We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved it so much that we wanted to stay forever!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Beverly R
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it so much that we wanted to stay forever!”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Casa Uvita is even better than the reviews or pictures! The pictures of the house are very representative of what you will expect when you arrive, although they don't do the house justice. This is definitely a case of seeing is believing and trust me, once you arrive then you will not want to return home. The home is eco-friendly right down to being solar powered.
We booked Casa Uvita for our 20th Anniversary and our 2 teenage sons enjoyed the trip as well. My husband arranged to have flowers for our Anniversary and they were better than any I could have received from a florist! Carlos and Antonio made bouquets from the gardens and the flowers literally took my breath away!
The property is well maintained and you are treated with the utmost care from the caretakers Carlos and Argentina. Carlos and Argentina also agreed to make some authentic meals for us that were so flavourful and better than anything we could had dining out. The tamales that Argentina made for us the day before we left were to die for! They tidied when we were out and even did laundry for us part way through the trip.
We spent a few days relaxing by the beautiful pool. The pool was so clean and the surrounding garden and jungle just adds to the atmosphere of being immersed in Costa Rica. On Christmas Day Carlos took us on a trek to the nearby waterfall. We all enjoyed the pristine water and the the boys took turns jumping from the edge into our own private oasis! On the way home, we collected some coconuts and Carlos prepared Pipa Frias in front of us as a refreshing treat after our hike.
We were fortunate to be able to enjoy some excursions during our stay. Michelle recommended the following adventures which you will have to look up on Trip Advisor for our reviews to fully appreciate. We tried the canyoning with Carlos and Deigo of Bahai Ballena Kayak and Tours. It was quite exhilarating and they stressed safety throughout. We would highly recommend them if you go canyoning. We also went white water rafting with Filipe of Autentico Adventures. Again, he was very knowledgable and delivered a trip that far exceeded our expectations. I don't think there would be better tours available for these kinds of activities because they were so professional and so well done! We were quite lucky to have taken a night hike with Ronnie as guide as well! If you are into snorkelling and want to visit Cano Island, we would recommend Perla del Sur out of Sierpe. We were able to do 2 shifts of snorkelling and then have a luncheon on the shore of a beautiful beach.
We couldn't visit Casa Uvita and not talk about our excursions to the nearby beaches. We visited Marino Ballena and walked to Playa Arco. Both are beautiful beaches but must be seen to be appreciated. Playa Uvita is a must! The scenery while walking 'the whale's tail' was breathtaking! This is not a good beach for swimming but I hear there is good snorkelling along the reef. One of our favourites was a local beach just before Dominical, Playa Hermosa. You do not have to pay an entrance fee and this beach has surfers, vendors, and lifeguards if you swim between the flags!
All in all, I would definitely recommend Casa Uvita to friends, relatives, and anyone looking to have a relaxing get away in an ecofriendly environment that is surrounded by nature (the bird watching is incredible!)
Thank you to Michelle, Antonio, Carlos, and Argentina for extending such warm hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the privacy and location.
Liked least: I wouldn't change a thing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
I'm so glad you had a great 20th anniversary celebration with the family! You certainly made the best of your 10-day visit doing some of my favorite adventures and hikes. I will share your kind words with the tour guides and the staff at Casa Uvita. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLAYMATI0...
Kenora, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Experience in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was the perfect location for our family of 4 children (ages 4,6,8,10). The home is spacious and could have slept 2 more easily. It is immaculate and very well maintained. A gem!

There is no air-conditioning, which awesome! You feel like you are in the jungle - you can hear and see the wildlife. You have a gorgeous pool and you will spend a lot of time in there. If you still find you are hot a cool shower before bed does the trick.

Howler monkeys, white-faced monkeys, sloths, toucans, parrots, and iguanas all made regular appearances during our 3 week stay. You'll spend lots of time in the hammock on the upper deck watching the jungle.

The property owners (Michele and Antonio) are fantastic. Very friendly and extremely helpful in arranging local excursions. You will not feel that they are intrusive and they are almost always around if you need them - AND they are very lovely and interesting people to talk to! One of them is usually staying in the originally built cabin next door. It is quite private from the custom built home.

The property maintenance / housekeepers / sometimes cooks (yummy fresh tortillas, huevos rancheros, fried rice, banana pancakes, stew) / excursion leaders (to local waterfalls) simply made the trip! Carlos and Argentina, we miss you!

You will need 4 wheel drive to access this property (it's a standard Costa Rican road). The road up the mountain is very rocky. The coastal highway is excellent since it was paved in the last few years.

We enjoyed eating at La Parcela (stunning views), The Dome (they have small tubs of homemade ice-cream), Citrus (fine French fusion dining in Ojochal), Baker Bean, Por Que No, and The Goathouse. The local farmer's markets in each community are also worth visiting.

