Beaches_Whale Marine National Park
Chestnut-mandibled Toucan--a daily visitor
Casa Uvita Alarm Clock_Howler Monkey
Sloth outside of living room window
Sloth swinging on front porch at Casa Uvita--not an everyday event!
Slaty-tailed Trogons Male & Female
Spider monkey at Casa Uvita--a rare treat!
Whale's Tail Beach at sunset--just minutes away!
Surfing at Sunset_Marino Ballena Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Beck2013
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Honeymoon Retreat”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Uvita during the first leg of our honeymoon, and we absolutely LOVED it! We spent 5 days and 5 nights there, and easily could have stayed 5 more. The house itself is a work of art, handcrafted to complete perfection. The hardwood floors, the pitched ceilings, the patios, the balconies, the perfectly appointed kitchen- even the decorations and furniture. Everything about this house is gorgeous.

As the description says, it is indeed located in the rainforest. While the location of the property feels very remote and allows you to feel alone in nature, it is only 1.5 miles from the center of Uvita, and is just a 10 minute drive to the beach. Every night we fell asleep to the hum of the forest, and every morning we awoke to a symphony of birds, and occasionally the loud bark of a howler monkey, or a crack of thunder.

Our groundskeeper, Carlos, was an excellent host. He made us breakfast and coffee every single morning, and on one occasion he even made us arroz con leche. It was like having dessert for breakfast. Totally amazing. In addition, he was always around to blend up a round of pina coladas, or if we were feeling adventurous, on a breathtaking waterfall hike! He even took us to meet one of the neighbors, Lobo, who let us eat fruit from his trees.

We really felt at home at Casa Uvita, and truly can't wait to return! I recommend this home to anyone is looking to get away from it all and take in nature, but also to anyone who wants to be close enough to actually enjoy what the town of Uvita has to offer!

Thanks to everyone at Casa Uvita for making our honeymoon truly special!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attentiveness of staff and location of property
Liked least: Nothing. I enjoyed every aspect of this experience.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was such a pleasure to have you two honeymooners at Casa Uvita! Don't forget, we're always available for anniversaries or other special romantic celebrations! Best of luck as you begin your life together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 23 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ca
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MegofNH
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
“Such a gorgeous home!”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at Casa Uvita with our three grown children. It was by far the most lovely spot in our stay in Costa Rica. The house is drop-dead gorgeous and the views of the ocean and sunsets are spectacular. We loved the open-air concept with the ability to pull the shutters at dusk. We like to cook, and the kitchen was well equipped with several options for seating. My favorite memory is lying in the hammock while watching the sun set. We saw a sloth, toucans and howler monkeys in the nearby trees, a treat. The house is nicely secluded but is a short drive from the beach. Michele was a wonderful host and took us on a birding hike to a beautiful waterfall for swimming. I wish we had been able to stay at Casa Uvita longer. We will highly recommend the house to any friends visiting C.R.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the house
Liked least: Internet was spotty sometimes, but we managed
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Beautiful tropical home...away from home”
Reviewed 31 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

A small group of us (5) decided to head to Costa Rica for a week. We were looking for a location which was away from the crowds that are common to many other places in Costa Rica. Uvita was the perfect location.

When we arrived at the house, we were suprised - it was much more beautiful than the pictures portrayed. The house is completely open to the outside which allows the breeze and sounds of the jungle into the home. Don't worry, while Costa Rica is a buggy place, the bedrooms were basically bug free (there are screens on the windows and the deck of the master bedroom).

We were a bit concerned about not being directly on the beach. However, we realized this was the perfect location as there is a bit of elevation which helps keep the house a bit cooler. Also, being in the jungle offers a true Costa Rican experience. We found that the best way to view nature was to simply sit on the deck with a cup of coffee in the morning - monkeys and birds are all around and put on quite a display. Thus, while many other tourists were treking through some of the crowded national parks to simply catch a glimpse of a monkey, we saw them nearly every morning 30 meters from our deck.

There are a lot of activities close to the house - kayaking, snorkeling at the national park, surfing, paddle boarding, and hiking. We kayaked with Carlos (Michele (owner) can get you the contact details) and also surfed with Gibran (of Bodhi Surf - 506 8522 2278). Both were very knowledgeable and excellent instructors/guides. There is also a hike near the property to a secluded waterfall and pool which makes for an excellent swim in a fantastic, tropical location.

We will be heading back to Casa Playa Uvita...soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of the home of the home and tropical setting
Liked least: It was a bit tricky to find the house (try to come during daylight hours)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda3138...
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect house for perfect Peace”
Reviewed 17 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We loved our stay. The house is beautiful, comfortable and quiet. We could hear and see the ocean . The primary forest was at our front door, and we even saw a sloth, howler monkeys, and blue morphis butterflies right in the yard. The house has an open feel, with lots of breezes and light. It was like bringing paradise right inside. We had a delicious breakfast prepared for us each moning of our stay. There are several large porches with comfortable chairs and bird watching is excellent. We would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the house was in perfect condition
Liked least: can't think of any
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy B
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
“Tranquil oasis, with an ocean view”
Reviewed 26 October 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent 2 days at Casa Uvita, and I would go back in a heartbeat! The house, the surroundings, and the wonderful people make this a truly unforgettable place.

The property is gorgeous – we felt like we were staying at a at a luxurious eco-camp. We were able to enjoy the privacy and freedom of camping, but in much more lux surroundings (immaculately clean rooms, ocean views from both floors, covered balconies, hammocks, and situated on the edge of a primary rain forest). Casa Uvita is adjacent to a lot of natural beauty, and we were able to spend our days hiking, birding, playing in the pool of waterfall, body surfing at the nearby beach, and of course relaxing.

Breakfast and dinner are provided daily by Carlos, the on-site housekeeper/cook, and he was not only friendly but a fantastic chef.

Casa Uvita truly is a paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing