We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kura Design Villas Uvita
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Uvita
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My husband saw Kura in a travel magazine and wanted to go. Everything you see on their website and the photo's are correct. It is exactly as it looks. Kura is located in the rain forest so we had toucans, parrots, frogs,and a variety of birds right outside our room. You also look down the mountain to the beach and can hear the waves crashing. Kura provides the best of both worlds.
We stayed in the Infinity Suite which is very spacious. The staff was excellent. They provided transportation for us from the airport as well for zip lining, and to their private beach. Plus they made all the activity reservations for us.
The food was outstanding. We tried to have something different at each meal and was never disappointed with any dish. My favorite was the octopus salad at lunch.
The infinity pool was a special treat as well as the separate spa facility.
It takes a while to get there but well worth it!

Room Tip: They only have 6 suites. All of them are great and have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn1Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

I do agree with all the others reviews , this place is great!!!
We spend 3 nights at Kura and had a wonderful time at the resort. We have traveled and stayed in some really good resort all over the world, but I would still review Kura as very unique for the Central America.The Villas are fantastic and the pool area are very lovely too. It is impossible to choose the best experience during our stay, because the service level was high
everywhere :-)
Just go and relax, it is a beautiful place to spend some quality holiday time...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annemarie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just got back from 4 nights at Kura. I can't say enough great things about this place. It was our first trip to Costa Rica, and I feel so lucky that this is where we picked to stay. First of all, the hotel design and architecture is beautiful. It is an intimate property, but with open flow in the main common areas, which is pretty much all outside. At the restaurant, you have the lush green mountains on one side of you, and the most amazing view of the Pacific (and the Whale's Tail) on the other side. Every room has this same amazing ocean view-- truly, there's not a bad seat in the house! And they did not skimp on comfort or amenities. I guess I expected an eco-resort to be a little "rougher" around the edges, but this was not so. In fact, it was luxurious. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the room itself was thoughtfully designed. It was probably the sexiest designed room we've ever stayed in! Very romantic. Also, the location of Kura is key. It is high up on a mountain which provided fresh breezes all day & night- it was hotter down when you drove down the mountain. Also, it's not near the hustle & bustle & crowds, which is what makes it feel so private & secluded & peaceful.

The food was delicious- fresh and healthy. Drinks were fantastic as well. Loved having fresh smoothies by the pool, which are extra yummy with a little shot of rum or vodka! We ventured out a few times, once to the little pizza place in Uvita- La Fogata (get the barbacoa pizza) and once to Exotica. Love them both. Othewise we were happy taking all the rest of our meals at the hotel. Never got tired of the food or menu.

Probably the most special thing about Kura is the people. They are so incredibly warm & friendly, very genuine with an easy attitude about everything. No request was too much for them. They arranged a trip to the beach where they have a private entrance & set us up with chairs, an umbrella, and a cooler full of lunch, water, and champagne & oj for mimosas (a special request). Marcos drove us to dinner and everywhere else, and was so fun to talk to and just a fantastic guy. Really, everyone we interacted with was amazing-- Ana, Ariana, the owners Martin & Alejandra. They were so helpful & accommodating in every way. We cannot wait to go back! I actually almost cried when we left- it was that relaxing and fun of a vacation. Don't hesitate to stay here- you won't regret it!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room! They all have fantastic views. We stayed in an upper level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Have you ever lounged beside a warm, salt water pool while the sun dips into the pacific; sounds of the encroaching jungle illuminate the air, as salty sweet sips of margarita kiss your lips? Me neither. GO TO KURA.

All of the previous reviews are correct -- the hotel is VERY special, and you will treasure each day in sleepy Uvita. Martin and Alejandra spent so much time meticulously crafting the incredible structures and landscapes, but it’s the support team they’ve cultivated that truly makes the difference. Ana, Marcos, Adam, Adriana, Rita… we could go on and on.

We spent 7 nights in a Suite Villa, and having been back in The States for 3 nights now, we’re questioning why we ever left. The suites are spacious, quiet, and private. The beds and pillows are very very comfortable with the perfect weight comforter. The double rain shower with sliding door to the deck is a dream come true, and the relaxation continues once you’re wrapped in a cozy towel. The jungle’s alarm clock (a.k.a. cicadas) herald the arrival of each sunrise, and it’s the perfect time to pop a capsule in the Nespresso maker and soak in the environs on the deck. We spent the end of every day in the same spot, and I’ve never before, in any location in the world, seen the entire sky dusted with stars – nor have they ever truly twinkled in succession.

Other highlights to mention: healthy, fresh, delicious food at Kura ; empty, unspoiled beaches (Ballena and Arcos); sunset horseback riding at Playa Hermosa; the wonders of the Whale Tail sandbar; close proximity to Corcovado and Manuel Antonio Parks.