We explored many of the local beaches. Playa Uvita is excellent for the kids surfing. Very safe. We went snorkelling out on the Whales tale a couple of times and saw lots of tropical fish. Just south of Uvita is Playa Ventanas which is family-friendly and has interesting caves.

Dominical and Ojochal are both worth exploring. We went to Hacienda Baru (definitely read the book "Monkeys are made of Chocolate" if you want to understand about Costa Rica's wilderness history - the author is Jack Ewing). A trip to Altura's wildlife sanctuary is worthwhile to see and learn about local rescued wildlife.

Michele arranged a 5 hour horseback ride to a local waterfall and the beach. The kids are still talking about it. Saul and his son picked us up from the front door with a horse for everyone!
We went to Manual Antonio Park but it was very busy and touristy - you are living in the real Costa Rican wilderness at your palace -- "Casa Uvita"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2016
Thanks for such a helpful review--I will pass on your recommendations! You have a lovely family and everyone enjoyed the kiddos. Come back to see us at Casa Uvita when your long, cold winter gets the best of you. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poddfam
Evergreen, Colorado
2 reviews
“Pure Luxury in Uvita”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Casa Uvita was an unvelievable joy to stay at. What luxury right in the middle of the jungle. The owner has designed a gorgeous, very high end getaway. We were a family of 4 (mom, dad, teenage son and 10 year old daughter) and felt like we had hit the jackpot to stay here. Grounds were gorgeous, pool so refreshing, kitchen a delight, owner and staff available to help with any need. My husband even had the fun of surfing with the owner and her friends. We couldn't have asked for more. House was 5 minutes from a perfect beach (silky sand, warm temperatures, great beginner/intermediate surfing waves). Uvitas has everything you need and Dominical (20 min away) has the great upscale hippie vibe. And, if you are missing your own pets, the owner has her own that will come and visit (but very well behaved) if you'd like. Truly perfection! Only thing to know is this is a solar house - so, don't leave the fridge open, turn off all lights except what you are using at night, charge electronics during the day. Wasn't difficult - just had to be aware.

We combined this trip with the first four days in the "Mango Street Casona" in Drake Bay (the two owners are friends) and it worked out really well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, gardens, high end finishes in the house
Liked least: A little warm and a few bugs (we were there at the very end of the rainy season) - actually not too hot at night b/c the fans were great - but, during the day, a few times I was a bit warm - but, that's Costa Rica - not this property.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
So nice to have met you! You did a great job trip planning--Drake Bay and Uvita in one week! So nice to have K join our 50-something surf/boogie group. Whenever you need some tropical sun, come visit! Happy holidays from all of us at Casa Uvita.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molivings...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure and Relaxation at Casa Uvita”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay at Casa Uvita.
As we walked up the steps into the beautiful, open-air home, we instantly felt relaxed.
The decks looking out at the Pacific Ocean and are surrounded by the rainforests.
We loved reading books in the hammocks, swimming in the refreshing pool, watching toucan fly by, rocking in the chairs as we watched the sun set, spotting butterflies, humming birds, monkeys, and sloths, and setting out for daily adventures.
The owner, Michele, did an awesome job of suggesting fun filled adventures.
Our kayaking adventure with Bahia Ballena Kayak was amazing. Carlos and his crew guided us to a great snorkeling spot, a hike including a lesson on cracking open coconuts, followed by riding ocean waves and a paddle through the mangroves. It was fabulous!
Cowboy Saul, arrived at Casa Uvita with 3 horses and guided us down the mountain , across the river to a beautiful waterfall for a refreshing swim, and to the seashore for a gallop on the beach. What a great way to celebrate my daughter's 16th birthday.
Michele and Freddy guided us to the top of the mountain where we spent the afternoon swimming at a National Geographic worthy waterfall. Pure bliss and beauty !!!
We are grateful that we all were able to enjoy the adventure thanks to their guidance.
To recharge our batteries, we took time for a Fish Pedicure with Angelica.
The fish cleaned our feet and Angelica followed up with a fantastic pedicure.
She also came to the house to provide a relaxing massage for my daughter, who preferred relaxation over our adventure to go Zip Lining at Hacienda Baru.
We enjoyed the pizza from Baker Bean and an elegant dinner at Sabor Espanol.
Overall, we will always have fond memories of our time spent at Casa Uvita.
Thank you Michele for sharing your beautiful home and for all of your help.
You certainly live in Paradise!
Pura Vida!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the pool:))
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and mentioning all of the local characters in your review: Carlos Kayak, Cowboy Saul and Friendly Freddy. We all enjoyed meeting you and your family and sharing some very special adventures together. We wish you all the best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff K
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Perfect Mountainside Coastal Vacation House”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My family (me, my wife, my mother, and our 9 year old son) had a perfect week. This was our second trip the past couple of years to Costa Rica and as much as I loved our first trip to Arenal and the Northern Pacific coast, this one was even better. Michele Gonzalez has a beautiful vacation home on the mountainside overlooking the marine sanctuary. The pictures on the tripadvisor site are wonderful, but they do not do the location justice. It's simply beautiful and integrated perfectly into the rainforest.

Uvita is just a couple minutes straight down the mountainside with two supermarkets and a few little shops & restaurants. The entrance to the marine sanctuary is just a couple more minutes further down from there. There are several other beaches, a wildlife sanctuary, and some fantastic restaurants all within about a half-hour along the coastal highway.

Michele has put together a useful set of literature from the nearby restaurants and about the area that were great, and we also used the house WiFi a couple of times to decide on places to go. Mostly, though, we chatted with Michele and a nearby neighbor to get beach and excursion recommendations.

If you are looking for a beautiful vacation house integrated into the environment in typical Costa Rica fashion where it feels like the outdoors is an extension of the living area, on the edge of the rainforest, and a couple of minutes from the beach, this is it. My wife and I instantly felt at home. My 9 year old son had a fantastic time. My mother loved relaxing at the house and at the beaches. There are some stairs, so while I recommend Michele's house for older travelers, they will need to be comfortable with inclined pathways and stairs. This is true for locations in the Uvita area as well. My mom, who navigates with a cane, did well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mountain/coastal location combined with the beauty of the house itself
Liked least: There were no negatives to this rental. The sign from the highway was small :-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
I'm so glad that you all had a great family vacation. I especially liked to hear that your 9-year old son as well as your mom enjoyed their experience. Those multi-generation vacations can be tricky, but everyone got to do what they wanted to do: rest and relax, and a little adventure in the rainforest and beach. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelmvb...
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“truly outdoor, jungle living, in an upscale beautiful home ,completely run on solar energy”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We immensely enjoyed our stay in Michele's pride and joy; a beautiful fully solar energy powered house. Waking up with the sounds of birds (including Toucans) and howling monkeys, overlooking the pacific ocean in distance, relaxing at the pool and outdoor living style. And I must not forget the Sloths in the garden's trees, much to the delight of our children. Michele is a wonderful host and her help, Carlos, always keen to show you something that nature has to offer. He took us on a long true jungle walking tour to a secluded waterfall. Amazing.We can highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor living, and luxury, while one has to be conscious of use of energy due to solar powered living
Liked least: no AC, not a big issue as house is open and has a nice breeze with no glass windows and screens. All part of teh Costa Rica life style
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
It was a pleasure to have you and your family visit us here at Casa Uvita. The girls got their taste of jungle living, and they did great with the critters. I'm glad you also got to take that boat tour--seeing whales at this time of year is very special. It's all part of your good karma. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodi L
Pelham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing House in Paradise!”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

“What a wonderful place to stay! Casa Uvita is an absolutely stunning open air house on a mountain overlooking the ocean and just minutes from the beach and delicious restaurants. We were a mixed age family (grandparents, parents and kids) and all agreed that the house can't be beat (unless you absolutely insist on air conditioning, but really, despite the heat we didn't miss it). The howler monkeys wake you at dawn and you can see sloths, toucans and more right from the porches, decks or pool. Although Michele was out of the country when we were there she left us in excellent hands with her friend Curtis and her caretakers Carlos & Eva. Carlos was always eager to point out troops of monkeys in the trees or sloths climbing nearby (he's a great spotter and would come over when he saw something interesting) and brought those of us sure-footed enough to make the trek to a gorgeous waterfall and swim hole, pointing out plants, frogs & insects along the way. Although he spoke no English he was patient with our limited Spanish and we learned a lot from him. Eva greeted us one morning with home made tortillas. If you're squeamish about bugs, bats or lizards this probably isn't the spot for you since the house is screened and has shutters but no glass in the windows, but if you find them fascinating like we do you're in for a treat--butterflies, katydids, geckos, tree frogs and more are all to be found, along with an abundance of hummingbirds in the beautiful garden. Our hosts also introduced us to wonderful guides for kayaking, snorkeling and more--don't miss Carlos at Bahia Ballena Kayaks and Rapel right by the entrance to Playa Uvita, he's worth the price. There are fabulous beaches (Ventanas was our favorite) and many nearby places to go for drives and explore, though we honestly saw more wildlife right from the house than anywhere else. There are many inexpensive & yummy restaurants nearby, too, that serve a full meal for about $6-$8 US but if you want to splurge check out Exotica in nearby Ojochal or Sabor Espanol in Uvita. It was a wonderful week! We really loved our stay and would love to return.“

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house, beautiful wildlife, attentive owner & caretakers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2015
Wow! I'm so glad you had such a wonderful experience. I've had a number of multi-generation families visit and many consider Casa Uvita to be a perfect retreat to get "reconnected." I'm sorry I missed you, but from your comments, I can see that my staff and the local guides took good care of you. Hopefully we'll see you back here in the near future. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;