It’s not a matter of “will” we return to Kura, merely “when?”. Our sincere thanks to everyone at the hotel for a truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank potrero71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Kura Design Villas and would have loved to have stayed longer.
Martin and Alejandra are extraordinarily talented and incredibly hospitable.They have created a work of art in paradise. The staff is extremely attentive, warm and caring.
The combination of architectural beauty and personal service create a breathtaking and intimate setting. We were torn between just relaxing and soaking in the spectacular views and taking advantage of all the activities the area has to offer.
Kura exceeds expectations and lives up to all the outstanding reviews it receives.
We wish Martin and Alejandra great success and hope to be back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GigiSheepdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have just returned from staying at this beautiful hotel set high up in the mountains with spectacular views of the Whales Tail beach one way and the rainforest the other. After a 'hiccup' with the directions not arriving via email and no sign posts to the hotel ( it really is exclusive) we arrived feeling pretty stressed. That did not last long! As soon as we were taken up to the infinity pool by Alejandra and Martin, the owners, we were given a delicious cocktail and the stress literally melted away. I have never been anywhere so beautiful. If you appreciate good achitectural design you will love this place. But it has so much more to offer than just the wonderful massive villas with double showers and floor to ceiling glass doors leading out to the deck with double hammocks. The gardens, planted up by Alejandra are stunning and were selected to attract butterflies and humming birds and all manner of interesting insects. Toucans fly past regularly. Perry the wild parrot who loves to have her picture taken really stole my heart. You can swim in the delightful infinity pool and feel like you have gone to heaven. All the staff including the lovely masseuse Adriana and Adam the head bar manager ( hope you had a fabulous wedding day!) were committed to making sure everything was perfect and it was. Particular thanks though to Alejandra and Martin for creating what is truly a masterpiece of a hotel. Worth every penny and more. We extended our stay we loved it so much. Go there if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almshousegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I just returned from an 7 night stay at the Kura and the experience was spectacular.

I have spent literally thousands and thousands of nights away from home, and the experience you get at Kura is one that is very unique. It is a place where you wake up in the morning and look forward to interacting with the staff, going up to the pool and relaxing, and just soaking in Costa Rica. There is no place more stress free!

The intimate setting is a couples dream, with extremely warm and friendly employees that you can tell are truly enjoying their jobs and want to help you enjoy your vacation in any way they can. The owners are always around and you can feel the pride and enjoyment they have for their establishment. They should with good reason, because it deserves every accolade. The reviews I read before we arrived were great, and I can tell you my expectations were exceeded.

Our ONLY concern is how we will get a reservation next year! I really think this is going to be one of the hardest places in Costa Rica to get a room in the future.

Some Highlights:

Whale Tale views + Wildlife - Views are spectacular from everywhere at the Kura. Parry the parrot can be seen flying around the pool and landing on your chair to say hello! From the hotel we also saw Tucans and a beautiful Anteater right in the tree next to the pool. Everyone is very eco-friendly at the hotel and love the animals.

Private Entrance to the beach - DO NOT miss the beach via the private Kura entrance. We were alone on the incredible beautiful beach all morning.

Pool and Food/Drink - The salt water pool is very nice for swimming or just hanging out, and the food was excellent. They are happy to recommend restaurants in the area as well. If you are staying for a week, you will probably want to dine out at least once or twice. We ate off the dinner and lunch menu at either meal time.

Room - The room is unlike anything you have ever seen. When you are in your room you feel like you are in your own private paradise. The shower is something that makes me want to remodel my own bathroom!

Spa - We both were lucky enough to have 1 hour massages while we were there and it was excellent. I had not had a massage before, and it was a really great experience. My wife has had massages before and commented on how much better the massage was at the Kura. The spa is a showpiece of a room. If you do not get any spa treatments, you should at least ask to see the studio, because it is unbelievable.

Staff and Owners - Costa Rica in general seemed to have the happiest people I have ever seen, and at the Kura this was no exception. Everyone was constantly smiling and talking with each other, and really it felt like we were staying with a big happy family.

Things to consider:

Transportation - The road up to the Kura is pretty steep and rocky and requires 4x4. We decided to hire a driver (see our review of Danny, another great experience) and it worked out even better than we imagined. I think a self drive is doable, but having a driver really made everything outside of the hotel even better.

Parting thoughts:

We staying in Villa #1, which is an Infinity Villa. I loved the location (right under the pool). I walked by the other 4 villas which are not connected to the main building and they looked very nice as well, but did not get a chance to view the rooms from the inside. They are configured as two buildings, each with the suite on top of the junior villa. Everything is very private.

There is just an X factor to this hotel that is hard to put into a review. Just personal touches and really just great people enjoy your time with. Being around happy people makes us happy, and everything at the Kura made our trip to Costa Rica beyond "5 star"!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris_and_Martha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Uvita hotels
1.1 mi away
Oxygen Jungle Villas
Oxygen Jungle Villas
#1 of 13 in Uvita
630 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rancho Pacifico
Rancho Pacifico
#2 of 13 in Uvita
499 reviews
2.7 mi away
TikiVillas Rainforest Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vista Celestial
Vista Celestial
#3 of 13 in Uvita
175 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cristal Ballena Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
La Cusinga Eco Lodge
#5 of 13 in Uvita
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kura Design Villas Uvita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kura Design Villas Uvita

Address: Costa Ballena, Uvita, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Uvita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Uvita
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uvita
#4 Luxury Hotel in Uvita
Price Range: £448 - £813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kura Design Villas Uvita 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kura Design Villas is an exclusive upscale boutique hotel on the Southern Coast of Costa Rica where the rainforest covered mountains tumble on to pristine beaches. Built on an impressive mountain ridge, Kura's tropical minimalist architecture provides a luxurious jungle experience and breathtaking Pacific ocean views. Kura Design Villas is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kura Design Villas Uvita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kura Design Villas Uvita Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing